1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2012 Tundra question from a new guy

Discussion in '2nd Gen Tundras (2007-2013)' started by McTundra12, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. Feb 22, 2016 at 7:08 PM
    #1
    McTundra12

    McTundra12 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Member:
    #2738
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '12 CrewMax TRD
    Notta
    Help me understand my 2012 Tundras drivers multi-information system. I am a new Toyota guy coming from the lands of Silverado, so the ingnorance is hopefully excusable. I bought a 2012 SR5 TRD Crew Max last week and I am getting more frustrated trying to use the info/ setup/reset buttons on my dash. Apparently this truck does not have the multi-informational display but has the buttons but parking sonar does work. What options do I have? Install a factory LCD NAV unit?

    This has not been a very enjoyable experience jumping over the the Yota, back up camera shows a blue screen and cuts out and a beat shield fell off on the way home from the dealer. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Feb 22, 2016 at 7:23 PM
    #2
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,850
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Meaning the info button doesn't change what's on display? Wonder if it was added, but never connected?

    Oh, and welcome!
     
  3. Feb 22, 2016 at 7:26 PM
    #3
    MotoTundra

    MotoTundra Adrenaline Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #8
    Messages:
    2,418
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14' Black TRD CM
    TRS Mini D2S Retrofit on TRD Pro Headlights (Apollo 2.0 Shrouds, 35w XB Ballasts, 5500k Bulbs) TRD Pro Grill BakFlip VP Tonneau w/BakBox Dipped wheels & bumpers Undercover Swingcase SunTek Paint Protection film Yellow Lamin-X Fog Overlays Tint Bedmat
    A friend of mine just had a rear veiw camera problem (intermittent blue screen when put in reverse) diagnosed on his 2011. Dealer said there was an interference problem with the wiring. His issue was covered under warranty.

    I have a 3rd gen so I don't know what your info system is like. If you don't get a quick answer on here, I would check out the manual if you have it.

    Seems like you are off to a rough start, you will love her though! Have that dealer replace the heat shield, that's a bad first impression you are getting.
     
  4. Feb 23, 2016 at 3:26 AM
    #4
    McTundra12

    McTundra12 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Member:
    #2738
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '12 CrewMax TRD
    Notta
    This truck doesn't even have a display as far as I can tell. In the cluster there is only a small display for the odometer and the dash only displays the time/temp and sonar. The manual doesn't help me that much other than it gave examples of the multi-display cluster and the one without. I think I will stop by a Toyota dealer and see if they can help sort through everything with me.
     
  5. Feb 23, 2016 at 5:33 AM
    #5
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,811
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Is this the buttons you are talking about?
    image.jpg
     
  6. Feb 23, 2016 at 5:35 AM
    #6
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,811
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    If so all that does is change the temp display up by the clock on the center top of your dash between temp, average mph, instantaneous mph, miles to empty and blank.
     
    MotoTundra likes this.
  7. Feb 23, 2016 at 6:11 AM
    #7
    McTundra12

    McTundra12 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Member:
    #2738
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '12 CrewMax TRD
    Notta
    Those are the buttons, with the addition of the sonar button. Pressing the top three buttons does not change the display on the dash like I assume it should. They are connected behind the buttons.
     
  8. Feb 24, 2016 at 4:44 AM
    #8
    McTundra12

    McTundra12 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Member:
    #2738
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    '12 CrewMax TRD
    Notta
    Well, the new girl is at a Chevy dealership now getting my problems diagnosed and repaired. I sold my Silverado to get away from Chevy and it turned out I bought a Yota from a Chevy dealer. Hopefully they can get everything sorted out.

    I saw on YouTube where a guys Tundra was displaying the information my previous posts referred to up on the dash where the time/temp is located. Is that where the fuel mileage etc should be displayed if my truck doesn't have the display under the speedo?
     
  9. Feb 24, 2016 at 5:28 AM
    #9
    Delmarva

    Delmarva Former Mayor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #46
    Messages:
    118
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD RW
    Yes I believe so... if I've read that correctly.
     
  10. Feb 24, 2016 at 9:46 AM
    #10
    johnxmccoy

    johnxmccoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Member:
    #2535
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    John
    Vehicle:
    2013 Crew Max
    I keep that stuff off, It depresses me when I see the avg MPG, I do not watch it!
     
  11. Feb 24, 2016 at 10:10 AM
    #11
    Delmarva

    Delmarva Former Mayor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #46
    Messages:
    118
    Tucson, AZ
    Vehicle:
    12 TRD RW
    :laugh:
     
  12. Feb 25, 2016 at 4:23 AM
    #12
    vulcanguy

    vulcanguy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Member:
    #2473
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 Black Limited Luccese TRD
    To Come
    on My 2011 the lcd for mileage avg mileage trip meters etc. is controlled by those buttons but appears in the center of the inst. cluster ! Mine does also have Sonar option like Yours .
     
To Top