1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Computer hard drive question

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Tundra234, Dec 20, 2022.

  1. Dec 20, 2022 at 12:57 PM
    #1
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    Question for you computer guys. My son has an HP Omen gaming desktop that has a 256GB M.2 SSD on the motherboard. I called our local shop and to upgrade it to a 2TB Samsung 970 M.2, it is $225 for the drive and $150 for the installation and transferring everything from the old drive. Does that sound about right or is it easy to transfer everything myself? He said something about it needing to be done a certain way going from one M.2 to another. Thanks
     
  2. Dec 20, 2022 at 1:15 PM
    #2
    Notarobot

    Notarobot Jagged lines!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Member:
    #53937
    Messages:
    318
    Vehicle:
    2013 CM
    Can you provide the motherboard name and model? It's likely to have TWO m.2 slots.
     
  3. Dec 20, 2022 at 1:21 PM
    #3
    Ghost Rider

    Ghost Rider Mods wouldn't be an issue if money wasn't.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2021
    Member:
    #65274
    Messages:
    932
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ian
    Cypress, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2021 White Tundra CM SR5
    970 EVO Plus 2T
    The drive is about $150 +- $20, so $225 is on the high side.
    Transfer, depends on who is doing it, I would say it is not that hard, the basic thing is to get the Windows serial number before transfer as it is better to re-install the whole thing.
    Or, like @Notarobot said, it might have two or more M.2 slots, then just pop another one in there and call it a day....
     
  4. Dec 20, 2022 at 1:37 PM
    #4
    thumper_racer

    thumper_racer Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Member:
    #8741
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    TN
    Vehicle:
    2012 MGM Rock Warrior
    This should be pretty easy to do, especially if there is a 2nd M.2 slot on the motherboard. If not, no big deal, just buy one of these: https://www.amazon.com/ORICO-NVMe-E...eywords=m2+usb+adapter&qid=1671571962&sr=8-18 and put the new drive in there. Download Macrium Reflect (https://www.macrium.com/reflectfree#) on the machine and install it; run the program and connect your new drive. You will basically be cloning the old drive to the new one, doesn't matter if the new one is bigger. Once finished, disconnect the drive, power the machine down, swap the drives and power it back on.
     
    BlueCrushSC16 and soholingo like this.
  5. Dec 20, 2022 at 1:41 PM
    #5
    Sundog

    Sundog Zoom Zoom

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Member:
    #38050
    Messages:
    1,124
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    MNSP
    Vehicle:
    2014 Red CM Tundra
    If it doesn't (have 2 M.2 slots on the motherboard) you can get a M.2 adapter PCI daughter board adapter for the desktop (cheap), install it and use a program to mirror/clone your current m.2 hard drive to the new one. Swap the drives out and you are good to go.
    Can also do the same thing with an external m.2 case/enclosure and just hook it up to USB C or a standard USB port instead of the PCI daughter board adapter.

    Now that being said, If it were me I would save ALL data to an external drive. Take out old M.2, put in new M.2 and reinstall the operating system/drivers/programs from scratch.
     
  6. Dec 20, 2022 at 1:51 PM
    #6
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    I'm looking through the specs to find it. The computer itself is the Omen 25L GT12-0xxx
     
  7. Dec 20, 2022 at 1:51 PM
    #7
    bfunke

    bfunke Tundra Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Member:
    #37321
    Messages:
    1,521
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR-5 CM 5.7, 2000 SR-5 AC 4.7L
    Depends how computer savvy you are. If your MB has two m.2 slots use the 256GB one for the OS and the new one for data. If you old SSD is a SATA drive and you only have on M.2 then you want to use that for the OS as it’s faster. You can then put data on SATA SSDs or HDDs. If moving the OS to new drive you should either create an image using free macro um reflect or similar. Alternatively you can do clean install but you’ll have to reinstall any programs and be sure to backup any files and settings. If you have mult drives be sure to only connect the boot drive when doing a clean install as Win will sometime span the boot sector across multiple drives and then if you remove one it might not boot. Before you start make sure your version of Win 10/11 has a digital license or you have the product key from the sticker. MS doesn’t advertise it but upgrades to W10/11 are still free if you have either Win 7 key or digital license.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2022
  8. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:02 PM
    #8
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    Is this it?

    Compress_20221220_170126_6413.jpg
     
  9. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:10 PM
    #9
    Sundog

    Sundog Zoom Zoom

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2019
    Member:
    #38050
    Messages:
    1,124
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    MNSP
    Vehicle:
    2014 Red CM Tundra
    Post pictures of the mother board if you can. Look for the current HD and if there is a second slot.

    upload_2022-12-20_16-10-38.jpg
     
  10. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:13 PM
    #10
    bfunke

    bfunke Tundra Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Member:
    #37321
    Messages:
    1,521
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR-5 CM 5.7, 2000 SR-5 AC 4.7L
    You tube has several videos how to install M.2 in HP Omen 25L/30L. Also tenforums.com has good tutorials for making backups and images
     
  11. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:13 PM
    #11
    Notarobot

    Notarobot Jagged lines!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Member:
    #53937
    Messages:
    318
    Vehicle:
    2013 CM
    It looks like the 25L only has 1 m.2 slot. It would be easier and cheaper to add a 2.5" or 3.5" SSD via the sata ports and use it as a storage device. (It might need to be activated in device manager.)
     
    bfunke likes this.
  12. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:14 PM
    #12
    bfunke

    bfunke Tundra Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Member:
    #37321
    Messages:
    1,521
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR-5 CM 5.7, 2000 SR-5 AC 4.7L
    Post some pics of your MoBo and we can advise
     
  13. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:15 PM
    #13
    Danimal86

    Danimal86 Looks clean even when its dirty!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    4,749
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tundra SR5
    Samsung provides a nice cloning software if you new drive is Samsung branded.
     
  14. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:20 PM
    #14
    1lowlife

    1lowlife Toxic prick and pavement princess..

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Member:
    #3296
    Messages:
    8,554
    First Name:
    DADA
    THE GREAT STATE OF TEXAS
    Vehicle:
    2014 MGM DC SR5
    If you don't have your Windows key, you can possibly find it using option 3

    3 simple ways to find your Windows 10 product key | TechRepublic

    My garage computer recently crashed and I reinstalled Windows 10 using the key on my office PC.
    It took a few tries but it finally installed and it works now..

    From the article..

    3. Registry File
    As you might imagine, the product key is stored in the Windows 10 Registry File, so it is possible to find the code there if you know the right key. Type “regedit” into the Windows 10 desktop search and select the appropriate item in the results. Navigate to this key:

    ComputerHKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindows NTCurrentVersionSoftwareProtectionPlatform
    As you can see in Figure C, the BackupProductKeyDefault key will reveal a valid Windows 10 product key.

    Figure C


    [​IMG]
     
  15. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:33 PM
    #15
    bfunke

    bfunke Tundra Curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Member:
    #37321
    Messages:
    1,521
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bryan
    South Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR-5 CM 5.7, 2000 SR-5 AC 4.7L
    If you have a digital activation you don’t need a key and can skip that during a clean install
     
    1lowlife likes this.
  16. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:37 PM
    #16
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    There is a Sata SSD as well that is about 3/4 full. It's a 460GB. How does his games and stuff store on a secondary drive? He does games like Roblox and games from Steam.
     
  17. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:38 PM
    #17
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    It was a used machine when we bought it from a computer place.
     
  18. Dec 20, 2022 at 2:45 PM
    #18
    Notarobot

    Notarobot Jagged lines!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Member:
    #53937
    Messages:
    318
    Vehicle:
    2013 CM
    The system should be capable of holding 3 physical drives total. The m.2, 2.5" sata, 3.5" sata. If it only has 2 drives currently, then you can add a third drive and quadruple the storage space for the same price as the 2tb m.2 option.

    As far as storing on a new drive- once it's set up (super easy!) It's the exact same as saving to a USB or new file location. Instead of saving to the C: drive, you can save to the [letter]: drive.

    I'm on mobile, I'll fire up my rig and take some photos. In the mean time take the side pan off his and show us the guts.
     
  19. Dec 20, 2022 at 3:06 PM
    #19
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    Thanks. I'll get some pics in an hour or so when I get home. Yeah I wasn't sure how the game patches and that type of thing are downloaded and where they save at. I just know that the 2nd drive has alot of stuff on it as well.
     
  20. Dec 20, 2022 at 3:23 PM
    #20
    IowaGuy

    IowaGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2021
    Member:
    #69167
    Messages:
    933
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Arizona by way of Iowa
    Vehicle:
    2019 SR5 upgrade MGM
    In Process
    Try cloning the old drive to the new one. There are a couple freebies like Macrium to do the job.
     
  21. Dec 20, 2022 at 3:41 PM
    #21
    Notarobot

    Notarobot Jagged lines!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Member:
    #53937
    Messages:
    318
    Vehicle:
    2013 CM

    I can't provide pics of the hard drives. I didn't realize my drives were hidden. (It's a new build.) After Steam updates I'll show you how to direct downloads.
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  22. Dec 20, 2022 at 3:42 PM
    #22
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    Thank you for your help.
     
  23. Dec 20, 2022 at 4:18 PM
    #23
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    Compress_20221220_191741_1669.jpg Compress_20221220_191741_1457.jpg Compress_20221220_191741_1248.jpg Compress_20221220_191741_1055.jpg
     
  24. Dec 20, 2022 at 4:20 PM
    #24
    Notarobot

    Notarobot Jagged lines!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Member:
    #53937
    Messages:
    318
    Vehicle:
    2013 CM
    Open steam> extreme top left corner click "steam"
    20221220_185945.jpg

    It makes a drop down.

    Go down to "settings".

    Opens a new window. On the left options, go to "downloads".
    20221220_190042.jpg
    The right frame of the window switches. The very top buttom should say "Steam Library Folder". Click it. It'll open a new window to the Storage Manager.
    20221220_190140.jpg

    You'll see the "local drive (c:) at the top and a second button with a +. This will let you add a second Steam folder without disrupting the existing files.
     
  25. Dec 20, 2022 at 5:02 PM
    #25
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    Thank you for uploading this. Now I'll just have to figure out what I want to do. I'll have to see what he is putting on the 2nd drive.
     
    Notarobot[QUOTED] likes this.
  26. Dec 20, 2022 at 5:11 PM
    #26
    Notarobot

    Notarobot Jagged lines!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Member:
    #53937
    Messages:
    318
    Vehicle:
    2013 CM
    The etching on the lower left of the m.2 drive is the motherboard model.
    Dorado 4L Rev A.

    I have to ask... what are his game interests? Is the new drive strictly for storage, or for performance improvements? How long have you had the computer?
     
  27. Dec 20, 2022 at 5:12 PM
    #27
    Notarobot

    Notarobot Jagged lines!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Member:
    #53937
    Messages:
    318
    Vehicle:
    2013 CM
    You're welcome! I can't contribute much to the tundies, but I'm still somewhat useful!
     
    NewImprovedRon likes this.
  28. Dec 20, 2022 at 5:17 PM
    #28
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    He got it for Christmas last year. He mainly plays Roblox and Rocket League but has a few other Steam games. He just asked for a bigger drive because it was getting full.
     
  29. Dec 20, 2022 at 5:28 PM
    #29
    Notarobot

    Notarobot Jagged lines!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Member:
    #53937
    Messages:
    318
    Vehicle:
    2013 CM
    Definitely just add the 3rd drive. You'll see 2 slots (looks to be vertical on his rig) if you press the pins and there's a thin plastic "guide" and the driver's about 4" wide, it's the 3.5" drive. If you pull it and it's the same width but the "guide" is thicker and the physical drive is only 3" wide it'll be the 2.5" drive.
    From the photos you loaded, it looks like the 2.5" is installed. Triple check though.
     
  30. Dec 20, 2022 at 5:34 PM
    #30
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    16,309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra DC SR5 Barcelona
    Alot of them
    Yeah I'll have to ask him again. I can put a 3rd drive in and show him how to select it as a download location if that's all he needs. It's a much cheaper route as well.
     
To Top