1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Adding navigation

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by clptex95, Nov 17, 2015.

  1. Nov 17, 2015 at 7:46 PM
    #1
    clptex95

    clptex95 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #2030
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Trying to find out about upgrading radio to navigation. One dealer says it can be done. Another says no. Any experience with this without putting in an aftermarket radio where you lose the steering wheel controls? 2015 sr5 4x4 with 5.7l engine
     
  2. Nov 17, 2015 at 8:06 PM
    #2
    T-Rex266

    T-Rex266 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    157,472
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Elon
    After market? It can be done. It just needs the adapter (?) I'm drawing a blank for the techical term.

    Oh, and welcome!
     
  3. Nov 17, 2015 at 9:09 PM
    #3
    Rkcruza

    Rkcruza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Member:
    #1084
    Messages:
    204
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tundra AC 4WD TRD OR SR5
    De Badged / Decaled, Firestone Ride Rite Air Bags w/ Daystar Cups, 17" Rims, Big Brake kit w/ slotted & drilled rotors, plus lots of work related stuff.
    Not sure about the stock radio, but most good aftermarket units can be installed with an interface adapter that allows you to use most if not all of the normal controls from the steering wheel.
     
  4. Nov 18, 2015 at 11:38 AM
    #4
    flynbyu2

    flynbyu2 I'm your huckleberry...

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Member:
    #1865
    Messages:
    257
    Gender:
    Male
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 SR5 CrewMax 2WD
    Flowmaster Super 50 / Dual In - Dual Out Exhaust BakFlipG2 Tonneau Cover TRD Rear Sway Bar
    I just use an app called Waze on my phone. It shows road hazards and traffic ahead of you.
    Factory GPS needs to be updated every year or two at your expense.
    I'll never pay for GPS in a vehicle again.
     
  5. Nov 18, 2015 at 6:42 PM
    #5
    clptex95

    clptex95 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #2030
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks, about decided to stay with my Garmin. Will try Waze on the phone as well. Car Toys could not make3 the steering wheel
     
  6. Nov 18, 2015 at 6:46 PM
    #6
    clptex95

    clptex95 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #2030
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Buttons work or only a couple.
     
  7. Nov 18, 2015 at 10:10 PM
    #7
    Tacogrande

    Tacogrande New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Member:
    #1564
    Messages:
    1,648
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Vehicle:
    2016 SR5 dbl. cab long bed gray
    Husky weatherbeaters,short antenna,window deflectors
    My new 2016 came with Scout Gps app and you just need a smartphone to make it work on the truck screen. My salesman showed me how it worked...pretty sweet. But i dont have a smatphone yet LOL
     
  8. Aug 29, 2020 at 11:37 AM
    #8
    gchliu

    gchliu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    Member:
    #51463
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    I too have an older Tundra (YR 2015) with stock base radio without NAV (model 57071). Toyota has Etune App which I believe can link smartphone's GPS to the head unit. After installing the App and entering the VIN on my iphone, the App tells me the truck lacks the "remote connect services". So I am back to square one. I then found this thread.

    A question to you all -
    I hate using the data plan, wires and the small screen on my iPhone. Is there a way to upgrade the stock radio with NAV without replacing the system completely?

    Thank you.IMG_0347.jpg
     
  9. Feb 22, 2021 at 12:40 PM
    #9
    carson jones

    carson jones New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2020
    Member:
    #42539
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    carson
    i would like to know this also. with out adding a new radio.
     
  10. Sep 17, 2021 at 10:56 AM
    #10
    The Californian

    The Californian Good Vibes Only

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2019
    Member:
    #37446
    Messages:
    1,103
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2020 Super White Tundra TRD Pro Crewmax
    Short answer; No.
     
  11. Sep 17, 2021 at 2:22 PM
    #11
    Azblue

    Azblue Beer is Good Ban Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Member:
    #11025
    Messages:
    6,631
    Gender:
    Male
    The Dirty T

    I guess people are still trying to figure this out, so I will answer it. For the older 3rd Gen trucks, yes it is a plug and play swap. I have a 2014 SR5 that came without Nav. I picked up a used one from the same time period (both must be non-JBL). You do not need to add anything, the Nav antenna is already in the truck. The smaller metal box bolted to the bottom is the XM. If you already have an XM subscription and wish to keep it without changing accounts/radios, just swap the box.

    To use the Entune apps (which mostly suck now, especially since they dropped Pandora) you must link your phone and the VIN you use to sign up must come from a truck that came factory equipped with the Nav, I asked the seller of my new to me head unit and he gladly provided it to me.
     
  12. Jun 14, 2023 at 6:37 PM
    #12
    Tundra1515

    Tundra1515 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2023
    Member:
    #98647
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Corey
    Vehicle:
    Tundra
    Azblue nailed it!
    I did it tonight with my 2014
    Picked up a navigation ready one from the junk yard and put it in my sr5.
    Worked flawlessly.
    Switched the xm box.
     
    Azblue likes this.
  13. Jun 14, 2023 at 6:55 PM
    #13
    Azblue

    Azblue Beer is Good Ban Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Member:
    #11025
    Messages:
    6,631
    Gender:
    Male
    The Dirty T


    Very nice. Just remember, these old units don't automatically update the maps, you must get a new SD card. The dealer will want $160+, but you can find knock-offs online. Of course, no guarantees with a knock-off. The most recent card is 86271-0E075.
     
    Flyinryank likes this.
  14. Jan 22, 2024 at 12:25 PM
    #14
    Flyinryank

    Flyinryank New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Member:
    #7635
    Messages:
    1,286
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Las Vegas, NV
    Vehicle:
    White 2015 CM 4x4
    AFE Dry S Drop-In Filter TRD Air Accelerator TRD Radiator Cap TRD Fuel Cap TRD Pro Grill/Hood Body Mount Chop Bilstein 6112s CB Shim on Driver Side Bilstein 5160s ICON Rear Spring Pack Factory Painted Door Handles BFG KO2s 305/65R18 Method NV 18x9 +25 NFAB RKR Rails SDHQ ABS Guards SDHQ Ditch Light Brackets Baja Designs Squadron Pros
    Thanks. Ordered a knock off from Amazon today to try my luck until I can get my hands on the newest version from Toyota 86271-0e076
     
    Azblue[QUOTED] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top