1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How to register new TPMS sensors on 2019

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by IowaGuy, Dec 9, 2023.

  1. Dec 9, 2023 at 6:26 PM
    #1
    IowaGuy

    IowaGuy [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2021
    Member:
    #69167
    Messages:
    933
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Arizona by way of Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2019 SR5 upgrade MGM
    In Process
    I searched and read on here and haven't found a definitive answer. I purchased new TPMS sensors for my wheels and so far my truck will not recognize them. I pushed the button below the steering wheel and the dash light flashed three times. The Tire pressure screen now says to please wait while it recalibrates. I have driven 40 minutes and still the same message. Do I need to be more patient, drive more, get a cloning / programming tool or take it to the dealer so they can screw me out of a few hundred bucks to fix.

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07CZRJX5F?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details
     
  2. Dec 9, 2023 at 6:33 PM
    #2
    TacomaTRD4x402

    TacomaTRD4x402 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2023
    Member:
    #107483
    Messages:
    355
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    '18 Tundra TRD Sport 2WD 5.7 Crew Cab MGM
    Brand new cabin air filter!
    Hmm, if it's anything like the "Refuel" message I was receiving on my truck for about 10miles after installing my grille LEDs/disconnecting my battery, hopefully it will go away on it's own after driving it some more :confused: I was so excited to see the message go away today.
    Sub'd to see the outcome, hopefully you get it resolved.:fingerscrossed:
     
  3. Dec 9, 2023 at 7:56 PM
    #3
    bensky

    bensky PlatinumPro

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Member:
    #21634
    Messages:
    405
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2018 Red Platinum Tundra
    On an ‘19, you’ll need either a scan/program tool or access to techstream. I like the Autel brand scanner and sensor, but make sure you get one with the cord that plugs into the OBD2 port. If you have techstream, you’ll still the the hexidecimal code to program it into the TPMS ECU. You can get this by stopping at almost any tire store and having them scan it for you.
     
    1lowlife and IowaGuy[OP] like this.
  4. Dec 9, 2023 at 8:19 PM
    #4
    1lowlife

    1lowlife Toxic prick and pavement princess..

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Member:
    #3296
    Messages:
    8,081
    First Name:
    DADA
    THE GREAT STATE OF TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DC SR5
    Why did you 'replace' them?
    The internal batteries last 10 or more years..

    Hope you get it figured out...:thumbsup:
     
  5. Dec 10, 2023 at 3:31 PM
    #5
    IowaGuy

    IowaGuy [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2021
    Member:
    #69167
    Messages:
    933
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Arizona by way of Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2019 SR5 upgrade MGM
    In Process
    Update. I purchased new bk-sens brand pre-programmed sensors from Rock Auto. The sensors I purchased were a lesser name and not pre-programmed and I cannot find a programmer that will work with them. I replaced the sensors because I purchased new wheels and tires and wanted to keep the stock set together for resale. One of the stock set stems is bad now anyway. I am hoping the new pre-programmed ones will register once they are mounted otherwise I guess I will need to go to the Tundra shop. I have Techstream but it is an older version and it is not showing a place in there to add the new codes for sensors.
     
    TacomaTRD4x402 likes this.
  6. Dec 10, 2023 at 5:41 PM
    #6
    bensky

    bensky PlatinumPro

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Member:
    #21634
    Messages:
    405
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2018 Red Platinum Tundra
    What version of techstream are you using?
     
  7. Dec 10, 2023 at 5:51 PM
    #7
    TacomaTRD4x402

    TacomaTRD4x402 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2023
    Member:
    #107483
    Messages:
    355
    Gender:
    Male
    Southern California
    Vehicle:
    '18 Tundra TRD Sport 2WD 5.7 Crew Cab MGM
    Brand new cabin air filter!
    Thank you for the update. This is very good to know as I'm new to TPMS
     
  8. Dec 10, 2023 at 6:16 PM
    #8
    IowaGuy

    IowaGuy [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2021
    Member:
    #69167
    Messages:
    933
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Arizona by way of Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2019 SR5 upgrade MGM
    In Process
    14
     
  9. Dec 10, 2023 at 6:51 PM
    #9
    DZ_

    DZ_ New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Member:
    #31242
    Messages:
    489
    Frederick Co., MD
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tundra Crewmax Limited TRD Praux
    I purchased replacement OE sensors from Toyota when I bought my BBS wheels. I followed the TPMS reset or relearn (I don't recall the phrase used exactly) as listed in the owner's manual. It worked on my first try and haven't had any issues since.
     
  10. Dec 12, 2023 at 10:29 PM
    #10
    bensky

    bensky PlatinumPro

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Member:
    #21634
    Messages:
    405
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ben
    Utah
    Vehicle:
    2018 Red Platinum Tundra
    The OE Toyota sensors seem to magically register. The aftermarket ones don’t in my experience. Either upgrade your techstream to 16 or later, or invest in a TPMS tool. I was skeptical when I bought mine, but with 4 cars in our household it has paid for itself many times over.
     
  11. Dec 12, 2023 at 11:14 PM
    #11
    Chuy!

    Chuy! New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2023
    Member:
    #91021
    Messages:
    189
    Gender:
    Male
    Lakeside, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tacoma 4X4
  12. Dec 13, 2023 at 5:01 AM
    #12
    IowaGuy

    IowaGuy [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2021
    Member:
    #69167
    Messages:
    933
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Arizona by way of Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2019 SR5 upgrade MGM
    In Process
    The brand of sensors I bought appear dead or are needing activated or they are really proprietary. I broke down and bought a Autel scanner and tried deflating the tire while scanning and nothing. I scanned my old tires and they were recognized immediately. So I purchased another set of programmed sensors from Rock Auto and I will see if those work. The scanner is neat as it will hook up to the OBD port and put the HEX codes from the sensors right into the truck and register them. The part I hate is going back to Discount Tire to have them replace the sensors. At least I can scan the new ones first to make sure I can see them. Another stupid and expensive lesson on my part especially since I will probably not need to mess with these again in the life of the truck.
     
  13. Dec 30, 2023 at 7:27 PM
    #13
    TomsTundra

    TomsTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2023
    Member:
    #109191
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all, research regarding my tpms sensors led me to this great site. Thought i would share a bit of info in resolving my issue. I see alot of discussion regarding tpms tools such as the autel and others, they are a useful device if you dont have access physical access to the tpms sensor itself. But if you are replaceing one or all the sensors just note each individgual sensor id codes and location on the vehicle. I use a xtool model D7 to relearn the new sensors by typing in the new sensor codes for each wheel location into the scan tool, reset the dtc codes and task complete. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nMCsthz3gug
    This particular unit is aprox $ 400 . But if your in to diy repairs, its loaded with handy features. My 2011 tundra requires accurate transmission tempature range be establised to properly set fluid level. THis feature alone saved me the cost of having a dealer drain and fill my transmission. My point is for a extra few hundred bucks, it provides a ton of great capabilities.
     
  14. Jan 4, 2024 at 7:42 AM
    #14
    parkerbows

    parkerbows New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #28783
    Messages:
    698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Vehicle:
    2017 crew max sr5 trd off road
    Firestone air ride air bags
  15. Jan 4, 2024 at 9:23 AM
    #15
    TomsTundra

    TomsTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2023
    Member:
    #109191
    Messages:
    3
    I like how it keeps track of sensor id's for winter summer tire change overs. I assume after its all progamed a computer interface isnt required, you can just plug the obd2 port and relearn quick and easy.
     
  16. Jan 4, 2024 at 9:36 AM
    #16
    parkerbows

    parkerbows New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #28783
    Messages:
    698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Vehicle:
    2017 crew max sr5 trd off road
    Firestone air ride air bags
    That is what this one does.
    You download the sensor ids the odb2 device then to an app
    and then if you change one you go in the app and put in the new ID then plug back into truck and it reprogams it
    keeps summer and winter IDs also
    It is not high end but I have been using swapping damaged tpms sensors on my truck and also changing winter/summer tires an my sons car also

    I dont have winter on my tundra so I just duplicated the IDS

    20240104_123844.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2024
  17. Jan 4, 2024 at 10:02 AM
    #17
    parkerbows

    parkerbows New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #28783
    Messages:
    698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Vehicle:
    2017 crew max sr5 trd off road
    Firestone air ride air bags
  18. Jan 4, 2024 at 10:55 AM
    #18
    MadMaxCanon

    MadMaxCanon New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2021
    Member:
    #63566
    Messages:
    4,024
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    '21 CM SR5 4x4 6 seater
    Too many, but not enough....
    I thought the later years had a more finicky TPMS procedure/software, would make sense as to why it was so much easier on a 2017. If i recall, 2018-2021 were more picky.
     
  19. Jan 4, 2024 at 10:56 AM
    #19
    parkerbows

    parkerbows New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #28783
    Messages:
    698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Vehicle:
    2017 crew max sr5 trd off road
    Firestone air ride air bags
    Hmm yeah that could be
     
    MadMaxCanon[QUOTED] likes this.
  20. Jan 5, 2024 at 9:36 AM
    #20
    TomsTundra

    TomsTundra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2023
    Member:
    #109191
    Messages:
    3
    Does that unit scan id codes thru the tire as well?
     
  21. Jan 5, 2024 at 9:56 AM
    #21
    parkerbows

    parkerbows New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Member:
    #28783
    Messages:
    698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jack
    Vehicle:
    2017 crew max sr5 trd off road
    Firestone air ride air bags
    it does not unfortunately. yeah u need to keep track if one has to be changed I write the ID down first. As long as U do that all good.
    Assuming u r asking about the unit I posted?
    for $99 its been perfect for what I need. Have a scan tool that doesnt do tpms and use an odbc module and torque app for trans temp etc...
     
To Top