1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Viper 4015v Remote Start

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by artsr2002, Dec 19, 2020.

  1. Dec 19, 2020 at 7:31 AM
    #1
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    2005 Tundra DC SR5 4.7 2WD 123K-ish miles........

    I got my Viper remote start wired in and I am having some issues.

    I wired up the following:

    2 12v constant wires
    Primary ignition
    Secondary ignition
    Starter
    Accessories

    Ground
    Safety switch ground.

    At this point, the video I watched showing a similar remote start/truck, it showed the truck could be remote started even if the lock/unlock, horn, brake weren't connected. Mine wouldn't do anything.

    I went thru programming the remotes in case the refurbished set they sent me weren't programmed and lo and behold it fired up.

    Problem is, I close the doors, lock the truck using the factory fob, then hit remote start on the Viper fob and it turns on, runs for a little bit, then turns off, then turns back on by itself and repeats. I can stop the whole shebang by unlocking with the factory fob. Any ideas?

    I still have the hood pin to wire up, could that be the problem?
     
  2. Dec 19, 2020 at 7:43 AM
    #2
    Professional Hand Model

    Professional Hand Model A.K.A ‘Golden Hands’

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2018
    Member:
    #14878
    Messages:
    15,007
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Fred
    ‘Somewhere’... a State of Mind
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tundra SR5 4WD 4.7L AC Silver Metallica
    Hand Protectors
    I’d say finish wiring it up and run it through its cycle one more time. You seem highly proficient in wiring/troubleshooting so I can’t help you there.
     
  3. Dec 19, 2020 at 7:58 AM
    #3
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    I wired in the hood pin, placed it next to the driver side hood adjuster and closed the hood. I can see thru the hood/headlight gap that its working as its depressed to the point of not making a ground contact when the hood is closed.

    The truck starts with the Viper fob, runs for 5 seconds and shuts off, then 5 seconds later, starts back up on its own and repeats. Hmmmmm.
     
  4. Dec 19, 2020 at 9:03 AM
    #4
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    I think I need to connect the Vipers tach input wire. I got the glove box removed so I can access the Engine Control Module. Does anyone know which connector has the correct wire? One diagram said black connector pin 5 but there are no black connectors, all 5 are white.

    PXL_20201219_163329464.jpg
     
  5. Dec 19, 2020 at 10:01 AM
    #5
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    Checked the Viper shutdown diagnostics. It flashed 3 times. This indicates Low or No RPM.
     
  6. Dec 19, 2020 at 10:08 AM
    #6
    SouthPaw

    SouthPaw The headlight guy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Member:
    #35992
    Messages:
    1,284
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2000 Limited 4x4 AC
    Man, you are brave lol. I think I have the same system (4105v) but I paid to have it installed. Best $300 I ever spent on the truck and came with a lifetime warranty.

    Well I don’t think I can help you too much, if the fobs are starting the truck, sounds like it is missing input somewhere from the truck. I did one time accidentally wash my keys and after that, my truck was randomly starting. I thought it was a fluke but after a bit, I figured out it was stating every 30min. While in the wash cycle, somehow the buttons got pushed in such a fashion it put it in some extreme cold starting mode that starts it every 30min and shuts off after 10min. I googled around and finally how to turn it off. Not sure if this is something along these lines or not. As PHM stated, I’d get everything wired up first and then trouble shoot after.


    May the force be with you
     
    Tundra2 likes this.
  7. Dec 19, 2020 at 10:34 AM
    #7
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    Yep. Need me some rpm signal. Just trying to decide where it's easiest to grab from. Lol
     
  8. Dec 19, 2020 at 10:46 AM
    #8
    Do58

    Do58 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Member:
    #46334
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    Hook up tach or signal sense and program
     
  9. Dec 19, 2020 at 11:13 AM
    #9
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    Yep that's what I'm after. Do you happen to know which wire at the ecm behind the glove box it is? I'll pull the instrument cluster and tie there if y'all can point me to the right wire. I believe there are 2 wire clips on the back of the instrument cluster. I also hear there is a black/white wire on the obd2 port but my wires don't match. My obd2 port does not have a black/white wire.
     
  10. Dec 19, 2020 at 2:46 PM
    #10
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    And the fun continues.....I have attached the Violet/White Tach input wire to the Black/Blue wire on Ignition Coil 1. Truck now stays running after remote starting it.......but my OEM fob will not unlock my doors unless I kill the truck first. LOL. I'm Google Fu-ing diagrams for the lock/unlock but my connectors don't match what I'm finding. I may have to wire in a relay setup from a document called Doc 1070 or I may have to wire in a module called XK01 which Directechs website refuses to give me a installation manual unless I'm a dealer. WTF? Haha
     
  11. Dec 19, 2020 at 3:05 PM
    #11
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    I think that's something that's in the truck side. I know my 04 DC will not unlock with the fob if the truck is running.

    This is the site I've used for wiring in other vehicles.
    https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/vehicles.html
     
  12. Dec 19, 2020 at 3:07 PM
    #12
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    Yea, I just read that on that 12Volt site, someone mentioned the exact problem I am having and was told, the OEM fob will not lock/unlock if the truck is remote started. I wonder if the lock/unlock on the Viper fob would work if I connect the lock/unlock wires. If not, I can just warm up the truck and unlock it with the key in the door.
     
  13. Dec 19, 2020 at 3:10 PM
    #13
    Festerw

    Festerw New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    Member:
    #7600
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Cambridge Springs, PA
    Vehicle:
    04 Tundra DC
    The Viper fob should work since it bypasses the stock module.
     
  14. Dec 19, 2020 at 5:04 PM
    #14
    SouthPaw

    SouthPaw The headlight guy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Member:
    #35992
    Messages:
    1,284
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2000 Limited 4x4 AC
    Just a question, but why use the stock fob is the viper will do everything for you? My truck has the factory installed security system but I ditched it once I had the viper installed.
     
  15. Dec 19, 2020 at 5:19 PM
    #15
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    I plan to use just the Viper fob once I get the lock and unlock functions working on it. If it can do it all I won't need to carry the OEM fob. Just gotta finish up and cleanup my wiring tomorrow.
     
    Tundra2 likes this.
  16. Dec 19, 2020 at 5:25 PM
    #16
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    @SouthPaw Do you have the same Viper model on your truck?
     
  17. Dec 19, 2020 at 5:29 PM
    #17
    Glock 40

    Glock 40 I'm here to break shit

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2020
    Member:
    #53606
    Messages:
    735
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Yukon Cornelius
    Way up thar
    Vehicle:
    2000 AC Limited 4X4 4.7L
    Deadpool Edition
  18. Dec 19, 2020 at 5:54 PM
    #18
    SouthPaw

    SouthPaw The headlight guy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Member:
    #35992
    Messages:
    1,284
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2000 Limited 4x4 AC
    artsr2002[QUOTED][OP] likes this.
  19. Dec 19, 2020 at 5:57 PM
    #19
    Do58

    Do58 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Member:
    #46334
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    What immobilizer bypass module are you using?
     
  20. Dec 19, 2020 at 6:18 PM
    #20
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    None. Just using what was in the box. The module, a buttload of wiring and the 2 Viper remotes.
     
  21. Dec 19, 2020 at 6:24 PM
    #21
    Do58

    Do58 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2020
    Member:
    #46334
    Messages:
    295
    Gender:
    Male
    Take a pic of your key and post it please..
    Edit... just saw you have a ‘05. Probably no immobilizer
     
  22. Dec 19, 2020 at 7:00 PM
    #22
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    Regular key. No immobilizer.
     
  23. Dec 20, 2020 at 1:27 PM
    #23
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    Update fellers: I'm calling this one a successful failure in that I achieved what I wanted, remote start, but not an all in one single fob solution, I was not able to get lock/unlock to work.

    For now, I have left the lock/unlock wires disconnected, but taped up, and will revisit at a later time.

    As it stands, the Viper fob starts the truck right away, I unlock the door with the key, put the key in to the on position and go. I noticed too though, that once I park, and turn off the key and remove it, the truck stays running so I have to then kill it with the Viper fob. LOL.

    Like I said, remote start to warm/cool the truck was the main objective and that has been achieved. I like that it fires right up and from a pretty good distance. My Ford remote start has like a 5-12 second delay, although I did add cellular capability to that one.
     
  24. Dec 20, 2020 at 3:17 PM
    #24
    SouthPaw

    SouthPaw The headlight guy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Member:
    #35992
    Messages:
    1,284
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2000 Limited 4x4 AC
    This is how mine works.

    Remote start will start the truck locked/unlocked but I always have a habit of locking it first due to my other truck working that way.

    Once started, it will only shut off when the timer has run out or I hit the brake before putting the key to the on position.

    Along with this, I can remote start it, put the key into the on position, hit the brake; while it’s running with the key in the ignition on, hit the remote start on the fob again and this will now allow me to remove the key from the ignition and the truck will stay running. Pretty handy when you forget something inside the house and don’t want to have to kill it to remove your keys.

    From what little I know about these things, it sounds like it is missing a signal somewhere. Whether it is brake or some other signal since it stays running even when you remove the key. Retrace your steps/wiring and hopefully it pops up.
     
  25. Dec 20, 2020 at 6:59 PM
    #25
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    I didn't wire the brake signal wire. My Ford has it and unless the key is in/on position, it kills the truck. I didn't care for that. Too many times, I kill my Ford because I forget to put the key in first. LOL

    My main concern was the hood switch so that the truck can't be remotely started if the hood is open and I/someone else is working on it. There are several safety switches that can kill the truck or stop it from getting remotely started I believe.

    This will work for me for now until I can find a shop nearby that can finish it for me so I only have to carry one fob. Its not the end of the world. Besides, I only drive this truck every other week. I switch out between it and my Ferd.
     
  26. Oct 15, 2023 at 9:53 PM
    #26
    Laingej

    Laingej New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    Member:
    #105471
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Hey there. Im stuck with the same problem. Viper remote start installed by myself on my 2006 xsp double cab all work perfect exept cant find the powerlock wires .. i found this pdf file online seems like you have to wire in a relay and diodes. But cant find more explanations. My remote start functions like it should with all the safety configurations.. i just want to be able to open the doors with with the viper fob

    IMG_4845.png
     
  27. Oct 15, 2023 at 9:59 PM
    #27
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    Yep, I have several copies of that same document. I took my door switch panel out and looked into it. I even wired the relay and diodes as it says to but it still didn't work for me. One thing I didn't try while it was installed was to reconfigure the Viper to send a double pulse instead of single pulse. I think if you add the relay and diodes in the passenger door it only requires a single pulse. I haven't gone back to look into it any further. I just carry both fobs with me. Meh.
     
  28. Oct 15, 2023 at 10:10 PM
    #28
    Laingej

    Laingej New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    Member:
    #105471
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    Maybe the lenght of the lock/unlock signal too can be adjusted in the viper unit? ..i will give it a shot just order diodes on Amazon will get back with my results. Thanks
     
  29. Oct 15, 2023 at 10:19 PM
    #29
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    If you figure it out, post a shit ton of pictures of your wiring here for us. Please and thanks.
     
  30. Oct 15, 2023 at 10:23 PM
    #30
    artsr2002

    artsr2002 [OP] 2005 Tundra DC SR5

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35520
    Messages:
    1,509
    'Yonder
    Vehicle:
    Red-Maroon-Something 05 DC 4.7 4x2
    Here is a screenshot of the Programming System Features for the 4105 BTW.

    4105 Programming Options.jpg
     
    Laingej likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top