1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Ditch Light Relay

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Kiddnapped Tundra, Mar 15, 2020.

  1. Mar 15, 2020 at 6:44 AM
    #1
    Kiddnapped Tundra

    Kiddnapped Tundra [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Member:
    #34331
    Messages:
    283
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Grand Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra DC
    I am putting ditch lights and fog lights on my Tundra. The switch has a constent on light. Do I need to put a relay in the harness and tap a ignition on circuit to turn it on so my battery doesn't go dead?
     
  2. Mar 15, 2020 at 7:25 AM
    #2
    Kiddnapped Tundra

    Kiddnapped Tundra [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Member:
    #34331
    Messages:
    283
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Grand Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra DC
    It has 3 wires, power, relay wire and ground. But I am using awww.CH4x4 switch which has 2 lights in it. It turns the first light on though the power wire then has a another light and wire that you tap into your lights to turn on.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2020
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  3. Mar 15, 2020 at 10:41 AM
    #3
    TheBeast

    TheBeast The Beach

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    12,492
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012
    yes use a relay. I use a mix of original BD harness, MIC TUning harness on Amazon (has relay and everything)+ switch itself from ch4x4. has 2 lights as well: one for when in use and one that tap into illumination.
    Mine is ON all the time for the ditch lights, in case i need to illuminate a scene while parked at camp and I don't want to start the truck

    @BlueBottle had good insights as well :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2020
    Kiddnapped Tundra[OP] likes this.
  4. Mar 15, 2020 at 10:50 AM
    #4
    Kiddnapped Tundra

    Kiddnapped Tundra [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Member:
    #34331
    Messages:
    283
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Grand Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra DC
    That is the switch I got. It has the 2 lights, 1 for all the time and 1 for when the lights come on. JUst the light for all the time is on " ALL THE TIME" !!! smh
    I have a nice harness I bought from Walmart that has a relay in it for the lights. But it's switch only has 1 light in it when it is on.

    Likely I have a battery in the basement that I checked it with before putting in my Tundra.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2020
  5. Mar 15, 2020 at 10:53 AM
    #5
    TheBeast

    TheBeast The Beach

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    12,492
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012
    Mountun Goat likes this.
  6. Mar 15, 2020 at 11:09 AM
    #6
    Kiddnapped Tundra

    Kiddnapped Tundra [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Member:
    #34331
    Messages:
    283
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tim
    Grand Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra DC
    It looks like the same harness I got from walmart. your switch light isn't on all the time?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top