1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New stereo question

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by avoice217, Sep 18, 2023.

  1. Sep 18, 2023 at 7:08 AM
    #1
    avoice217

    avoice217 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2023
    Member:
    #97762
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Vehicle:
    2001 Red Tundra
    Hey all, so I'm looking to get the stereo receiver replaced. I'm currently looking at getting a single din stereo in order to save myself in terms of the labor cost. However, I'm having an issue finding the correct dash kit. Thankfully the wiring harness is available. Any ideas out there?
     
  2. Sep 18, 2023 at 7:17 AM
    #2
    w666

    w666 D. None of the above

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Member:
    #40020
    Messages:
    1,237
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    04 Access Cab SR5 V8 4WD
    None yet
    crutchfield.com
     
    GeezePlease likes this.
  3. Sep 18, 2023 at 7:24 AM
    #3
    weadjust

    weadjust New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Member:
    #29366
    Messages:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Tupelo, MS
    Vehicle:
    2006 Tundra Limited DC
    I would think the labor cost for a single din installation and double din would be the same.
     
    1lowlife likes this.
  4. Sep 18, 2023 at 7:24 AM
    #4
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Former audio installer here. How the hell is a single DIN saving you on labor cost?
     
    The Black Mamba and 1lowlife like this.
  5. Sep 18, 2023 at 7:25 AM
    #5
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Ha! Jinx!!

    upload_2023-9-18_10-25-40.png
     
    bmf4069 and Black@Blue19 like this.
  6. Sep 18, 2023 at 7:27 AM
    #6
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Oh and @avoice217 I'm pretty sure Crutchfield will pre-crimp all your harnesses for an up-charge, making for a truly plug-and-play experience if you really want to save money and do this on your own.

    I think it's 5 screws to remove the center dash cover. The rest is pretty basic, and I don't think there's any AHAs or gotchas as long as you don't have the JBL system . (Amp would be in the dash for your year, behind the HVAC controls, that's the only other gotcha possible, but it requires no other harnesses for earlier years IIRC)
     
  7. Sep 18, 2023 at 8:08 AM
    #7
    1lowlife

    1lowlife Toxic prick and pavement princess..

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Member:
    #3296
    Messages:
    7,773
    First Name:
    DADA
    THE GREAT STATE OF TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DC SR5
    As others suggested, just get a double DIN.
    Unless you have CDs to store..:eek2::D

    IMG_0217_fb4a883726c3013b686a3b072d59a5c508c783dc.jpg
     
  8. Sep 18, 2023 at 8:14 AM
    #8
    kayaklabguy

    kayaklabguy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2023
    Member:
    #103473
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2005 Tundra SR5 Stepside V8
    Just confirming the other replies in this thread. I replaced my stereo a few weeks ago. Crutchfield sent me everything and it only took a few hours to do myself but that's because I'm anal and meticulous about wires being hidden. Mine even required the amp bypass line and it was a straightforward process. It's ridiculous how fast you can take the dash apart in these trucks.
     
    The Black Mamba likes this.
  9. Sep 18, 2023 at 1:24 PM
    #9
    The Black Mamba

    The Black Mamba Black Sneks Matter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2023
    Member:
    #103472
    Messages:
    1,988
    First Name:
    Ryan
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    Black 00 SR5 AC 5VZ PreRunner
    Imma keep it stock
  10. Sep 18, 2023 at 1:24 PM
    #10
    The Black Mamba

    The Black Mamba Black Sneks Matter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2023
    Member:
    #103472
    Messages:
    1,988
    First Name:
    Ryan
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    Black 00 SR5 AC 5VZ PreRunner
    Imma keep it stock
    Head units in these are so easy to replace, BTW
     
  11. Sep 18, 2023 at 2:32 PM
    #11
    HBTundra

    HBTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Member:
    #38908
    Messages:
    658
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC 2wd
    I have a Pioneer the previous owner upgraded to . . . but it's several years old.
    I can't play music from my phone thorough it unless I plug the phone into the head unit itself . . . which is odd, because it will send and receive calls hands free, even when not plugged in.
    I may upgrade the head unit, . . . it would be nice not to have to plug / unplug each time.
     
  12. Sep 18, 2023 at 2:46 PM
    #12
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Are you Android or iPhone? Some head units only support Android Auto / Apple CarPlay wired, not wirelessly.

    If you previously had Bluetooth audio for music (it's what I use, just straight-up Bluetooth audio, none of the extras), and it's suddenly not working, then I'd look into firmware updates for the stereo, they're usually easy to install.

    If you've never had Bluetooth audio for music, it may be that your head unit is like my Alpine: Android Auto / Apple CarPlay is only supported via direct wire. If I wanted wireless AA/AC functionality, I'd need to "upgrade" to the Alpine ilx-507
     
    HBTundra[QUOTED] likes this.
  13. Sep 18, 2023 at 3:09 PM
    #13
    HBTundra

    HBTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Member:
    #38908
    Messages:
    658
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC 2wd
    iphone . . . . I've never been able to figure out the bluetooth music on the unit (may not support it like you say) . . . I'm not savy with electronic items . . . but I've read the owners manual front to back several times with no luck . . . it will take my calls through the head unit / speakers wirelessly . . . but no-go on playing music.
     
  14. Sep 18, 2023 at 3:11 PM
    #14
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Huh. What model number is it?
     
  15. Sep 18, 2023 at 3:29 PM
    #15
    HBTundra

    HBTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Member:
    #38908
    Messages:
    658
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC 2wd
  16. Sep 18, 2023 at 4:12 PM
    #16
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Digital copy of manual here: https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/StaticFiles/Manuals/Car/AVH-P3200BT_OperationManual0112.pdf

    It says you need this for BT Audio: https://offerup.com/item/detail/1558947388

    upload_2023-9-18_19-4-32.png
    It says you need that for phone to function over Bluetooth also, so I'll assume you've got it installed.

    There may be some buttons you need to push to make it work, like the one I highlighted in yellow here, and there are also a lot of caveats on the functionality. Ultimately, that's a pretty old unit, newer stuff has made a ton of advancements. I'm assuming the "BT B 200" in the model number may suggest it's using Bluetooth 2.0 which is pretty archaic at this point. It also looks like there may not be any viable software/firmware updates available for that head unit.

    upload_2023-9-18_19-11-57.png
     
    HBTundra[QUOTED] likes this.
  17. Sep 18, 2023 at 4:18 PM
    #17
    HBTundra

    HBTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Member:
    #38908
    Messages:
    658
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC 2wd
    @shifty` . . . . Thank You Sir !
    I will try again to see if I can get it to work for me.
    And yes, the phone does work over the head unit . . . in fact a few weeks ago when I was trying to figure this out, I came across a feature that automatically answers all calls w/o having to press / tap a button to accept.

    I may switch it off, cause a couple people have called that I didn't want to talk to and . . . 'surprise' . . .LOL.

    Thanks again, will report back.
     
    shifty` likes this.
  18. Sep 18, 2023 at 5:41 PM
    #18
    bfunke

    bfunke Tundra Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Member:
    #37321
    Messages:
    1,330
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR-5 CM 5.7, 2000 SR-5 AC 4.7L
  19. Sep 18, 2023 at 6:00 PM
    #19
    The Black Mamba

    The Black Mamba Black Sneks Matter

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2023
    Member:
    #103472
    Messages:
    1,988
    First Name:
    Ryan
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    Black 00 SR5 AC 5VZ PreRunner
    Imma keep it stock
    All plugs are in the back. Has the AA/AC plug, a/v inputs and outputs and standard harness
     
    bfunke[QUOTED] likes this.
  20. Sep 18, 2023 at 10:43 PM
    #20
    NickB_01TRD

    NickB_01TRD You don't need less cars, just more driveway.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2021
    Member:
    #64346
    Messages:
    2,080
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    KY
    Vehicle:
    01 Tundra V8 4X4 AC SR5 TRD
    You don't need a dash kit. Unless you are just talking about the blank pocket under the radio. Those are pretty universal regardless. Post up a pic of your radio. You probably have a unit with a amp behind the dash that you need to remove. Need to make sure you get the basic Toyota harness and not some special one made to keep the amp.
     
  21. Sep 19, 2023 at 4:16 PM
    #21
    avoice217

    avoice217 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2023
    Member:
    #97762
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Vehicle:
    2001 Red Tundra
    Hey guys, sorry about the delay in a response. So I've been doing research on my end and will apologize. I thought that the situation in terms of switching out stereos was similar to my Prius & unfortunately had to learn the hard way. So now that its completely possible for me to install a new stereo, now I'm trying to find a stereo within a student budget (hoping for no more than $150, but depends on the model). Currently am eyeing this here, but am open to other ideas: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/sony-b...bnEchMkvOFFgAc08OXxoCAfMQAvD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds
     
  22. Sep 19, 2023 at 4:19 PM
    #22
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    I'll say it one more time: You've had several people tell you above to use Crutchfield. Heed those words.

    Crutchfield has the same unit: https://www.crutchfield.com/p_158DSXB700/Sony-DSX-B700.html

    Is there a reason you're shopping with Best Buy?
     
  23. Sep 19, 2023 at 4:25 PM
    #23
    avoice217

    avoice217 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2023
    Member:
    #97762
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Vehicle:
    2001 Red Tundra
    No there's not a reason I'm going with Best Buy other than price. But ya I'll go ahead & get the unit from Crutchfield since they're willing to include the bypass wires. I was actually considering getting the AVH-P3200 that HBTundra posted as I found a decent used unit on eBay.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #23
  24. Sep 19, 2023 at 4:55 PM
    #24
    w666

    w666 D. None of the above

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2019
    Member:
    #40020
    Messages:
    1,237
    Gender:
    Male
    Maryland
    Vehicle:
    04 Access Cab SR5 V8 4WD
    None yet
    It's actually cheaper at Crutchfield!
     
  25. Sep 19, 2023 at 5:13 PM
    #25
    HBTundra

    HBTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Member:
    #38908
    Messages:
    658
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2006 DC 2wd
    FWIW . . .
    I'm no stereo connoisseur at all . . . the Pioneer AVH-P3200 in my truck was installed by the previous owner.
    As @shifty` stated , it's several years old, ( I think it was from 2010-ish), and so is the technology within it.
    It works fine, and I have no 'problems' with it . . . my only 'wish' would be able to play music from my iphone through the head unit without having to plug the phone in to the USB port on the face of the unit.

    It receives calls fine, and plays the audio over the speakers just fine without being plugged-in (bluetooth) Who ever installed it put a little mic. up by the visor, were the windshield meets the headliner . . . seems to work ok, never any complaints from callers.
    If I want to make a call, a quick "hey Siri, call so and so", works fine as well.
    The bluetooth recognizes my phone every time I get in the truck, so no worries there, and I never have to 'pair it'.

    But the unit itself is definitely outdated compared to what is out there now in a comparable unit.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #25
  26. Sep 19, 2023 at 5:50 PM
    #26
    KNABORES

    KNABORES Sarcasm incoming

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Member:
    #40572
    Messages:
    8,604
    Gender:
    Male
    Arkansas
    Vehicle:
    2000 Limited TRD AC 4X4 Thunder Grey 270k miles. 2019 Limited TRD CM 4x4 Cement Grey 75k miles
    2000: Bilstein 5100's 16x8 589's with 265/75/16 and 1.25" spacers Flowmaster 50 series over the axle dump Pioneer touchscreen with backup camera Full interior and dash LED conversion Trailer brake controller with 7 pin Bedliner coat bumpers & trim ARE topper 2019: ARE topper with full Bedrug kit and Vortex rack TRD shifter 1.25" wheel spacers (I like to live dangerously) Red tow hooks for that +15 grip bonus
    The Black Mamba likes this.
  27. Sep 19, 2023 at 6:25 PM
    #27
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    I would always go for a newer, more feature-packed unit over a 10-year old unit like that Pioneer.
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #27
    HBTundra and The Black Mamba like this.
  28. Oct 8, 2023 at 5:33 PM
    #28
    avoice217

    avoice217 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2023
    Member:
    #97762
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Vehicle:
    2001 Red Tundra
    Hey all, so I was able to get everything connected wire wise. However, I've come into an issue. The Metra wires that are supposed to connect into the truck don't fit. The wiring harness I was sent was 70-1761. According to Crutchfield, that's the correct harness that's supposed to go into all Toyotas from 1987 and up. So right now, that's my biggest issue is trying to figure out why the wiring harness doesn't connect to the truck harness itself
     
  29. Oct 8, 2023 at 6:03 PM
    #29
    shifty`

    shifty` He Switched From Rum to Whiskey

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2020
    Member:
    #48239
    Messages:
    18,517
    ATL
    Vehicle:
    '06 AC Limited V8/4WD
    (see signature for truck info)
    Did you confirm if you have a factory amp or not?

    If you do, it's in the dash, and that harness is the correct one to use. But it connects to the amp harness, not the radio.

    Please read this thread and get back to us on whether or not you have the factory amp in your dash: https://www.tundras.com/threads/1st-gen-factory-amplifier-location-jbl-non-jbl-all-cabs.115324/
     
  30. Oct 8, 2023 at 6:28 PM
    #30
    avoice217

    avoice217 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2023
    Member:
    #97762
    Messages:
    20
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Justin
    Vehicle:
    2001 Red Tundra
    Sorry shifty, so I realized the mistake on my end. So I watched a Youtube video & immediately noticed that I overlooked a step, which was unhooking the harnesses required to use with the Metra harness. But damn harness plugged into the box upside down didn't help the situation, especially with my fat hands. It took me about 10 mins battling with the bigger harness to finally get it pulled out & then another couple of mins for the smaller one. Now I'm gonna install the new stereo on Tuesday (day off). The only other thing to do is use the screws that Sony gave to attach the side brackets since the Toyota ones are too big.
     
    shifty` likes this.
To Top