1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ACC Power location?

Discussion in 'General Tundra Discussion' started by supermotobobby, May 29, 2017.

  1. May 29, 2017 at 8:15 AM
    #1
    supermotobobby

    supermotobobby [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Member:
    #4079
    Messages:
    205
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bobby
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra C/M Limited 4x2
    Where can I tap into an ACC power on my 2010 Tundra CM?
     
    Rica25 likes this.
  2. May 29, 2017 at 8:40 AM
    #2
    duece292

    duece292 Appalachian American

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    Member:
    #6776
    Messages:
    1,887
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Greg
    Green Bay, WI
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra SR5 CM TRD 5.7 4X4
    In the ignition switch harness, black or light green are ignition powered. Grey in the same harness is accessory/heater/blower. Should be able to access it pretty easily if you remove the dash cover and knee bolster under the steering column. If you do the green, make sure it's the light green. The darker green in that harness is your starter wire.
     
    Rica25 likes this.
  3. May 29, 2017 at 8:54 AM
    #3
    supermotobobby

    supermotobobby [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Member:
    #4079
    Messages:
    205
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bobby
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra C/M Limited 4x2
    Awesome, thank you!
     
    Rica25 likes this.
  4. May 29, 2017 at 10:26 AM
    #4
    dumbassdave

    dumbassdave Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Member:
    #3517
    Messages:
    330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Vehicle:
    2016 Crewmax Limited
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
    Pudge, Backslider and NewImprovedRon like this.
  5. May 29, 2017 at 5:51 PM
    #5
    NewImprovedRon

    NewImprovedRon Hey! Get off my grass!

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    12,969
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    ^^^^^^This! An add-a-fuse circuit is the easiest and requires no cutting. All you do is remove the appropriate fuse for the circuit you want to tap, plug it in, replace the fuse you removed, and add an appropriate sized fuse to the add-a-fuse circuit you are creating.
     
    Backslider likes this.
  6. May 29, 2017 at 6:16 PM
    #6
    zidaro

    zidaro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Member:
    #7400
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    E. Sierras, CA
    Vehicle:
    '10 Crewmax
    yes
    add-a-fuse tapped into the cig. lighter fuse at the dash kick panel is a great place to tap ignition hot power for switches.or a relay.
     
    Rica25 likes this.
  7. Nov 10, 2017 at 8:29 AM
    #7
    crishard

    crishard Occasional Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Member:
    #5065
    Messages:
    105
    First Name:
    Cris
    Vehicle:
    2014 Barcelona Red CM
    3" level in front, ICI Bumper & Skid, 12k lb winch, UCAs, Radtech 2.5s, Kenda 35s, Dual Batteries, 3500w inverter
    Is the darker green wire the starter wire for gen 3 also?
     
    Rica25 likes this.
  8. May 24, 2020 at 4:22 PM
    #8
    spudfriend

    spudfriend New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2020
    Member:
    #47033
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Vehicle:
    2007 5.7 CM
    New headlights, interior LED swap and bed cover.
    So I'm new here. I've had a backup camera system I've wanted to install in my stock 07 for a few months now. Just haven't had time to get to it. I've got the video cable running from the rearview mirror display into the headliner, down the right column, through the firewall and along the length of the truck to the camera in the tailgate. That didn't take me that long to do when I just spent some time getting it done. What I can't figure out though is how to grab 12v ACC power on the passenger side somewhere. From reading the thread here it looks like the Add-in fuse circuit is the easiest and fastest way to do this. If I use an add-in fuse, do I still need to extend a bit of wire from the passenger kickplate through the firewall to the fuses in the engine? Also does it matter what fuse location I use? I assume I'll need to use something that carries 12v ACC, but I'm not sure how to go about doing so. I already know from reading other posts that I can tap into the blue signal wire (pictured) and the ground is easy, but I'm lost on how to patch in for 12v ACC. I just want the camera on when I throw the truck in reverse. Several other posts helped me figure out how to get the AV cable through the firewall. Thanks for any help. I bought the rear view safety rvs-718BT kit here. Here are a few pics of the setup.:[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]. So far I've not had any issue backing, but I'm always looking to make it easier to hook up our trailer. Thanks,
     
  9. May 24, 2020 at 5:42 PM
    #9
    NewImprovedRon

    NewImprovedRon Hey! Get off my grass!

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    12,969
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    You could just run a wire from the in-cab fuse box (by the emergency brake) over to the passenger side. The Add-a-fuse just plugs into an accessory fuse location. You take the original fuse out, install it in the bottom slot of the Add-a-fuse, and place the new fuse for the accessory in the Add-a-fuse top slot. Plug the Add-a-fuse into the fuse location and then just route the wire you connected to the Add-a-fuse wire over to the passenger side of the truck. This way, you aren't having to splice a power wire.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top