1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

05 DC w/ JBL Audio

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by JC41, Oct 7, 2019.

  1. Oct 7, 2019 at 10:28 AM
    #1
    JC41

    JC41 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37096
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    I have a 2005 DC 4WD, champagne or beige color, I love it. Well I of coarse got tired of liste ing to strictly FM so I installed a head unit and I bought the correct harness and have audio everywhere, although I did loose the steering Wheel controls (Never used them before).

    So I'm wanting to install a 10" sub in one.of the compartments in the back under the seat. so my question is with this TYTO-01 Harness installed and aftermarket HU in am I now free to install and amp and subwoofers? If I wanted to add door speaks am I able too? Pretty much I'm asking if I want to add extra audio to my truck do I need to add more harnesses than what I already have installed (TYTO-01) to get everythimg to work sound?

    THANK YOU in advance.
    First forum, New to Tundras.com
    Not new to Tundras though!
    Not new to wrenching either.
     
  2. Oct 9, 2019 at 9:32 PM
    #2
    weadjust

    weadjust New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Member:
    #29366
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Limited DC
    My 06 DBL cab limited had a factory JBL amp located behind the back passenger seat on the rear cab wall. I would get rid of the JBL amp (if you have one) using the Metra 70-8117 Amp Bypass harness. You will get much better results if your wanting to add aftermarket speakers.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Oct 10, 2019 at 2:39 AM
    #3
    Twinky

    Twinky Keep the shinny side up!

    Joined:
    May 18, 2018
    Member:
    #15437
    Messages:
    855
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Kemah, Texas chillin on my ChrisCraft 480
    Vehicle:
    07 double cab work horse
    Stereo upgrades: -HU, Pioneer Mvh bs501 -Tweeters, Peerless(vifa) XT25SC90-04 1" Dual Ring Radiator s in custom pods. -Mids, Silver Flute W17RC38-04 6.5" Wool Cone Woofer. -Subwoofer, American Bass XR12. 2.3^3ft tuned @33-34 hz. -Tw Amp, Old School 2ch Sony. -Mids Amp, Old School Autotek Sx275. -Sub Amp, Old School Memphis 16-pr1.1000 -Zero gauge big 3. 0 and 4 gauge copper runs to amps.
    Most likely, yes. If your head unit has rca jacks on the back of it then you shouldn't need any other equipment. Just the amp and sub. Typically you'll have 1, 2, or 3 pairs of rca jacks.

    Some units do not have rca outputs. For those types you will require a "Loc" (line output converter). It allows you to run a set of speaker wires (typically the left and right rear ones) into the inputs of the Loc. The Loc will have rca outputs that will be used to connect the amplifier(s).

    If you know the model number we can take a quick look at the options and double check.


    If you are just adding like the rears then, no. The harness that is installed will have the normal front and rear channel wires there. You might have to connect them to the proper wires behind the head unit though.

    There's always exceptions or variables but for a normal setup with a sub/amp, you shouldn't need anything out the ordinary. Possibly a "Loc". The price can range from a couple bucks to a couple Franklin's. Its better to pass on the cheapest ones if your budget allows.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
  4. Oct 10, 2019 at 3:33 AM
    #4
    JC41

    JC41 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37096
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
     
  5. Oct 10, 2019 at 3:34 AM
    #5
    JC41

    JC41 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37096
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Don't know why it sent like that.. NEW
     
  6. Oct 10, 2019 at 6:31 AM
    #6
    JC41

    JC41 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37096
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male

    would I need to take off the TYTO-01 harness on the back of the HU (I had to install when I originally got the HU because i didnt have the miney to buy a sound system then.) And replace with that amp bypass harness and then wire up amp and sub how one usually would.
     
  7. Oct 10, 2019 at 6:37 AM
    #7
    JC41

    JC41 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37096
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Some of these vehicles comes stock with JBL audio and that also comes with an amplifier you have to bypass to enable music to play through any speaker. because when you hook up only an aftermarket HU the stock amplifier isnt getting a power signal to turn on and actually allow the music to come out of the speakers (because its not getting any power). So thats why I have the TYTO-01 Harness installed.

    I'm going to have to order the amplifier bypass kit @weadjust was reffering too and install that run the wires to the amplifer, then its bypassed and install amo and sub like usual with rhe RCA jacks in the back of the HU and B-,B+, etc., etc. for the amp and sub.
     
  8. Oct 10, 2019 at 9:02 AM
    #8
    weadjust

    weadjust New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Member:
    #29366
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Limited DC
    Yes get rid of the TYTO-01 if getting rid of the JBL amp. The JBL Amp pictured above is a 6 channel amp with the channels being 2 for the rear door speakers, 2 for the front door sub & mid range speaker, and 2 for the tweeters. After you get rid of the amp you will have a 4 channel set up coming from your aftermarket head unit and you will install after market amp, speakers, ect as you usually would.

    I would verify you have the amp behind the back seat before ordering the bypass harness. I found out when ordering stuff from Crutchfield that there are two different JBL systems.



    This link may help you out some

    https://www.tundras.com/threads/jbl-speaker-replacement-woes.50842/#post-1330937
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
  9. Apr 27, 2020 at 11:52 AM
    #9
    JC41

    JC41 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2019
    Member:
    #37096
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    reviving post from dead. but change of original plans. Im not adding a sub and amp. im just adding an amp and door speakers.

    Im starting install today.. I installed my 6.5" rockford fosgate 3 way speakers into these mounts I found that fit these door. I already order the metra 70-8117 kit have not wired in yet due to the fact I'm wondering if I even need to install the harness due to the fact im going to be running wires from the door speakers to the amp. and RCA cables would be delivering the audio to to the Amp.

    install 70-8117 or not? adding just amp and door speakers.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top