1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Shifting in and out of 4WD

Discussion in '2.5 Gen Tundras (2014-2021)' started by CreekDweller, Nov 28, 2019.

1. Nov 28, 2019 at 5:34 AM
    CreekDweller

CreekDweller [OP] Not so new ...

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2020 MGM 1794 TRD Off-Road
    I'm new to 4WD and I did read the manual, but I still have a question.

The manual says I can shift from 2WD to 4WD hi at speeds up to 62mph -- that's clear enough, but it only refers to making this shift in a moving vehicle. It's not clear to me whether making this shift into 4WD hi must be made with the truck moving or if I can do it while it is stopped. What's the answer to that?

Also, going the other way from 4WD to 2WD, can that be done at a stop or does the truck have to be underway?

Happy Thanksgiving guys.

2. Nov 28, 2019 at 5:55 AM
    Black Wolf

Black Wolf Bigfoot Hunter, Sasquatch too, but not Yeti

Member:
    First Name:
    Matt
    Aurora CO
    Vehicle:
    2022 Nissan Frontier SV 4X4
    TuwaPro rack, Z1 Offroad stuff, NISMO suspension stuff, FlowmasterFX Extreme exhaust, AIS, OVS, J&L can, other goodies on the way
    Moving or stopped when switching from 4HI Always stop when shifting into 4LO

Sonicbluerider likes this.
  3. Nov 28, 2019 at 6:10 AM
    CreekDweller

Member:
    Vehicle:
    Great. Thanks.

4. Nov 28, 2019 at 6:20 AM
    Johnsonman

Johnsonman New Member

Member:
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    Sequoia
    LED headlamps/fogs; interior footlamps.