1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

01 Tundra P0100, P0110, & P0300 Codes

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by JAM Auto, Mar 23, 2020.

  1. Mar 23, 2020 at 11:27 AM
    #1
    JAM Auto

    JAM Auto [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Member:
    #44228
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tundra Limited
    None
    Hi, I am new to this group. My 2001Tundra Limited 4.7L 230K miles, started to run a little rough when I left work. Check engine light came on after 10-15 miles. Found codes p0100, p0110, & p0300. I did all the basics - visual, cleaned MAF, blew out air filter, verify all connections. Installed new MAF sensor. Engine actually runs worse. Check engine light flashes - goes off, then flashes again. I did clear codes prior to starting with new sensor. Now getting multiple misfire codes & engine running very rough. I also disconnected the battery for 15-20 mins. My cheap scanner is now saying "no codes". Any thoughts?
     
  2. Mar 23, 2020 at 2:30 PM
    #2
    Johnsonman

    Johnsonman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39132
    Messages:
    424
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    Sequoia
    LED headlamps/fogs; interior footlamps.
    0300 is random misfire. I'd check/install new plugs and wires. If you're handy you can also test the coils first, could be one or more of them too. Not sure if this engine has an idle air control, if it does it needs cleaning too. Luck.
     
  3. Mar 23, 2020 at 4:41 PM
    #3
    PCJ

    PCJ New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2019
    Member:
    #35549
    Messages:
    186
    Gender:
    Male
    State of Jefferson
    Vehicle:
    2004 DC Limited 4X4
    Lift, Rims, Bigger Tires, Nerf Bars, Black Out Emblems
    Since you disconnected the battery I would start with cleaning the throttle body.
     
  4. Mar 24, 2020 at 7:14 AM
    #4
    JAM Auto

    JAM Auto [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Member:
    #44228
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tundra Limited
    None
    Thanks for the responses. Plugs are about a year old, no wires (just boots). When I got home yesterday to make more checks, truck was running fine - no CEL, no codes. Cleaned throttle body. Test drove around the block fine. Ran errand a little later - started to run rough @ idle & check engine light came back on. I will check codes when I get home today. Read online how to relearn idle on Toyota's - operating temp, turn key on then turn off. Turn on & start engine, hold brake & put in drive & hold. Did this a couple times - didn't do anything. Checking on idle air control.
     
  5. Mar 24, 2020 at 8:47 AM
    #5
    TX-TRD1stGEN

    TX-TRD1stGEN ...

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Member:
    #9618
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Seth
    South East Texas
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tundra 4x4
    Might be plugs or could messing up. Have you pulled any plugs yet? Make sure you don't have a loose spark plug as well.
     
  6. Mar 25, 2020 at 9:48 AM
    #6
    JAM Auto

    JAM Auto [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Member:
    #44228
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jamie
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tundra Limited
    None
    Checked plugs - all look good. I could not find the resistance specs on the coils. They all actually look like original coils. I did ohm the coils, they were all very close. Going to put the Snap-On Solus to work this evening & dig deeper. By the way, truck is running good for now & check engine light is on. My cheap code reader says "No Codes".
     

Products Discussed in

To Top