1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Adding navigation

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by clptex95, Nov 17, 2015.

  1. Nov 17, 2015 at 7:46 PM
    #1
    clptex95

    clptex95 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #2030
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Trying to find out about upgrading radio to navigation. One dealer says it can be done. Another says no. Any experience with this without putting in an aftermarket radio where you lose the steering wheel controls? 2015 sr5 4x4 with 5.7l engine
     
  2. Nov 17, 2015 at 8:06 PM
    #2
    T-Rex266

    T-Rex266 .org? Never heard of her. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    53,554
    Gender:
    Male
    After market? It can be done. It just needs the adapter (?) I'm drawing a blank for the techical term.

    Oh, and welcome!
     
  3. Nov 17, 2015 at 9:09 PM
    #3
    Rkcruza

    Rkcruza New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Member:
    #1084
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tundra AC 4WD TRD OR SR5
    De Badged / Decaled, Firestone Ride Rite Air Bags w/ Daystar Cups, 17" Rims, Big Brake kit w/ slotted & drilled rotors, plus lots of work related stuff.
    Not sure about the stock radio, but most good aftermarket units can be installed with an interface adapter that allows you to use most if not all of the normal controls from the steering wheel.
     
  4. Nov 18, 2015 at 11:38 AM
    #4
    flynbyu2

    flynbyu2 I'm your huckleberry...

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Member:
    #1865
    Messages:
    260
    Gender:
    Male
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2015 SR5 CrewMax 2WD
    Flowmaster Super 50 / Dual In - Dual Out Exhaust BakFlipG2 Tonneau Cover TRD Rear Sway Bar
    I just use an app called Waze on my phone. It shows road hazards and traffic ahead of you.
    Factory GPS needs to be updated every year or two at your expense.
    I'll never pay for GPS in a vehicle again.
     
  5. Nov 18, 2015 at 6:42 PM
    #5
    clptex95

    clptex95 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #2030
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks, about decided to stay with my Garmin. Will try Waze on the phone as well. Car Toys could not make3 the steering wheel
     
  6. Nov 18, 2015 at 6:46 PM
    #6
    clptex95

    clptex95 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Member:
    #2030
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Buttons work or only a couple.
     
  7. Nov 18, 2015 at 10:10 PM
    #7
    Tacogrande

    Tacogrande New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2015
    Member:
    #1564
    Messages:
    1,627
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeremy
    Vehicle:
    2016 SR5 dbl. cab long bed gray
    Husky weatherbeaters,short antenna,window deflectors
    My new 2016 came with Scout Gps app and you just need a smartphone to make it work on the truck screen. My salesman showed me how it worked...pretty sweet. But i dont have a smatphone yet LOL
     
  8. Aug 29, 2020 at 11:37 AM
    #8
    gchliu

    gchliu New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2020
    Member:
    #51463
    Messages:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Vancouver, BC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra CrewMax SR5
    I too have an older Tundra (YR 2015) with stock base radio without NAV (model 57071). Toyota has Etune App which I believe can link smartphone's GPS to the head unit. After installing the App and entering the VIN on my iphone, the App tells me the truck lacks the "remote connect services". So I am back to square one. I then found this thread.

    A question to you all -
    I hate using the data plan, wires and the small screen on my iPhone. Is there a way to upgrade the stock radio with NAV without replacing the system completely?

    Thank you.IMG_0347.jpg
     
    sillydadztrksR4momz likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top