1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tow hitch angle safety

Discussion in 'Towing & Hauling' started by tahoetrails, Mar 20, 2019.

1. Mar 20, 2019 at 11:35 AM
    tahoetrails

tahoetrails [OP] New Member

Member:
    Ive got a question for you guys/gals that have years of towing experience. I have been towing for work for the last 3 years. Logged quite a few miles with a 3 types of trailers. Ranging from 1,500lbs to 8,500lbs.

So my question here is, Is it ok to have the hitch be at a slight downward angle? I've done quite a bit of reading on this, and have gotten mixed responses. Obviously having a level hitch is the answer, but having it be slightly down cause any real safety issues?

Let me know what you guys think, I can have it redone, but honestly I would like to be finished with installing and taking off and painting the bumper.

4FD9C6D7-2376-44F9-B5CF-2C9491EA9399.jpg

2. Mar 20, 2019 at 11:51 AM
    bradleykd

bradleykd New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Brad
    Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited-BLACK
    It's not ideal, but safer than that jack stand setting....

3. Mar 20, 2019 at 11:53 AM
    15whtrd

15whtrd Mr. Blonde

Member:
    First Name:
    Sean
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    White 2015 Tundra DC SR5 TRD 4x4 5.7L, White 2003 Sequoia 2WD