1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2015 Tundra Wiring Help

Discussion in 'General Tundra Discussion' started by DYLB, Apr 14, 2016.

  1. Apr 14, 2016 at 10:39 AM
    #1
    DYLB

    DYLB [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Member:
    #3135
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi guys,

    Looking for a switched 12V source to tie into.

    The only switched power fuse I could find was in the engine compartment fuse panel, a 10A fuse labeled "IGN".

    My question: what does this fuse power? If it blows, will my customer lose power to anything important? IE - computer/engine ignition power?

    Last thing I want to do it tap to a fuse, blow the circuit, and this customer loses engine power while driving.

    If it's only a matter of losing some interior accessories I can live with that.

    Thanks in advance!!
     
    dcsleeper408 likes this.
  2. Apr 14, 2016 at 10:53 AM
    #2
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon SouthBoundSteve Fan Club President

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    7,795
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    Have you looked into tapping into a fuse location in the cab under the driver's side dash? If it were me, I would tap into the fuse location of choice with a fused Add-A-Circuit. Keeps the protection on the original circuit plus protects the new circuit you are creating.
     
  3. Apr 14, 2016 at 11:01 AM
    #3
    DYLB

    DYLB [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Member:
    #3135
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Good call on the Add-A-Circuit. I suppose I could probe under the dash, this one is just very accessible with our current wiring.

    Just want to make sure this fuse is not critical for the truck to run/drive.

    For the record I do not have the truck here at the moment to pull the fuse and try it out, just trying to get some preliminary questions out of the way.
     
  4. Apr 14, 2016 at 11:09 AM
    #4
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon SouthBoundSteve Fan Club President

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    7,795
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    You should be ok to tap into that location as long as you replace the original fuse in the lower add-a-fuse slot and your new circuit is not a higher amperage for the upper protected fuse. If the under hood fuse box works best for you, then great, it is easier to do. The only thing about using the in cab fuse box is having to route wire through the fire wall grommet into the cab. Don't forget to notch the engine fuse box cover where it covers the fuse box so that the wire for the add-a-circuit doesn't get pinched. Also, I would consider placing the notch on the back side of the box so that water can't get in.
     
  5. Apr 14, 2016 at 11:25 AM
    #5
    DYLB

    DYLB [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Member:
    #3135
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Awesome thanks for the help.

    The draw is very low amperage, well under the 10A so I'm not too worried.

    Just do not want anyone being responsible for him losing critical power to something should the fuse blow.

    Thanks again
     
  6. Apr 14, 2016 at 11:36 AM
    #6
    RowdyRon

    RowdyRon SouthBoundSteve Fan Club President

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    7,795
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    You are very welcome. Good luck with the project.
     
  7. Dec 20, 2017 at 5:14 AM
    #7
    Worriedman50

    Worriedman50 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9980
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    West TN
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Crewmax
    So, for wiring a switch, can the Add-a-circuit be placed in the in-cab box via the "Panel" slot?
     
  8. Dec 20, 2017 at 5:27 AM
    #8
    Tundraplatinum

    Tundraplatinum New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Member:
    #3392
    Messages:
    190
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Platinum CM
    [​IMG]
    I really like these you can get them in all ditfferent amperages and fuse types usually you can find a empty hole in fuse panel to install these so they don't effect anything else in vehicle.
     
    RowdyRon likes this.
  9. Dec 20, 2017 at 5:28 AM
    #9
    Tundraplatinum

    Tundraplatinum New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Member:
    #3392
    Messages:
    190
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 Platinum CM
    [​IMG]
    add a circuit are nice too
     
    RowdyRon and MotoTundra like this.
  10. Dec 20, 2017 at 8:35 AM
    #10
    bobeast

    bobeast really old member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Member:
    #960
    Messages:
    1,432
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Hollister, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC
    - Bull Bar - LED Bunny Burners - AMP retractable running boards - Headlight leveling retrofit - P3 Brake Controller - 60% rear seat delete - relocation of Sub to rear wall - Bilstein 5100 x4, top setting with 2 shims per side - Coach builder +2 rear shackles w/carrier bearing drop - Firestone Air bags - on-board compressor with auto-leveling - Dual Undercover Swing Boxes. - P285/65/R20 (34.6") BFG TA KO2's - TRD Front skid plate - Pop & Lock Tailgate lock - Remote Tailgate mod - LED Headlights - Nav Bypass - iPhone integration - Serius/XM retrofit - 25% front tint - Bizon electric tonneau cover - Power folding tow mirror upgrade - 2010+ leveling Headlight mod - Auto-fold mirror mod. - one-touch lane changer mod - Flash to open garage opener mod - Rigid H/L fog light upgrade - Pushbutton / Remote start mod.
    If that fuse blows, the truck won't start. If you really want to be paranoid, tap into the IGN fuse, but wire it to a relay coil (as opposed to directly to the new load). The other side of the relay coil goes to ground. Then one NO contact goes directly to the battery, and the other NO contact goes to the load through its own fuse.
     
    dcsleeper408 likes this.
  11. Dec 20, 2017 at 8:39 AM
    #11
    Worriedman50

    Worriedman50 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9980
    Messages:
    54
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    West TN
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Crewmax
    What if I used the Seat Heater location in the in-cab fuse box, (I do not have seat heaters) and put in a 7.5 amp fuse?
     
    Tundraplatinum likes this.
  12. Dec 20, 2017 at 3:28 PM
    #12
    bobeast

    bobeast really old member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Member:
    #960
    Messages:
    1,432
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bob
    Hollister, CA
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC
    - Bull Bar - LED Bunny Burners - AMP retractable running boards - Headlight leveling retrofit - P3 Brake Controller - 60% rear seat delete - relocation of Sub to rear wall - Bilstein 5100 x4, top setting with 2 shims per side - Coach builder +2 rear shackles w/carrier bearing drop - Firestone Air bags - on-board compressor with auto-leveling - Dual Undercover Swing Boxes. - P285/65/R20 (34.6") BFG TA KO2's - TRD Front skid plate - Pop & Lock Tailgate lock - Remote Tailgate mod - LED Headlights - Nav Bypass - iPhone integration - Serius/XM retrofit - 25% front tint - Bizon electric tonneau cover - Power folding tow mirror upgrade - 2010+ leveling Headlight mod - Auto-fold mirror mod. - one-touch lane changer mod - Flash to open garage opener mod - Rigid H/L fog light upgrade - Pushbutton / Remote start mod.
    I don't see why that wouldn't work.
     
    RowdyRon likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top