1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Factory Amplifier

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by MSCRUGGS61, Jan 23, 2019.

  1. Jan 23, 2019 at 8:17 PM
    #1
    MSCRUGGS61

    MSCRUGGS61 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Member:
    #24756
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tundra 4x4 Limited TRD
    I'm replacing stock CD changer/Stereo with a new unit. All stuff I've found about wiring online says you have to remove the factory amplifier, but they don't mention anything else about it. So now my truck won't have an amplifier? Do the new stereo's have their own amp, so I don't need the stock one?
     
  2. Jan 23, 2019 at 9:37 PM
    #2
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Premium Lone Star Member / SSEM #13

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    6,735
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JR
    Houston, TX (Suburban South)
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 2WD
    TSS 20's with Cooper ATP ll's, N Fab 3 Step Nerf Bars,, Pioneer AVIC-8100NEX, Masters Tailgate Replacement Latch with Camera, 1" Maxtrac Shackles, LED Interiors/Brake/Reverse/Cargo/Fog Bulbs, Fumoto Drain Valve, Toyota Aluminium Oil Filter Housing, TRD Shift Knob, Courtesy Door Projector LEDs with Toyota Emblem, Console Tray and Lower Divider.
    Some head units have more power, my pioneer has 50watts per channel. It is enough for my needs, drives stock speakers much better.
    If you want big sound, a new amp may be needed, as well as new speakers.
     
    GNTundra likes this.
  3. Jan 24, 2019 at 5:26 AM
    #3
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Premium Lone Star Member / SSEM #13

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    6,735
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JR
    Houston, TX (Suburban South)
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 2WD
    TSS 20's with Cooper ATP ll's, N Fab 3 Step Nerf Bars,, Pioneer AVIC-8100NEX, Masters Tailgate Replacement Latch with Camera, 1" Maxtrac Shackles, LED Interiors/Brake/Reverse/Cargo/Fog Bulbs, Fumoto Drain Valve, Toyota Aluminium Oil Filter Housing, TRD Shift Knob, Courtesy Door Projector LEDs with Toyota Emblem, Console Tray and Lower Divider.
    Have you verified your 02 has an amp? On later models, only the "premium" JBL system have amps.
     
  4. Jan 25, 2019 at 12:33 PM
    #4
    FirstTruck

    FirstTruck New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Member:
    #20013
    Messages:
    416
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    18 Tundra MGM CM TRD Sport
    Stock, for now
    On a 02 there is not much to keep. I would start from scratch. Even speaker wires. Maybe this will not help you but its the best way to go. My 2 cents
     
  5. Jan 28, 2019 at 1:50 PM
    #5
    MSCRUGGS61

    MSCRUGGS61 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Member:
    #24756
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tundra 4x4 Limited TRD
    OK, so put the new unit in and it sounds fine without the stock amp. And now I have a backup camera, Bluetooth & mic for hands free phone, and a USB port to connect phone direct. Pretty cool for under $400, and also remarkably easy to install (once I got the correct connector adapter).
     
    Leo's first and (deleted member) like this.
  6. Jan 28, 2019 at 1:52 PM
    #6
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Premium Lone Star Member / SSEM #13

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    6,735
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    JR
    Houston, TX (Suburban South)
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 2WD
    TSS 20's with Cooper ATP ll's, N Fab 3 Step Nerf Bars,, Pioneer AVIC-8100NEX, Masters Tailgate Replacement Latch with Camera, 1" Maxtrac Shackles, LED Interiors/Brake/Reverse/Cargo/Fog Bulbs, Fumoto Drain Valve, Toyota Aluminium Oil Filter Housing, TRD Shift Knob, Courtesy Door Projector LEDs with Toyota Emblem, Console Tray and Lower Divider.
    Glad it worked out for you. What HU did you go with?
     
  7. Jan 28, 2019 at 2:11 PM
    #7
    MSCRUGGS61

    MSCRUGGS61 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    Member:
    #24756
    Messages:
    12
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tundra 4x4 Limited TRD
  8. Jul 11, 2021 at 7:20 PM
    #8
    dangonzz

    dangonzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2021
    Member:
    #65422
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tundra TRD
    I'm replacing the stock stereo on my 2002 Tundra TRD (6CD changer w/ cassette) Where did you find the correct connector adapter? Also, does this Tundra have a separate power amp? and did you keep it or did you go direct to the speakers from the new head unit? Thanks.
     
  9. Jul 11, 2021 at 8:18 PM
    #9
    NickB_01TRD

    NickB_01TRD You don't need less cars, just more driveway.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2021
    Member:
    #64346
    Messages:
    2,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    KY
    Vehicle:
    01 Tundra V8 4X4 AC SR5 TRD
    Factory amp if installed is super easy to remove. Once removed your adapter harness will be the same as almost every Toyota from that generation. If you follow the wire connector that plugs into your factory radio down to the other end you will find the factory amp. Unbolt the two bolts holding the amp in place then unplug the two connectors that are opposite of your factory radio harness. Your adapter harness will then hook up to those two plugs. Here is the link for the adapter harness to use after amp removal.
    https://www.amazon.com/Scosche-TA02...a+radio+adapter+harness&qid=1626059741&sr=8-3
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2021
    dangonzz[QUOTED] likes this.
  10. Jul 12, 2021 at 6:02 AM
    #10
    dangonzz

    dangonzz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2021
    Member:
    #65422
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Vehicle:
    2002 Tundra TRD

    Ok, then. I saw that harness and didn't think it was the right one because it didn't match the connector at the back of the radio. I didn't realize that it is meant to bypass the amp. Time to dive back in, find the amp and get this sorted out. Thanks, appreciate the help.
     
  11. Sep 25, 2022 at 11:32 AM
    #11
    JROD209

    JROD209 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2022
    Member:
    #83909
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2000 Tundra access cab
    None
    Sorry to bring back the dead, but I am trying to install a new BT head unit into my 1st gen (access no jbl). After connecting all the wires to its mate, I plugged everything in, turned on the ignition, and nothing. No power. Checked fuses and they were fine. I even bought another HU and wiring harness and still nothing. The factory unit worked when I took it out, so I’m really at a loss. I’ve done a few radio installs, but really have no clue what’s going on.

    Anyone ever have this issue? I tried looking it up, but there weren’t any threads that address my issue….or at least the phrases I tried searching. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  12. Sep 25, 2022 at 11:34 AM
    #12
    NickB_01TRD

    NickB_01TRD You don't need less cars, just more driveway.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2021
    Member:
    #64346
    Messages:
    2,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    KY
    Vehicle:
    01 Tundra V8 4X4 AC SR5 TRD
    Do you have the factory amp behind the dash? Did you mount the radio and connect the climate controls back up? These radios can ground from the mounting brackets/HVAC controls.
     
  13. Sep 25, 2022 at 11:36 AM
    #13
    JROD209

    JROD209 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2022
    Member:
    #83909
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2000 Tundra access cab
    None
    Yes, and have removed the connections to use with my new harnesses.
     
  14. Sep 25, 2022 at 11:38 AM
    #14
    NickB_01TRD

    NickB_01TRD You don't need less cars, just more driveway.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2021
    Member:
    #64346
    Messages:
    2,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    KY
    Vehicle:
    01 Tundra V8 4X4 AC SR5 TRD
    So factory amp still installed or removed?
    Have any pictures of anything? Old radio, new radio, current wire harness etc.
     
  15. Sep 25, 2022 at 11:38 AM
    #15
    JROD209

    JROD209 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2022
    Member:
    #83909
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2000 Tundra access cab
    None
    Wait, read that wrong. I didn’t re-install the hvac equipment yet. The one thing I’ve learned from the previous installs was to test the equipment before putting everything back together.
     
  16. Sep 25, 2022 at 11:40 AM
    #16
    NickB_01TRD

    NickB_01TRD You don't need less cars, just more driveway.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2021
    Member:
    #64346
    Messages:
    2,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    KY
    Vehicle:
    01 Tundra V8 4X4 AC SR5 TRD
    Yes I would try that first. I agree with that normally but these trucks can be weird. You can hook up HVAC and let it hang out and mount the radio in the brackets with a couple screws and see if anything changes.
     
  17. Sep 25, 2022 at 11:41 AM
    #17
    JROD209

    JROD209 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2022
    Member:
    #83909
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2000 Tundra access cab
    None
    I’ll try that now. Thanks!
     
  18. Sep 25, 2022 at 11:43 AM
    #18
    NickB_01TRD

    NickB_01TRD You don't need less cars, just more driveway.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2021
    Member:
    #64346
    Messages:
    2,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    KY
    Vehicle:
    01 Tundra V8 4X4 AC SR5 TRD
    Snap a few pics of your wiring and such just in case while you're in there.
     
  19. Sep 25, 2022 at 1:12 PM
    #19
    JROD209

    JROD209 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2022
    Member:
    #83909
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2000 Tundra access cab
    None
    I am astonished that the hvac not being hooked up was the issue.. seems like something you’d see on some old British car
     
  20. Sep 25, 2022 at 1:23 PM
    #20
    NickB_01TRD

    NickB_01TRD You don't need less cars, just more driveway.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2021
    Member:
    #64346
    Messages:
    2,214
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Nick
    KY
    Vehicle:
    01 Tundra V8 4X4 AC SR5 TRD
    Something about the way the power/ground gets to the radio. Glad it's all worked out. Hope you'll stick around!
     
    Leo's first likes this.
  21. Sep 26, 2022 at 5:12 AM
    #21
    JROD209

    JROD209 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2022
    Member:
    #83909
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    Silver 2000 Tundra access cab
    None
    I’ve had a few tacomas and a 4runner, but I have to say I really like this first gen tundra. It’s my beater, but probably my favorite vehicle to drive.
     
  22. Apr 25, 2023 at 3:54 PM
    #22
    bassplayerred

    bassplayerred New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2023
    Member:
    #96047
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2000 Tundra SR5
    Hey, all. I just removed the factory amp in my 2000 Tundra and installed a touchscreen JVC HU using what seems to be the correct wiring harnesses. Finally realized that the HVAC controls have to be hooked up for it to power on (wish I would have seen this post first). I found this post bc now I have power but no sound. Again, amp is bypassed/removed. Any ideas why I have no sound? TIA.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top