1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Sequoia Retrofit Issue - DRL not bright - need help

Discussion in '2nd Gen Tundras (2007-2013)' started by Mattyc, Jun 22, 2022.

  1. Jun 22, 2022 at 11:40 PM
    #1
    Mattyc

    Mattyc [OP] <insert custom title>

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Member:
    #39715
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2008 Limited Rock Warrior
    Not stock
    I have had a conversation with @xrunnerdude67 but I cannot find the root cause of my issue. It seems that my retrofitted Sequoia light’s DRL is always on dim. I’ve had them for about 2 years and I didn’t realize that they weren’t working as designed until about 6-8 months ago when I saw a new Sequoia and their DRL’s were noticeably brighter than mine. So here are my questions:

    1) Are the dim DRL’s a separate led from the bright DRL? Meaning when they’re bright is another LED powered on or are they simply one LED that get brighter?

    2) I believe that I am getting power at the 10a fuses on xrunnerdude’s retrofit harness. However when I checked the power at the connector I cannot figure out the pinout as to what is supplying power to the light. I’ve tested the pins and it doesn’t seem that it is getting 12V on any of them. When I pull the harness’s add-a-fuse the light does not get dimmer and I don’t believe I am getting power at the connector. How can I check this?

    3) Could it be two faulty lights (they are refurbished but that doesn’t seem likely)

    4) how can I test the light to see if it is the harness or the light that is faulty? (I believe I plugged the passenger light into the DS harness to see if there was a difference but it was still dim

    Please help!
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2022
  2. Jun 23, 2022 at 11:09 AM
    #2
    COTundie

    COTundie Whoa Black Betty

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2021
    Member:
    #64339
    Messages:
    603
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Trey
    Vehicle:
    Black 5.7 DC TRD 4x4
    Pretty things
    Can't help with your questions, but I can add one.

    Have you done the "anytime foglight mod"?

    I have, and my Morimotos will only go full brightness when all light switches are in the off position.
     
  3. Jun 23, 2022 at 11:59 AM
    #3
    Mattyc

    Mattyc [OP] <insert custom title>

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Member:
    #39715
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2008 Limited Rock Warrior
    Not stock

    I have done the anytime foglight mod. When my switches are in the off position the DRL’s are off. When it’s in auto they’re off too unless it’s dark out. Totally confusing
     
  4. Jun 23, 2022 at 1:58 PM
    #4
    Ericsopa

    Ericsopa Old man and the sea

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Member:
    #2069
    Messages:
    1,253
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    N of Rio Grande, S of Red, E of Pecos, W of Sabine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra CrewMax TRD Ltd Super Duper White OVtuned
    I think you might have tapped in to the wrong wire under the dash for the DRLs. They should be on whenever the engine is running, regardless of switch positions. I no longer have the instructions from my install, but if memory serves, I'm pretty sure the DRL were tapped off a gray wire. Just don't recall which connector.

    Edit ... pretty sure it was J3 pin8

    DRL tap.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2022
    Wynnded and Mattyc [OP] like this.
  5. Jun 23, 2022 at 7:57 PM
    #5
    Mattyc

    Mattyc [OP] <insert custom title>

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Member:
    #39715
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2008 Limited Rock Warrior
    Not stock
    I didn’t tap into anything. The harness that was provided had an add-a-fuse that went into the fuse box under the hood. Is this not right?
     
  6. Jun 24, 2022 at 6:45 AM
    #6
    Ericsopa

    Ericsopa Old man and the sea

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2015
    Member:
    #2069
    Messages:
    1,253
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    N of Rio Grande, S of Red, E of Pecos, W of Sabine
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra CrewMax TRD Ltd Super Duper White OVtuned
    Well, the instructions i got with the harness from @xrunnerdude67 had one wire that had to go through the firewall to that gray wire under the dashboard. That wire is specifically labeled DRL on the wiring charts. The difference might be that you had to have DRLs on your truck to start with. If your previous OEM lighting did not include DRLs, you might be SOL. And you were to tell xrunnerdude67 if you had DRLs when you ordered your harness. He offered several different harnesses. Some with DRL, some without.

    DRL wire.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2022
    Wynnded likes this.
  7. Jun 24, 2022 at 7:01 AM
    #7
    Musicmasterd12

    Musicmasterd12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Member:
    #16099
    Messages:
    279
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2011 4.6 Silver Sky Metallic DC
    I’m not sure about for the conversion for the oem sequoia lights but for my aftermarket ones I had to tap into a fuse under the hood to get the drls to work. They are also on for me no matter the position of the switch. They’re full brightness with headlights off and when headlights come on they dim down

    did you tap the correct fuse in the fuse panel in the engine bay?

    heres some pics of where mine is tapped to get it to work for my setup, yours may be similar

    50E412C9-C40B-4104-BEBF-463F17D3EDE3.jpg 9FBEBF18-5F4E-4FAD-96F8-978C228B2DAC.jpg AA5EAE51-E65E-40F1-85C9-A361F2C4BF3E.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2022
    Mattyc [OP] and Wynnded like this.
  8. Jun 24, 2022 at 7:11 PM
    #8
    Mattyc

    Mattyc [OP] <insert custom title>

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Member:
    #39715
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2008 Limited Rock Warrior
    Not stock
    [QUOTE="Musicmasterd12, post: 2812088, member: 16099"
    [/QUOTE]

    Mine is exactly like this. If I pull the add-a-fuse there is no change to the headlights. When I switch to the off position, they turn off completely. Frustrating
     
  9. Jun 24, 2022 at 7:14 PM
    #9
    Musicmasterd12

    Musicmasterd12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Member:
    #16099
    Messages:
    279
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2011 4.6 Silver Sky Metallic DC
    Mine is exactly like this. If I pull the add-a-fuse there is no change to the headlights. When I switch to the off position, they turn off completely. Frustrating[/QUOTE]

    Silly question but are both of the fuses good? That’s how mine acts if I pull the add a fuse out
     
  10. Jun 24, 2022 at 8:01 PM
    #10
    Mattyc

    Mattyc [OP] <insert custom title>

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Member:
    #39715
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2008 Limited Rock Warrior
    Not stock
    Yep. Replaced both. I wonder if I have a faulty harness? Is there any way to bench test these lights without a $750 power supply?
     
  11. Jun 24, 2022 at 10:50 PM
    #11
    Beau

    Beau De gustibus non est disputandum

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2019
    Member:
    #39640
    Messages:
    608
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Beau
    Vehicle:
    2008 Sequoia with a 2022 style
    It seems like you may have a faulty harness, or less possibly,…faulty lights. I’m not sure how to test the lights without a working harness though, unless you can swap your headlight into another retrofitted truck or borrow another harness from @xrunnerdude67. My 08 sequoia is wired the same way (add a fuse) and the DRLs are ridiculously bright all the time. I hope you figure it out!
    4653863B-5DD7-4BD9-ABCF-9704FAFB9D4B.jpg
     
    Mattyc [OP] likes this.
  12. Jun 25, 2022 at 4:53 AM
    #12
    Mattyc

    Mattyc [OP] <insert custom title>

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2019
    Member:
    #39715
    Messages:
    270
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matthew
    NY
    Vehicle:
    2008 Limited Rock Warrior
    Not stock
    Mine is DEFINITELY 40% less bright than that.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top