1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dash Cam Front + Year - Help

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2022+)' started by alockbox, Mar 6, 2023.

  1. Mar 6, 2023 at 9:26 AM
    #1
    alockbox

    alockbox [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    Member:
    #93266
    Messages:
    7
    I’ve read the various posts about dash cam installs and don’t see one with complete end to end.

    On two previous vehicles I didn’t have very long, I installed two Garmin Minis to use front and rear. They’ve always let me down. Never upload to the vault, never seem to have the recording I want, I’ve had three different SD cards die in them even endurance ones. I decided hesitantly to go with a set like this:
    Vantrue N4 3 Channel 4K Dash Cam
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083V6K8RH

    And the hardwire kit to ensure I get at least a few hours of parking protection:
    X4S https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083XB8T7T

    I’m no stranger to the installs, I’ve done them all myself, but the Garmins were run to the OBD2 port. All I really needed to worry about was fishing the wires. I’ve done light bars and add-ons before that I had to tap into fuses, no big deal.

    But this truck is new, and I’d really like to go about it the smartest way and plan. I have a 1794, hybrid, with the dash cam fuse in the headliner. Is my best option to just posi-tap into that? Any advantages to running another way? The kit comes with four different fuse taps, plenty of cabling, etc.

    I’ve also went ahead and purchased the Dash Cam Store’s short adapter.
    https://www.thedashcamstore.com/custom-folded-bracket-for-secondary-dashcam-lenses/

    While $22 shipped is far more than I wanted to spend, I really don’t have the time right now to pull the gasket and measure + design + 3D print an adapter.

    I’m just looking for the cleanest and smartest way to run these front and rear, and also ensure they are easily removable just in case. And I’d like to try and document the install here as I go. Just waiting on the rear mount to arrive.
     
  2. Mar 6, 2023 at 10:29 AM
    #2
    SecrITSociety

    SecrITSociety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2022
    Member:
    #88711
    Messages:
    127
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2023 Platinum Tundra / Blueprint / 4x4
    I have a Blackvue DR-900x and used the following:

    BlendMount BBV-2000R (Front Camera) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074CNMFK5

    Custom Folded Bracket (Rear Camera) https://www.thedashcamstore.com/custom-folded-bracket-for-secondary-dashcam-lenses/

    Dongar Harness/Adapter so I didn't have to tap the OEM cables, I then taped the ground, switched and constant lines for the Dashcam. Think this was the one, but double check - https://dongar.tech/products/10pin-type-b-lexus-toyota
     
    Corbeano1 likes this.
  3. Mar 6, 2023 at 10:40 AM
    #3
    alockbox

    alockbox [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    Member:
    #93266
    Messages:
    7
    Ok now that is an expensive camera mount!

    Plugging into the mirror / overhead is switched though right? I would lose parking mode, so I most likely need to wire directly to a fuse.
     
  4. Mar 6, 2023 at 11:05 AM
    #4
    SecrITSociety

    SecrITSociety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2022
    Member:
    #88711
    Messages:
    127
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2023 Platinum Tundra / Blueprint / 4x4
    I have tint on my windshield, so it's worth it IMO

    You can put your requested configuration (Switched or Constant) in the comments section of the order, but then you can tap the adapter/harness for the additional cable you need. I ended up tapping all 3 anyhow, the adapter was just so I didn't need to tap/damage the OEM cabling. I have/use parking mode as well without issue.
     
    Corbeano1 likes this.
  5. Mar 6, 2023 at 11:20 AM
    #5
    alockbox

    alockbox [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    Member:
    #93266
    Messages:
    7

    Thanks! My concern is the hardwire kit has a switch on the box that allows low voltage to be selected. Wouldn’t bypassing this be a bad idea, going directly to the headliner harness and opting for non-switched?

    It’s just looking for a constant and a switched fuse. If I went that route, I’d just need to identify the two best fuses.
     
  6. Mar 6, 2023 at 11:24 AM
    #6
    raylo

    raylo not so new member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2021
    Member:
    #68780
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    Frederick, MD
    Vehicle:
    2023 SR5 DC 6.5 bed Lunar Rock, TRD OR +Options
    None
    Not sure there are any "best" fuses to use. I used "Amp1" for the unswitched and "Wipers" for the switched in my Viofo hardwire install.

     
  7. Mar 6, 2023 at 4:48 PM
    #7
    SecrITSociety

    SecrITSociety New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2022
    Member:
    #88711
    Messages:
    127
    Gender:
    Male
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    2023 Platinum Tundra / Blueprint / 4x4
    Not using your hardware kit with switch would be a bad idea if you want to use parking mode, mine is built into the camera and settings so i don't have the same concern.

    If you still want to use the headliner hardness, then pop the hardwire box/switch in the sunglass holder compartment (assuming it fits and you don't use this for another purpose) and you're good to go.
     
  8. Mar 6, 2023 at 5:04 PM
    #8
    alockbox

    alockbox [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    Member:
    #93266
    Messages:
    7
    That’s exactly what I was saying. I think I’m just going to revert to using my Garmin Minis for now. I already have the entire setup, and all I need is the adapter to clip it to the headliner I already ordered. I really just wish they worked better.
     
  9. Mar 7, 2023 at 3:11 AM
    #9
    raylo

    raylo not so new member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2021
    Member:
    #68780
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    Frederick, MD
    Vehicle:
    2023 SR5 DC 6.5 bed Lunar Rock, TRD OR +Options
    None
    Putting in a hardwire kit is a piece of cake. The fuse box is under the passenger side dash, just pop the beauty panel off, insert your fuse taps, pull the pillar trim (pop the plastic caps on the grab handle and remove 10mm bolts) and fish the wires up to the headliner.

     
    Corbeano1 likes this.
  10. Mar 7, 2023 at 3:29 AM
    #10
    alockbox

    alockbox [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    Member:
    #93266
    Messages:
    7
    It was easy, I found the panel and got under there and got the fuse plugged in. It didn’t work not matter what I tried. The kit is defective. Also reviews of the only recommended kit show many people complaining it kills their batteries even though it shouldn’t. Rather than try and return part of the order or risk a dead battery, right now while traveling, I moved my two Garmin Minis to this vehicle. Running the cable to the die of the headliner and down the pillar was same as it has been with any vehicle, surprisingly easy. I plugged it into the Garmin dual USB OBD2 adapter I already had that has settings for switched, something like 8-12 min, and infinite. I ran the second one under the door trim all the way to the back and up the rear. It’s waiting patiently by the back seat headrest for the headliner dash cam adapter to arrive.
     
  11. Mar 7, 2023 at 3:50 AM
    #11
    raylo

    raylo not so new member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2021
    Member:
    #68780
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    Frederick, MD
    Vehicle:
    2023 SR5 DC 6.5 bed Lunar Rock, TRD OR +Options
    None
    Good luck with that. Didn't work for me. Or at least with Viofo.

     
  12. Mar 7, 2023 at 3:53 AM
    #12
    alockbox

    alockbox [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    Member:
    #93266
    Messages:
    7
    Goodluck with what part? Not sure what you’re responding to in that post.
     
  13. Mar 7, 2023 at 4:03 AM
    #13
    raylo

    raylo not so new member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2021
    Member:
    #68780
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    Frederick, MD
    Vehicle:
    2023 SR5 DC 6.5 bed Lunar Rock, TRD OR +Options
    None
    Sorry, I tried the overhead dashcam adapter with my Viofo A229 duo and it rebooted every time the truck did an auto restart after the engine shuts off at a traffic light. The cam would stay on while shutdown, but there is apparently a brief power cut to that circuit whilst the starter is engaged, at least enough to cause the Viofo to reboot. Some folks here with different cams claim not to have that problem. YMMV.

     
  14. Mar 7, 2023 at 4:05 AM
    #14
    alockbox

    alockbox [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2023
    Member:
    #93266
    Messages:
    7
    raylo likes this.
  15. Mar 7, 2023 at 4:46 AM
    #15
    raylo

    raylo not so new member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2021
    Member:
    #68780
    Messages:
    1,863
    Gender:
    Male
    Frederick, MD
    Vehicle:
    2023 SR5 DC 6.5 bed Lunar Rock, TRD OR +Options
    None
    What brand cam do you have that was draining the battery in parking mode? I haven't ever used that feature on mine but might sometime if I park in a sketchy place. IIRC I left the voltage cutoff in a middle position.

     
To Top