1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Talking to truckers; car-to-car comms

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by CallsignKodiak, Oct 2, 2021.

1. Oct 2, 2021 at 8:56 PM
    CallsignKodiak

CallsignKodiak [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Bear
    Iiawah
    Vehicle:
    2021 CrewMax 4x4
    Bone stock
    Read with interest the Two-Way Radios thread.

Then remembered I was a trucker 25 years ago for ~ two years and got to thinking about some road trips coming up. Fan of GMRS here and I'm a ham too, but I would like to know what the big rigs are using these days most often for vehicle-to-vehicle comms. Likewise, what are Tundra owners using for car2car comms?

The Zello app holds a lot of promise in the two way communication space, but you pretty much have to know someone else using it and then connect like you were on a Nextel phone. Doesn't work if you're trying to talk to the lady in the car in front of you that just cut you off bigtime.

CB used to be really annoying back in the day on 17/19, especially in the cities or around truckstops. Maybe it's better these days, but I really doubt it. I can dig out my old Cobra 19 CB radio and build a box to mount it in or on, but not if noone uses CB on the road.

Fwiw, handheld CB's are more worthless than 1/2 watt FRS radios. Lesson learned on those long ago.

Last edited: Oct 2, 2021
    Tundra2 likes this.
  2. Oct 3, 2021 at 2:52 AM
    Tundra2

Tundra2 Zoinked

Member:
    First Name:
    Noah
    Western Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    '00 Tundra V8 SR5 '03 Corolla Virus