1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2 Led bars 35 amps power source ?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Stumpjumper, Sep 28, 2017.

  1. Sep 28, 2017 at 7:28 AM
    #1
    Stumpjumper

    Stumpjumper [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Member:
    #4546
    Messages:
    2,672
    Gender:
    Male
    Fate, Tx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TSS 4x4
    I thought about going directly to battery but really did not want power to switch unless truck was running. I ran KCs on Tacoma pulling 42 amps off the fuse box so I would think I am fine with LEDs on Tundra. Right now I have a add-a-tap on one of the headlight circuits running to 32" bar. Plan to do same when I add 40". Not sure what the overall capacity of the factory box is. I assume since I have a SR5 with open slots I have no worries.
     
  2. Sep 28, 2017 at 11:25 AM
    #2
    Stumpjumper

    Stumpjumper [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Member:
    #4546
    Messages:
    2,672
    Gender:
    Male
    Fate, Tx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TSS 4x4
    Just realized what I did different from Tacoma. When I install the 40" bar I will power switch off the add-a-tap and lights off the battery. On the Tacoma I made my own wire harness. The light I bought for Tundra came with one. The switch on the harness gets power off relay and is always hot if relay is powered off battery. Still would be nice to know what the capacity I on the box under the hood.
     
    4x4_Angel likes this.
  3. Sep 28, 2017 at 12:30 PM
    #3
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    2,567
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    If it were me I'd run the relay straight to the battery or wherever you have it currently, cut the wire powering the switch and run it to an ignition hot circuit like a power outlet.
     
  4. Oct 2, 2017 at 4:07 PM
    #4
    040Tundra

    040Tundra Teddy 2013-2019

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Member:
    #5188
    Messages:
    3,833
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Aaron
    Las Vegas, NV
    Vehicle:
    040 '16 CM LTD 4x4
    A little of this and a little of that.
    If I may ask @Stumpjumper : why don’t you just use a harness, relay and switch? You can get them on Amazon all day for $12 or so...

    Just curious as to why you’re doing it this way. You know what they say: There’s more than one way to skin a cat.
     
    tomsinamerica likes this.
  5. Oct 2, 2017 at 6:36 PM
    #5
    Stumpjumper

    Stumpjumper [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Member:
    #4546
    Messages:
    2,672
    Gender:
    Male
    Fate, Tx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TSS 4x4
    I have all that. The question was to draw power off battery or fuse box. When I add the second light bar I am going to run power off battery and activate switch using add a tap off fuse box. Right now I am getting power from add a tap. Using the fuse box to activate switch is how I had the KCs wired on Tacoma. I had a BF when I wired the current light bar thinking that powering off battery would enable lights to be switched on without ignition on.
     
  6. Oct 3, 2017 at 2:58 AM
    #6
    Stumpjumper

    Stumpjumper [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Member:
    #4546
    Messages:
    2,672
    Gender:
    Male
    Fate, Tx
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra TSS 4x4
    Just to clarify. If I had hooked up the wire harness that came with my light bar exactly as designed the switch would be hot full time. The trigger for the switch comes off the relay.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top