1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

UltraGauge or ScanGauge in 2nd gen?

Discussion in '2nd Gen Tundras (2007-2013)' started by DVYota, Jun 28, 2016.

  1. Jun 28, 2016 at 7:45 AM
    #1
    DVYota

    DVYota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Member:
    #3492
    Messages:
    2,087
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2008 IS350 RWD/ 2014 Sequoia 4x4 5.7
    Mostly stock
    Anybody running either ScanGauge or UltraGauge in a 2nd gen tundra? I want to be able to track my MPGs, read specific trans and engine temp, and more. I ran an UltraGauge in my Tacoma and should have removed it before trading the truck in. Thanks.
     
  2. Jun 28, 2016 at 7:51 AM
    #2
    scotch

    scotch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Member:
    #3103
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra
    2010 Tundra Method 20x9 Fat Fives 18offset, 305/55/20 Duratracs, Bilstein 6112/5160, SPC/LR Upper Control Arms, TRD Rear Swaybar, OME/Dakar leafs with CB +1 Shackles, Husky Weatherbeaters, Du-Ha, Extang Solid Fold, Line-X, Toyota Bed Mat, Stoptech Cryo Rotors and pads, Goodridge brake lines, Stoptech STR-660, Rigid Fog Lights, Odyssey Battery, Firestone Airbags with CB spacer, etc, etc... Previous Toyota's: 97 4runner, 02 tacoma, 09 tacoma
    I have a ultragauge in my tooldbox from when I had a 2009 tacoma, I'll plug it into my 2010 tundra today sometime and see what it does
     
    DVYota [OP] likes this.
  3. Jun 28, 2016 at 8:05 AM
    #3
    DVYota

    DVYota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Member:
    #3492
    Messages:
    2,087
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2008 IS350 RWD/ 2014 Sequoia 4x4 5.7
    Mostly stock
    Awesome thanks!
     
  4. Jun 28, 2016 at 9:27 AM
    #4
    TheBeast

    TheBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    3,480
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012 CM 4x4 TRD
    Kings, TC, Deaver, Toyo
  5. Jun 28, 2016 at 9:54 AM
    #5
    DVYota

    DVYota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Member:
    #3492
    Messages:
    2,087
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2008 IS350 RWD/ 2014 Sequoia 4x4 5.7
    Mostly stock
    Waiting for the outcome too?
     
    TheBeast likes this.
  6. Jun 28, 2016 at 9:55 AM
    #6
    TheBeast

    TheBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    3,480
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012 CM 4x4 TRD
    Kings, TC, Deaver, Toyo
    yes, I have been looking at similar products.
     
  7. Jun 28, 2016 at 10:20 AM
    #7
    DVYota

    DVYota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Member:
    #3492
    Messages:
    2,087
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2008 IS350 RWD/ 2014 Sequoia 4x4 5.7
    Mostly stock
    I ran an UltraGauge in my 2005 Tacoma, it was amazing... Just not sure if it was compatible with tundra or what it would show. I don't have any of the MPG tracking or anything in my Tundra and want to know real time numbers and data. For the price, I feel like the UltraGauge is he best deal if it will work
     
  8. Jun 28, 2016 at 10:24 AM
    #8
    TheBeast

    TheBeast New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Member:
    #3246
    Messages:
    3,480
    Gender:
    Male
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2012 CM 4x4 TRD
    Kings, TC, Deaver, Toyo
    it should work in any cars if it reads OBD II data.
     
    RowdyRon likes this.
  9. Jun 28, 2016 at 11:44 AM
    #9
    scotch

    scotch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Member:
    #3103
    Messages:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra
    2010 Tundra Method 20x9 Fat Fives 18offset, 305/55/20 Duratracs, Bilstein 6112/5160, SPC/LR Upper Control Arms, TRD Rear Swaybar, OME/Dakar leafs with CB +1 Shackles, Husky Weatherbeaters, Du-Ha, Extang Solid Fold, Line-X, Toyota Bed Mat, Stoptech Cryo Rotors and pads, Goodridge brake lines, Stoptech STR-660, Rigid Fog Lights, Odyssey Battery, Firestone Airbags with CB spacer, etc, etc... Previous Toyota's: 97 4runner, 02 tacoma, 09 tacoma
    Here's pics of it installed and the available gauges I got... The orange thing on my screen is some chemical I spilled on it at some point years ago...

    I did notice that the "obd/ultragauge" battery voltage is wrong/low compared to what it really is measured by a fluke and solar meters....

    IMG_4202.jpg IMG_4204.jpg IMG_4205.jpg IMG_4206.jpg IMG_4207.jpg IMG_4208.jpg IMG_4209.jpg IMG_4210.jpg IMG_4211.jpg IMG_4212.jpg IMG_4213.jpg IMG_4214.jpg IMG_4215.jpg IMG_4216.jpg IMG_4217.jpg IMG_4218.jpg IMG_4219.jpg IMG_4220.jpg IMG_4221.jpg

    Actual battery voltage:
    IMG_4222.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2016
    RowdyRon and BlueBottle like this.
  10. Jun 28, 2016 at 11:53 AM
    #10
    DVYota

    DVYota [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Member:
    #3492
    Messages:
    2,087
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle:
    2008 IS350 RWD/ 2014 Sequoia 4x4 5.7
    Mostly stock
    Awesome! Thank you!
     
  11. Jun 28, 2016 at 4:05 PM
    #11
    2011_Limited_tundra

    2011_Limited_tundra BOOM!!!!! That just happened....

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1805
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Erik
    Bay Area
    Vehicle:
    02 Cummins
    Leveling kit 35s on 20s
    I've got one in my truck and I like it... Helps me keep track of more parameters for my truck image.jpg
     
    DVYota [OP] likes this.
  12. Jun 29, 2016 at 3:39 PM
    #12
    matluth

    matluth Winning!!!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Member:
    #378
    Messages:
    9,325
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2007 Slate Metallic 5.7L Tundra DC SR5 4X4
    18"X9" FN BFD's rims, 295/70R/18E Cooper Discoverer STT Pro's, and S/T Maxx's, upgraded to Old Man EMU coil-overs/shocks. Toytec shackles. Custom dual true dual exhaust. Next...new UCA's.
    Very high on my list. Well worth the money.
     
  13. Nov 7, 2017 at 7:10 PM
    #13
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle not a PRO

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    2,531
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    See fine print
  14. Nov 7, 2017 at 8:24 PM
    #14
    nuclearlemon

    nuclearlemon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Member:
    #8631
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Female
    Vehicle:
    2012 dc
    got one on my dash
     
    BlueBottle likes this.
  15. Nov 7, 2017 at 8:34 PM
    #15
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle not a PRO

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    2,531
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    See fine print
    Post a picture of it.. what do you monitor with it?
     
  16. Nov 8, 2017 at 3:22 AM
    #16
    andy9743

    andy9743 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2016
    Member:
    #4466
    Messages:
    199
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    andrew
    Vehicle:
    08 tundra cm 4x4
    I run an ug. Happy with it. Wish I could get trans temp tho.
     
    BlueBottle likes this.
  17. Nov 9, 2017 at 9:57 AM
    #17
    2015_Nova_Taco

    2015_Nova_Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Member:
    #9935
    Messages:
    13
    My Tundra has a gauge for the trans temp (not the exact number of course) and tells me the MPG from the Info button by the clock. I haven't hooked up my Scanguage as a result. Do not all Gen2 Tundras have these features? I was thinking of selling off my Scanguage.
     
  18. Nov 11, 2017 at 4:39 PM
    #18
    nuclearlemon

    nuclearlemon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Member:
    #8631
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Female
    Vehicle:
    2012 dc
    never changed it from where i had it set in my 95 land cruiser. av miles, realtime miles, temp and volt. someday, maybe i'll change it up ;)
    20171111_162930.jpg
     
    BlueBottle likes this.
  19. Nov 11, 2017 at 4:57 PM
    #19
    tts-355

    tts-355 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Member:
    #2545
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2012 Tacoma DCLB TRD Sport 4x4
    I may be wrong but I think your going to have some voltage drop from the battery to the gauge. Your voltage has to run through your battery cables to the ECU then to the OBDII port, then through that connection through the UG harness. I’d be willing to bet that a loss of a few tenths of a volt is normal. Just my thought though
     
    nuclearlemon likes this.
  20. Nov 11, 2017 at 5:56 PM
    #20
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle not a PRO

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    2,531
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    See fine print
    Thanks. How accurate Is the avg mpg on that compared to cluster and by hand?
     
  21. Nov 11, 2017 at 6:51 PM
    #21
    chphilo

    chphilo Tundra addict

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Member:
    #774
    Messages:
    2,043
    Gender:
    Male
    Western PA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Toyota Tundra TRD 5.7 4x4 CM
    I think this was one of the things Toyota 'improved' with 3rd gen (or 2.5 gen). They took away transmission fluid temperature gauge.
     
  22. Nov 13, 2017 at 8:32 AM
    #22
    Bpowa

    Bpowa New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2017
    Member:
    #10499
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    I had one for my 4runner.. But removed it. Its somewhere in Storage. I may have it for sale if anyone is interested. Only used it for a couple months. Perfect condition when I put it away.
     
  23. Nov 13, 2017 at 9:14 AM
    #23
    nuclearlemon

    nuclearlemon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Member:
    #8631
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Female
    Vehicle:
    2012 dc
    haven't done hard comparison by my info, but seems close enough. i don't have the magic buttons to read the computer measurements
     
    BlueBottle likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top