1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS question

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Dannymax, May 17, 2022.

  1. May 17, 2022 at 7:25 AM
    #1
    Dannymax

    Dannymax [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Member:
    #78485
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    East Central NYS
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black tundra TRD
    none
    I have a 2013 TRD and purchased some steel wheels to mount winter snows on. The steel wheels came off a 2018 or 2019 Tundra, I don't remember which, were like new & included TPM's. centers & lug nuts. The TPM codes for the steel wheels aren't in the truck computer and the low pressure light stays on all winter.

    I would like to mate the steel wheel TPM's to the truck. Will this require a trip to the dealer or tire shop or will the reset function on the truck turn the light off? Thanks
     
  2. May 17, 2022 at 7:34 AM
    #2
    APalmTree

    APalmTree ERROR 404

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Member:
    #43054
    Messages:
    392
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    SW Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Offroad White Crewmax 5.7L
    Work in Progress
    Yes, it will require a trip to somebody with a tmps scanner. Depending on where you bought the tires they should have been able to pair the tpms for you, for example, I have tires from discount tire and when I swap my tires over I can take it to them and they will reset the system in just a couple of minutes at no charge.
     
  3. May 17, 2022 at 7:40 AM
    #3
    Dannymax

    Dannymax [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Member:
    #78485
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    East Central NYS
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black tundra TRD
    none
    I should have them do that when I had the snows mounted but foolishly thought the TPM's on the steel wheels would work with my Tundra. Obviously I knew even less about the system than I do know.
     
  4. May 17, 2022 at 7:42 AM
    #4
    APalmTree

    APalmTree ERROR 404

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Member:
    #43054
    Messages:
    392
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    SW Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Offroad White Crewmax 5.7L
    Work in Progress
    They should work just fine, you just need to repair them to the truck to make sure the truck is looking for the correct sensors. Right now the truck is still looking for your summer tires.
     
  5. May 17, 2022 at 7:48 AM
    #5
    Dannymax

    Dannymax [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Member:
    #78485
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    East Central NYS
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black tundra TRD
    none
    That's the part I don't know how to do, get the truck to look for the new sensors. Will involve dismounting the tires and getting the TPM codes to enter in the computer?
     
  6. May 17, 2022 at 7:52 AM
    #6
    APalmTree

    APalmTree ERROR 404

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Member:
    #43054
    Messages:
    392
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    SW Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Offroad White Crewmax 5.7L
    Work in Progress
    Any tire shop should have a scanner that they just place next the tire that will read the code. They scan all 4 codes into the scanner, they hop in the truck and pop a cable in the OBDII port and upload the sensor codes to the trucks computer. The whole process is normally 2 minutes and they can do it in the parking lot generally.
     
  7. May 17, 2022 at 7:58 AM
    #7
    Dannymax

    Dannymax [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Member:
    #78485
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    East Central NYS
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black tundra TRD
    none
    Perfect, just what I was wondering. Then repeat the process in the spring when I re-install the summer tires? I wonder if there is a reasonably priced scanner available so I could do that myself?
     
  8. May 17, 2022 at 8:31 AM
    #8
    APalmTree

    APalmTree ERROR 404

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2020
    Member:
    #43054
    Messages:
    392
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brandon
    SW Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 TRD Offroad White Crewmax 5.7L
    Work in Progress
    Discount uses something like this (I have no idea what the exact model or the compatibility is like) https://www.jbtools.com/autel-ts408...y4IDzgsUVWNwkytem4K_s3qlZ99gLBqxoCvbgQAvD_BwE
    For our year of truck, you have to relearn the codes every time you swap tires because the computer only holds 4 or 5 codes. The 2020 and 2021 trucks and lots of newer cars can hold up to 10 codes and you don't have to relearn when you swap over tires.
     
  9. May 17, 2022 at 8:35 AM
    #9
    Dannymax

    Dannymax [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Member:
    #78485
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    East Central NYS
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black tundra TRD
    none
    I was just looking at the Autel ts408 and almost have myself convinced I can run it! Thank you very much for the info!
     
    APalmTree likes this.
  10. May 18, 2022 at 9:50 AM
    #10
    Dannymax

    Dannymax [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2022
    Member:
    #78485
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    East Central NYS
    Vehicle:
    2013 Black tundra TRD
    none
    Autel said the ts408 doesn't come with an OBD2 cable but the ts508 does so I guess that might be the better one to get.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top