1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tech stream/ Security system 2021 Tundra crew max

Discussion in '2.5 Gen Tundras (2014-2021)' started by retech, Sep 9, 2021.

  1. Sep 9, 2021 at 6:53 AM
    #1
    retech

    retech [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Member:
    #67811
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I just picked up a 2021 Tundra crewmax. I'm looking at putting in the oem security system so I have it integrated with the factory key fob. The install instruction are ok. Until I get to the part were I need to use Techstream. I haven't installed anything yet. I don't want to purchased the security system until I know I can do the Techstream part. I have Techstream 16.00.17. I have this odbII to usb adapter (see link below). It doesn't seem to work at all. I have windows 10 on my laptop. I found a driver for the adapter. When i try to connect the truck it can't connect. I talked to my dealer they told me $400 for them to install or if I do the install myself but they do tech stream part would be $70. However they said it might trip the ani theft and the truck might not start after I do the install part. Does any one have any experience with installing a security system on a 2021 tundra or with connecting Techstream to one?




    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B097YC5LSR?ie=UTF8
     
  2. Sep 9, 2021 at 11:44 AM
    #2
    retech

    retech [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Member:
    #67811
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I was able to get Tech stream to connect, By using the steps in the attached you tube link. I just updated the version with the 16.00.17. It must have been a driver issue. Once I was in I didn't see the settings I needed to enable for the security system. The instructions say you need the Techstream laptop and that Techstream lite will not work. Being in IT I don't under stand what the difference is. Whats the difference between the Techstream Tough book and any other laptop.


    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sv6dB6X46A4&t=83s
     
  3. Sep 9, 2021 at 11:59 AM
    #3
    purplenova

    purplenova Not a new member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Member:
    #21513
    Messages:
    793
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra Crewmax SR5
    Pillar Tape, Bullet Liner, 20% Tint, Tyger Star Armor Kenwood amp & AudioControl LC7i Tech12volts JL Tweeters
    Someone correct if Im mistaken please.

    I did this on my 2011. The techstream dude at the dealership is only activating the unit, that is already installed in you truck.
    Unless yours is an SR5, it should have been turned on already.
    It should take him about 2 minutes. Offer to pay $35.00
     
  4. Sep 9, 2021 at 12:17 PM
    #4
    retech

    retech [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Member:
    #67811
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah its a SR5 With offroad package
     
  5. Sep 9, 2021 at 1:28 PM
    #5
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SX

    I would be very hesitate in using the VCI to do any kind of programming. I had one of those and it will only display partial data. I use the same one that OV Tune uses for their programming and it works flawlessly. Let me know if you need the link and I’ll dig around for it. It was cheap as well.
     
  6. Sep 13, 2021 at 10:03 AM
    #6
    retech

    retech [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Member:
    #67811
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yes that would be great thank you.
     
  7. Sep 13, 2021 at 10:16 AM
    #7
    pursuit2550

    pursuit2550 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Member:
    #50029
    Messages:
    950
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SR5 DC 4x2 Attitude Black
    If you find the link shoot it over also. Thanks
     
  8. Sep 13, 2021 at 10:19 AM
    #8
    pursuit2550

    pursuit2550 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
    Member:
    #50029
    Messages:
    950
    Gender:
    Male
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SR5 DC 4x2 Attitude Black
    I just went through what your going through. The truck already comes with the alarm installed. In my case, 2020 SR5, I didn’t have the alarm relay or the 3rd horn(which you don’t need). I bought the relay, 3rd horn and a GBS. Went to the dealer and they turned on my alarm for free, like 5 minutes max. Installed the GBS and done. Working perfect after a mistake I did but working.
     
  9. Sep 13, 2021 at 12:37 PM
    #9
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SX
    Fo to the “ask the mechanic” thread. I posted a good alternative.
     
  10. Sep 27, 2021 at 7:03 AM
    #10
    retech

    retech [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Member:
    #67811
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    I took my Tundra to the dealer to have the security system installed. They installed the system but when they tried to program the computer. The option wasn't there or something so they removed the security system and had to call Toyota. Toyota told them that the security system is not designed for my 2021 Tundra SR5. That the security system is only for the base model Tundra. they said my best option would be to go after market.
     
  11. Sep 27, 2021 at 7:17 AM
    #11
    HulkSmurf14

    HulkSmurf14 ...Weighted Average...

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2019
    Member:
    #34377
    Messages:
    1,400
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra Limited
    Tastefully enhanced...
    Lame as sh!t...sorry man...
     
  12. Sep 27, 2021 at 7:29 AM
    #12
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SX
    Really? That doesn’t make a whole lot of common sense. I would have asked them what the SR5 has that prevents the install of the security system. Give another dealer a call.
     
  13. Sep 27, 2021 at 7:46 AM
    #13
    retech

    retech [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Member:
    #67811
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah not sure if its just the computer or what. I took the center dash apart to put in a switch for my power inverter. I wanted to put the switch in to one of the blanks in the dash. One of the blanks had a connector with wires coming out of it. Then there was another spot under the blank with another connector and wires. After unplugging these I found these were just holding spots. Nothing was actually connected to these two connectors. This was before I took it to the dealer. I'm guessing these connectors connect the Glass break sensor. Seems really dumb why have the connectors if it doesn't work with the truck.
     
  14. Sep 27, 2021 at 5:05 PM
    #14
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SX
    So the dealer couldn’t find the connectors so they just gave up? You would think that when they saw your inverter switch that would have clued them in that the connectors may be tucked up somewhere.
     
  15. Sep 27, 2021 at 5:33 PM
    #15
    retech

    retech [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2021
    Member:
    #67811
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    no they Physically had it connected. It was is issue programing the computer. and Toyota told the Dealer the security system was not meant to be connected to my Tundra. I was saying how that didn't make since because it had the connectors for it. I called another dealer in my area and told them the story. They are going to look in to it and get back to me.
     
  16. Sep 27, 2021 at 8:35 PM
    #16
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    2,517
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra SX

    Very strange. Anytime a part or accessory is added to a Toyota vehicle it is looked up based on the VIN. Only capable parts would be shown.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top