1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2019 Tundra TPMS good surprise

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Peteway, Jun 19, 2020.

  1. Jun 19, 2020 at 4:44 PM
    #1
    Peteway

    Peteway [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    Member:
    #26349
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 5.7 CrewMax 4x4
    I just finished putting some new wheels and tires on my 2019 SR5. Before I left to go to the dealership to get the new TPMS sensors programmed in I decided to try the TPMS relearn procedure. To my surprise, it worked.

    It went through the recalibrating screen for a bit and said don't turn off the vehicle. That was actually the evening before I was going to bring it in. At that point, it hadn't picked up the new sensors, but the "don't turn off your vehicle" message went away. The next morning on the way to the dealership after a few minutes on the road all the sensors connected.

    I was shocked. From everything I've read this shouldn't have worked! Either way, I'm happy and saved some money.

    The wheels and tires (and sensors) came from Custom Offsets if anyone was wondering.

    Here's an obligatory pic of my ride..

    ACtC-3dbFxo8M9JkTbe9yMuhQ4egPlDN_Fqvg3Vj_6b1d22a874ca9499035d0efff03b2bd06f4ce3a6.jpg
     
  2. Jun 19, 2020 at 6:22 PM
    #2
    rebmo

    rebmo 2020 Crewmax Limited 4wd Silver/Black

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Member:
    #827
    Messages:
    409
    Gender:
    Male
    Rural SE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2020 CM LImited 5.7L V8 4WD
    So are these new TPMS sensors? OEM sensors or aftermarket? Did you just follow the relearn procedure in the OM?
    I have a winter set of 18" rims Michelin tires for my 2020 and believe I need new TPMS sensors that will be recognized by my 2020.
    If I can switch wheels without a Techstream entry of the TPMS IDs that would be awesome!
     
  3. Jun 19, 2020 at 6:45 PM
    #3
    Peteway

    Peteway [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2019
    Member:
    #26349
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2019 5.7 CrewMax 4x4

    They are new. I have no idea what brand they are. I got the tires mounted and balanced with the new sensors shipped to me.

    Yes, I just did the relearn procedure. I was shocked. You might want to reach out to Custom Offsets and ask them what kind of sensors they use. They told me before they shipped that they should link up no problem. I don't know if that was just salesman speak or if they honestly generally have good luck with our vehicles.
     
  4. Jun 19, 2020 at 7:03 PM
    #4
    Redcon41318

    Redcon41318 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2020
    Member:
    #44790
    Messages:
    477
    I always liked those method wheels on tundras
     
  5. Jun 19, 2020 at 8:00 PM
    #5
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    The correct sensors for the 2020 with push start/smart key are 42607-06030. I just installed a set into my old 18” TRD off-road wheels. I programmed them in with Techstream, because I tried the reset button on the dash and it didn’t work for me. However, after reading this post and reviewing the owners manual again I think I discovered my error. Apparently the reset button serves two purposes depending on how you push it. I’m not certain, but when I tried it I’m pretty sure I was “initializing” it and not “ registering ID’s. I might have to swap my stock wheels back on and try it again to see if the id’s on the 20 can be swapped without Techstream. If that’s the case, I bought a Techstream cable for nothing.

    0D071204-C826-42D6-B399-3EA10F894E2B.jpg
    A5C21D53-57F1-4493-81AB-C7FD3789BA54.jpg
     
  6. Jul 11, 2020 at 1:48 PM
    #6
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC


    Just want to update my post for future reference. I too was able to program in new TPMS sensors using the reset button on the dash successfully without the use of Techstream on my 2020 TRD Sport with push start
     
    YardBird and rebmo like this.
  7. Jul 21, 2020 at 7:52 AM
    #7
    East Coast Jay

    East Coast Jay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2020
    Member:
    #49647
    Messages:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jay
    Vehicle:
    2020 Tundra TRD Sport
    Hey thomasbus337 - were you using Toyota genuine sensors or were you able to register and inmate aftermarket sensors on your 2020 TRD Sport? Thx
     
  8. Jul 21, 2020 at 8:33 AM
    #8
    thomasbus337

    thomasbus337 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Member:
    #9396
    Messages:
    648
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Sport DC
    I used oem Toyota sensors, but you can search for PMV-C015 and find other brands. Just be careful on EBay using the Toyota number. There are a few sellers passing off C010’s under the correct Toyota number
     
    This site contains affiliate links for which the site may be compensated.
    #8
  9. Oct 10, 2020 at 6:07 PM
    #9
    rebmo

    rebmo 2020 Crewmax Limited 4wd Silver/Black

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Member:
    #827
    Messages:
    409
    Gender:
    Male
    Rural SE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2020 CM LImited 5.7L V8 4WD
    Just confirmed the 3X push on the TPMS button registers the PMV-C015 TPMS sensors I installed on my winter set of wheels. This is a great feature, no more having to register wheels (tpms sensor IDs) with Techstream each time you swap. Toyota should advertise this. So easy.
     
  10. Oct 11, 2020 at 5:12 AM
    #10
    mgxsequioa

    mgxsequioa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Member:
    #21565
    Messages:
    294
    It worked! I was able to push the TPMS button three times, drive 5 miles and the new to me tires are now registered! This forum just saved me a little bit of money..but more importantly the TIME it would have taken me to run to either the dealership or a tire center to set them for me.

    THANK YOU!
     
  11. Oct 11, 2020 at 5:22 AM
    #11
    GODZILLA

    GODZILLA Hail to the King, Baby.

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Member:
    #35514
    Messages:
    28,890
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Adam
    Wyoming
    Vehicle:
    2023 TRD Pro TACOMA, 2019 Super Tenere
    Trying not to mod it
    Perhaps this should be stickied so any who don't know this can save some dollars? @T-Rex266 @ColoradoTJ
     
    T-Rex266 likes this.
  12. Oct 11, 2020 at 5:26 AM
    #12
    glowblue

    glowblue From time to time

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2019
    Member:
    #28267
    Messages:
    1,941
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    VA
    Vehicle:
    2021 Tundra SR5 —> 2021 F-250 XLT
    Really good info, It never ceases to amaze me the things you find by reading the manual!
     
  13. Oct 11, 2020 at 6:04 AM
    #13
    Kanobi13

    Kanobi13 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Member:
    #13944
    Messages:
    1,259
    Gender:
    Male
    Right
     
    glowblue[QUOTED] likes this.
  14. Oct 11, 2020 at 6:59 AM
    #14
    mgxsequioa

    mgxsequioa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Member:
    #21565
    Messages:
    294
    Sad thing is I read the manual and didnt drive far enough before doubting my interpretation. I then found bad information confirming my doubts on youtube....
     
    glowblue[QUOTED] likes this.
  15. Oct 11, 2020 at 7:39 AM
    #15
    knoxville36

    knoxville36 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Member:
    #23098
    Messages:
    1,440
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Knoxville, TN
    Vehicle:
    2024 GMC Sierra 1500 Elevation w/3.0 Duramax
    I am not familiar with past years, but I admit that I have no clue what people are talking about as far as having to use Techstream. I swapped some TRD Off-Road runs and tires that was on my buddy's truck with mine on my platinum for a week to see the ride difference of the 18" rims. His was a 2017.

    All I did was to go into the vehicle settings and found the calibration settings. You have a choice between recalibration of GPS or TPMS. Choose TPMS and it relearned the new sensors no problem.

    We swapped tires back the next week and did the same thing and it relearned the proper sensors again?

    Family friend owns a tire shop and he said he has never ever had to reprogram a new TPMS in any Toyota vehicle and he has been open since 1992?
     
    ronh likes this.
  16. Sep 11, 2021 at 5:59 PM
    #16
    1bad10tacoma

    1bad10tacoma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Member:
    #21038
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tundra
  17. Sep 19, 2021 at 11:44 AM
    #17
    1bad10tacoma

    1bad10tacoma New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2018
    Member:
    #21038
    Messages:
    40
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Vehicle:
    2019 Tundra
    I have a 2019 sr5 Tundra with key start that I pulled the steelies off 3 years ago and put some TRD off roads on. I ran it without monitors since they don't fit the new rims. I am needing new tires soon so I figured I would try some new monitors and this method above worked. I installed them and drove the truck about a mile and they registered the pressures on the dash. I'm stoked that I didn't need the dealer to scan them in . These are the part numbers I used on my truck.Thanks for the help.image.jpg
     
    BajaTurd, TRDblvd and splitfuse like this.
  18. Sep 19, 2021 at 9:40 PM
    #18
    ronh

    ronh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2021
    Member:
    #67652
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Mesa, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 4x4
    I recently swapped my steel wheels for some trd pro wheels I found a good deal on. I purchased new Toyota tpms sensors and had them installed in the new wheels. It was a simple process to get the truck to recognize and read the new sensors following the directions from the manual. Just held the tire pressure reset button down for three seconds and then drove a few miles and that was it.
     
    1bad10tacoma likes this.
  19. Sep 30, 2021 at 10:45 PM
    #19
    French Avocado

    French Avocado Double Entundra

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2020
    Member:
    #45583
    Messages:
    1,466
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Utah / Wyo
    Vehicle:
    2020 Platinum MGM; 2008 Ltd TRD SRP
    I have the OEM -0C091 sensors but cannot get the 2020 Smart key Tundra to recognize them. BBS forged TRD wheels. Three pushes of the button, it says calibrating and then never finishes and the TPMS light remains on. Are these the wrong sensors?
     
  20. Oct 1, 2021 at 7:51 AM
    #20
    ronh

    ronh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2021
    Member:
    #67652
    Messages:
    11
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Mesa, Arizona
    Vehicle:
    2018 Tundra 4x4
    If I remember right I held the button down for three seconds, rather than pushing the button three times. I think pushing the button three times sets the baseline air pressure. Holding the button for 3 seconds is what is needed for the system to search for the new sensors.
     
  21. Jul 17, 2022 at 7:52 PM
    #21
    cavalry bear

    cavalry bear New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2019
    Member:
    #34051
    Messages:
    15
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cavalry
    Vehicle:
    2019 Limited Tundra
    None Yet
    Thanks for the post, I will try this myself tomorrow, I got the BH Sens BAOFENG TPMS sensors on 37s (the orange ones).

    They were preprogrammed for my 2019 Crewman Limited, so based on your expoerience this should work.


    EDIT OCT14th 2023: With my aforementioned aftermarket TPMS sensors and the quickly press (not hold) 3 times method works to re-register ID codes.

    It seems that the Tundra can only remember 4 ID codes at the same time, so I have to do this process and drive about 10+ miles on the highway (little to no traffic) every time I do my 5 tire rotation.

    Anyone else doing a 5 tire rotation should know that you can't have the 5th tire in the bed during re-registering ID codes of the sensors. Leave the 5th spare in the garage, the Tundra gets confused and will continue to error out and never show pressures.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2023

Products Discussed in

To Top