1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

ScanGauge II vs Torque Pro vs OBD Fusion

Discussion in '2.5 Gen Tundras (2014-2021)' started by Buckaroo, Nov 27, 2019.

  1. Nov 27, 2019 at 4:46 AM
    #1
    Buckaroo

    Buckaroo [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39114
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra 5.7L 4WD DC TRD
    2020 GD 2670MK Travel Trailer
    I have a 2017 Tundra DC 5.7L 4WD with trailer towing package and tow a 32 ft Imagine 2670MK travel trailer having a GVWR of 8495 lbs. I would like to monitor transmission fluid temperatures at both the pan and torque converter as well as ethanol % setpoint for my FFV 5.7L. I don't need the diagnosis capability because I have a BlueDriver which does a great job on that front but only provides live data feed on the OBDII PID's. Also, I have an iphone so no android capability.

    Which of these options should I choose? I think the Torque Pro is out because it is android based (correct?). If I went with the OBD Fusion (cost ~$20-30) I think I would want a wifi based OBDII adapter something like this so it wouldn't interfere with my bluetooth hook-up to entunes...

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B077F8F6TB/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_1?smid=A13HFQBV6FEA8B&psc=1

    With the ScanGauge II, I like the fact that I don't have to fool with the phone but the cost is a little higher (cost $100-110).

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00VX2NOK2/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_1?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

    I don't really care about the cost difference - I am more concerned about capability and convenience. Suggestions?

    Buckaroo
     
  2. Dec 23, 2019 at 2:44 AM
    #2
    Johnsonman

    Johnsonman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39132
    Messages:
    1,254
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    Sequoia
    LED headlamps/fogs; interior footlamps.
    Android user here. I use Torque Pro on my 5.7 - also use it on older vehicles going back to an '01 4Runner. Same hardware (odb2 dongle) and app work on all vehicles with one exeption - the 5.7 requires a new PID for Transmission Temp method 3. I use blue tooth and it does not interfere with an ipod using BT on entune - not sure why anyone would think it would - different signals.

    I am still tweaking my new Trans temp PID formula but am getting close.

    I do NOT like how high the temps are so far, 50 degrees ambient, easy driving and it hits 216!!!

    I will most likely try 'pinning' next to see the impact. I really do NOT like having the system run the A/C compressor every once in a while to cool the trans - that is CRAZY!

    I see why they did away with it - decreases fuel efficiency where as an external cooler does not.

    Most likely will install one that uses a thermal switch to cut itself off during colder weather for quicker warm ups.

    Luck all and will post Trans temp PID formula once perfected. : ^ )))
     
  3. Dec 23, 2019 at 5:30 AM
    #3
    Genuine Cooling Systems

    Genuine Cooling Systems New Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Member:
    #29460
    Messages:
    970
    Gender:
    Male
    OBD Fusion PIDs below.

    Pan Temp
    ((((A*256)+B)*(7/100)-400)/10)

    Torque Converter Temp
    ((((C*256)+D)*(7/100)-400)/10)
     
    Zebruaj likes this.
  4. Dec 23, 2019 at 7:12 PM
    #4
    Failure2comply

    Failure2comply Master HVAC Tech

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2019
    Member:
    #35986
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Tundra Crewmax Limited w/factory 20" wheels
    Trailer brake. Limousine tint in rear windows. Ultra Gauge "Blue". Toyota bed mat and bug deflector.
    I use UltraGauge "Blue" to monitor my 2008 Tundra. It uses bluetooth to an old cell phone using their app. It will also use Scangauge settings. Very easy to use and setup.
     
  5. Dec 24, 2019 at 5:41 AM
    #5
    Buckaroo

    Buckaroo [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39114
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra 5.7L 4WD DC TRD
    2020 GD 2670MK Travel Trailer
    I ended up buying a cheap android tablet that I dedicate to running Torque Pro. I have not played with it a lot yet. I am monitoring the two trans temps but am still working on getting the ethanol % up and running (I don't know how often it resets but is currently displaying 0% so not sure it is working). I decided to go this way because the TorquePro is more widely used and wanted to keep my phone free for calls, text and music. The set up cost me ~$50 total.

    This is the tablet I bought for $35....now $30. It works good for the money but you do get glare on the screen which makes it hard to read in the sun. It does not have GPS so the functions that Torque Pro uses that need GPS won't work but my purpose is real time data monitoring. I had a short micro usb cable which I use to charge it in the truck. I just leave it charging when I'm using it. Have not bought a mount for the tablet - it sits nicely in the front tray below the dash. I unplug the adapter and put the whole set-up in the large cubby between the seats when not in use.
    https://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-Voyager-7-16GB-Tablet-Android-OS-Charcoal-RCT6873W42/53990885

    This is the bluetooth obdII adapter I purchased - inexpensive but does the job...$11.
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B011NSX27A/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    I downloaded TorquePro from the Google Play app store....$5. The app will not run if you enable GPS when installing it on this tablet - it just hangs.

    Buckaroo
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2019
  6. Dec 24, 2019 at 5:45 AM
    #6
    Buckaroo

    Buckaroo [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39114
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra 5.7L 4WD DC TRD
    2020 GD 2670MK Travel Trailer

    Same for TorquePro - I think you need the PID number too which is 2182....

    Buckaroo
     
  7. Dec 25, 2019 at 5:34 AM
    #7
    Johnsonman

    Johnsonman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39132
    Messages:
    1,254
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    Sequoia
    LED headlamps/fogs; interior footlamps.
    Thank-You So Much! I had read an earlier post of yours with the formulas but somehow managed to miss a ')', placed it where I thought it should go yet that was a bust, this was for the Pan temp, got that working correctly (validated by comparing to a cold start temp on engine).

    But so far I've not managed to get a TC temp reading. It just sits there, no reading. Should I be using a specific PID# up above in the setup template on Torque maybe? Also should the "OBD Header" field be empty? (the default one has 'TCM', which I left there for now).

    I see a fellow below says he reads both temps thru his Torque so I know its possible, just haven't hit the right combo.

    I'm guessing Torque updates itself so that part s/b good, lets see what I can try next.

    Again, thanks and enjoy those Toyotas. : ^ )))
     
  8. Dec 25, 2019 at 6:10 AM
    #8
    Genuine Cooling Systems

    Genuine Cooling Systems New Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2019
    Member:
    #29460
    Messages:
    970
    Gender:
    Male
    Screenshot_20191225-060909.jpg
    Screenshot_20191225-060913.jpg

    Screenshot_20191225-061054.jpg
     
  9. Dec 25, 2019 at 7:08 AM
    #9
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra OR
    I tried using those equations on my 2020. The first one worked correctly for the pan temps but the second had the same reading as the first. I found a different equations that seems to read slightly higher temps than the pan so I'm assuming it's the TC temps. I believe the 2019 and 2020 uses a different ecu so a new equation is needed.

    Screenshot_20191225-100735_Torque.jpg
     
    Johnsonman likes this.
  10. Dec 26, 2019 at 5:41 AM
    #10
    Buckaroo

    Buckaroo [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39114
    Messages:
    239
    Gender:
    Male
    Central Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 Tundra 5.7L 4WD DC TRD
    2020 GD 2670MK Travel Trailer
    Johnsonman[QUOTED] likes this.
  11. Dec 26, 2019 at 5:56 AM
    #11
    Zebruaj

    Zebruaj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Member:
    #37139
    Messages:
    658
    Gender:
    Male
    MN
    Vehicle:
    08 CM SR5
    I have both Torque Pro and OBD Fusion. Torque Pro was the old tried and true. Have had it for years. Got OBD Fusion last year? I had some Google Play credits to burn up. The only thing I dont like about OBD Fusion is the $9.99 model year pack you have to buy if you want to unlock all the readings.

    I haven't really used them past the token CEL readings. Used to use Torque Pro to record video and overlay data like a track recorder but its been years.
     
  12. Dec 30, 2019 at 5:30 AM
    #12
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra OR
    So does anyone using the torque app have a working equation for the torque converter temps? The ((((C*256)+D)*(7/100)-400)/10) on my 2020 reads the same temp as the pan all the time. If someone with a '19 has an equation that works I believe it will work on the '20.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2019
  13. Dec 30, 2019 at 7:34 AM
    #13
    Johnsonman

    Johnsonman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39132
    Messages:
    1,254
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    Sequoia
    LED headlamps/fogs; interior footlamps.
    Is it possible in doing away with trans cooling via any method for the '19+ yrs they also did away with the 2nd trans temp sensor, hence you only get one reading? Just a thought, I don't really know.....


    Luck and enjoy those Toyotas. : ^ ))))
     
  14. Dec 30, 2019 at 11:25 AM
    #14
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra OR
    Doubtful, the torque converter sensor would be a useful tool in diagnosing.
     
  15. Dec 30, 2019 at 3:16 PM
    #15
    Johnsonman

    Johnsonman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39132
    Messages:
    1,254
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    Sequoia
    LED headlamps/fogs; interior footlamps.
    How does the reading you get 'act'? Meaning is it 'very' quick to change like a TC one or somewhat slower like a pan reading?

    Mine can read the same once both engine and trans are up to temps while traveling at steady speeds. Stop and starts of course cause the spikes in TC. My old 4Runner only has TC readings, I suppose that one is 'more' important than just a pan reading. Just curious and perhaps the yapping might get someone else's attention who does have the answer for you. Luck.
     
    Ruggybuggy likes this.
  16. Dec 30, 2019 at 4:45 PM
    #16
    Ruggybuggy

    Ruggybuggy Seasoned Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2019
    Member:
    #36508
    Messages:
    3,228
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    NW ON, CANADA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra OR
    They both follow each other exactly. I believe the pan pid is correct because its usually a few degrees above the coolant temp.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top