1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2006 Tundra Double Cab Amp Bypass?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by PISTOL393, Oct 23, 2020.

  1. Oct 23, 2020 at 8:16 AM
    #1
    PISTOL393

    PISTOL393 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Member:
    #53970
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra SR5 Double Cab
    I am installing a new HU, amp, & speakers. I will be running new wire to the speakers. Do I have to bypass the JBL amp?
     
  2. Oct 23, 2020 at 12:01 PM
    #2
    weadjust

    weadjust New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Member:
    #29366
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Limited DC
    I removed and bypassed the amp in my 06 DC Limited. The factory amp was six channels and the aftermarket headunit and amp is most likely a 4 channel setup.
     
  3. Oct 23, 2020 at 12:12 PM
    #3
    PISTOL393

    PISTOL393 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Member:
    #53970
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra SR5 Double Cab
    So even if I’m running 4 channels (2-ways in the rear doors & components in the front doors) & run new wiring for them I still have to bypass the amp? If yes, please explain.
    Thanks!
     
  4. Oct 23, 2020 at 12:44 PM
    #4
    rock climber

    rock climber New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37106
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2001 Sequoia 4X4, 2006 Tundra Double Cab 4X4
    You're effectively bypassing the amp by running new speaker wires, so if you mean can you leave the amp alone, then yes.

    Just curious, what speakers and head unit are you going with?
     
  5. Oct 23, 2020 at 3:44 PM
    #5
    PISTOL393

    PISTOL393 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2020
    Member:
    #53970
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra SR5 Double Cab
  6. Oct 26, 2020 at 9:03 AM
    #6
    rock climber

    rock climber New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37106
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2001 Sequoia 4X4, 2006 Tundra Double Cab 4X4
  7. Oct 26, 2020 at 9:14 AM
    #7
    Elduder

    Elduder New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Member:
    #7206
    Messages:
    561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    This. I had installed a Kenwood HU on my Pro, ran RCAs from the HU to the amp for the front speakers only, then wires back to the cross overs and speakers. Retained the stock rear speakers without changing anything to them.
     
  8. Nov 21, 2020 at 6:03 PM
    #8
    MelissaWilliams

    MelissaWilliams New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2020
    Member:
    #55187
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Female
    First Name:
    Melissa
    I am having so much trouble. New to this radio thing. I'm trying to bypass the jbl amp for the stock one how do I find it?
     
  9. Nov 23, 2020 at 7:56 AM
    #9
    rock climber

    rock climber New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37106
    Messages:
    527
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2001 Sequoia 4X4, 2006 Tundra Double Cab 4X4
    What year and cab configuration?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top