1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS after a tire rotation

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by zeke7681, Jan 31, 2019.

  1. Jan 31, 2019 at 4:50 AM
    #1
    zeke7681

    zeke7681 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Member:
    #15086
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Zeke
    PA
    Vehicle:
    2018 Black TRD Sport CM
    I have a 2018 and was wonder how the Tire Pressure on my dash knows where each tire is after a tire rotation (just had a 5k checkup) . Do you have to reprogram it after a rotation or does it know somehow?
     
    jeremyd likes this.
  2. Jan 31, 2019 at 5:40 AM
    #2
    TundraMcGov.

    TundraMcGov. Your friend. Your foe. Not yo Ho.

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Member:
    #22089
    Messages:
    356
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jofus
    Burpinham, Babalama
    Vehicle:
    2017 Super White DC 4X4 Tundra
    Tire Pressure Monitoring Systems (TPMS) were created by The Russians. They just know after you rotate. They're smart like that. Nuttin' else for yooz to dooz. Good to go Bro.

    You can also rotate the tires and go inside and say out loud "Alexa, I rotated the tires on the 2018 Tundra." Same effect.
     
  3. Feb 23, 2019 at 7:27 AM
    #3
    SYRTundra315

    SYRTundra315 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #25856
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Vehicle:
    2019 Super White Tundra CrewMax Platinum
    OEM nerf bars, BakFlip MX4, BedRug, VLED interior lights and license plate bulbs, JDM Astar turn signal and reverse bulbs.
    In all seriousness, the manual (pg 497 for my 2019) says to re initialize the TPMS system after you rotate. Since that procedure requires a 10-30min drive each time I suspect that this never happens. It would mean every 5k miles you have go through that process which is absurd.

    So, when you rotate tires yourself, does the system display the correct tire pressure at each location? Or are they wrong on the individual pressure display?

    Never had a system that shows each reading before and I am curious like the OP is.
     
  4. Apr 15, 2019 at 9:53 AM
    #4
    DividedSky

    DividedSky New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2017
    Member:
    #10993
    Messages:
    476
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    Vehicle:
    '18 Crewmax - ADS Mid Travel
    ADS 2.5's (rear bypass) U748 Leaf Springs
    BUMP.... Curious about this as well. How does the system know where each tire is?
     

Products Discussed in

To Top