1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Replaced JBL Entune Premium

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Slick McFavorite, Aug 8, 2018.

  1. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:11 PM
    #1
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Hey guys, well I just replaced the Factory JBL Entune Premium HU from my 2014 Platinum. The new Kenwood 9905s that's in there now sounds pretty damn nice! Anyone have an idea what the factory HU is worth? Haven't seen a lot of the JBL Premiums for sale in the Marketplace section. Not a ton of them on eBay.
     
  2. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:23 PM
    #2
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Premium Lone Star Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    4,223
    Gender:
    Male
    (Southern Suburban) Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 2WD
    TSS 20's with Dynapro ATs, N Fab 3 Hoop Nerf Bars, TRD Wheel Locks, Pioneer AVIC-8100NEX, Masters Tailgate Replacement Latch with Camera, 1" Maxtrac Shackles, LED Interiors/Brake/Reverse/Cargo/Fog Bulbs, Fumoto Drain Valve, Toyota Aluminium Oil Filter Housing, TRD Shift Knob, Courtesy Door Projector LEDs with Toyota Emblem, Console Tray and Lower Divider.
    Not very much, lol. You may want to keep to put back in some day, say your selling or trading in the Tundra and want to keep the Kenwood HU.
     
    040Tundra likes this.
  3. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:30 PM
    #3
    Danimal86

    Danimal86 What's a Dickfir?

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    2,219
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tundra SR5
    yeah, just keep it.
     
    040Tundra likes this.
  4. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:53 PM
    #4
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Cool that makes it easy, thanks guys.
     
  5. Aug 10, 2018 at 7:25 AM
    #5
    tinman10101

    tinman10101 Ah cha cha cha

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Member:
    #14760
    Messages:
    655
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tinman
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Crewmax
    Hello Tyler

    Just wondering when you replaced the original HU, did you have to do a lot of modifications? I know you need to probably buy a new wire harness adapter and maybe a new DIN face plus the HU but just wondering? Sorry just starting to research this and just wanted the quick and dirty as to what I will need to purchase. Hopefully the HU is not proprietary and you have to replace a ton of crap just to accommodate. Thanks so much in advance.

    Cheers
     
  6. Aug 10, 2018 at 7:41 AM
    #6
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Premium Lone Star Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    4,223
    Gender:
    Male
    (Southern Suburban) Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 2WD
    TSS 20's with Dynapro ATs, N Fab 3 Hoop Nerf Bars, TRD Wheel Locks, Pioneer AVIC-8100NEX, Masters Tailgate Replacement Latch with Camera, 1" Maxtrac Shackles, LED Interiors/Brake/Reverse/Cargo/Fog Bulbs, Fumoto Drain Valve, Toyota Aluminium Oil Filter Housing, TRD Shift Knob, Courtesy Door Projector LEDs with Toyota Emblem, Console Tray and Lower Divider.
    There are dash kits for the double din replacements. There are also wiring harnesses that are made to make them more plug and play. I have heard Crutchfield has an awesome customer support center that can help line you out on what will be needed to replace some or all of a stereo system in your truck.

    I recently utilized a local install shop, they had all the parts and had it done in under 2 hours. Well worth the $200ish IMHO.
     
    tinman10101 likes this.
  7. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:06 AM
    #7
    tinman10101

    tinman10101 Ah cha cha cha

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Member:
    #14760
    Messages:
    655
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tinman
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM Crewmax
    Thanks so much Tyler. Were you able to retain a lot of the functionality. I know the Entune Radio had settings that controlled Door Auto Lock which I am assuming that would be lost but I am more interested in the ones we use everyday.

    I did look up on Crutchfield right now and do see they have a package for about $200 bucks that includes the DIN, wiring harness, and adapter kits that will save a lot of the functionality. Thanks again for the info.
     
  8. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:11 AM
    #8
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Premium Lone Star Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    4,223
    Gender:
    Male
    (Southern Suburban) Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 2WD
    TSS 20's with Dynapro ATs, N Fab 3 Hoop Nerf Bars, TRD Wheel Locks, Pioneer AVIC-8100NEX, Masters Tailgate Replacement Latch with Camera, 1" Maxtrac Shackles, LED Interiors/Brake/Reverse/Cargo/Fog Bulbs, Fumoto Drain Valve, Toyota Aluminium Oil Filter Housing, TRD Shift Knob, Courtesy Door Projector LEDs with Toyota Emblem, Console Tray and Lower Divider.
  9. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:12 AM
    #9
    Tsoot

    Tsoot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Member:
    #17945
    Messages:
    25
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    18 Plat White
    Do you have any pics off the new unit?
     
  10. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:12 AM
    #10
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    I had Car Toys do it here in the Seattle area (not sure if they are local or national). Had the HU replaced obviously, but the front tweeters and door speakers replaced as well. They had to put in a few other things like the Maestro idatalink unit to keep the integration with the trucks OEM monitoring sensors. Lots of harnesses and add on's to keep the steering wheel controls. I ended up spending a hell of a lot more money than I had originally intended but f*ck it LOLO SON! :rofl:


     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2018
  11. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:49 AM
    #11
    MrAJ

    MrAJ Toyota Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Member:
    #15532
    Messages:
    42
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    AJ
    Cathedral City, California
    Vehicle:
    2018 White Tundra TRD 4x4
    Looks good!
     
  12. Aug 10, 2018 at 4:34 PM
    #12
    13igtymer

    13igtymer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Member:
    #11773
    Messages:
    144
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 toyota tundra crewmax limited
    Have you tried the wireless android auto feature yet? I was going to upgrade my 9903s but kenwood took away the hdmi input. I like having my Miracast feature.
     
  13. Aug 10, 2018 at 4:57 PM
    #13
    treihing

    treihing MAGA

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Member:
    #7865
    Messages:
    562
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    TR
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2018 Black Limited CrewMax
    Car-Toys? How did everything go? Those guys are joker's when it comes to installing anything.
     
    Jengel451 likes this.
  14. Aug 10, 2018 at 7:00 PM
    #14
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Actually I'm still trying to get my head wrapped around it. I've used bluetooth a lot and it works great. The android auto on the other hand I need to sit down and read about first. I've had some issues getting it initialized. I'll let ya know how it goes.
     
  15. Aug 10, 2018 at 7:02 PM
    #15
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    I got a lot of deals during their big tent sale so that was nice. The installation took a full day, they got it from me Sunday night, and I got it back right at 9pm Monday. Everything seems legit as long as I can get everything setup properly. I've never had a HU that could do so much damn stuff!
     
  16. Aug 12, 2018 at 6:51 PM
    #16
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Ok I spent a couple hours this morning trying to get my Samsung Note 8 to connect to the 9905s wirelessly. It's not happening. According to Kenwood, if you are using Android 8.0 Oreo, it should work but I guess Samsungs aren't there yet. It works fine when I plug it in though so I guess I'll be doing that until Samsung updates their shiz or I get a new phone.
     
  17. Aug 12, 2018 at 9:14 PM
    #17
    Tundra Fan

    Tundra Fan Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Member:
    #4489
    Messages:
    1,924
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Toby
    Nor Cal (Placer Co.)
    Vehicle:
    2013 Platinum, Silver Sky Metallic
    I've got the S7 running Oreo and the 9904s and they paired. I don't have that phone icon option in the lower right of your screen like you do though.
     
  18. Aug 12, 2018 at 11:26 PM
    #18
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Well to be clear, I can pair my phone to the 9905s via bluetooth, to play music and all that. That works extremely well actually. Just cant get the Android Auto app to initiate without plugging it in. Are you actually getting the app to fire up wirelessly on your S7? Didn't think the 9904s even had the wireless feature.
     
  19. Aug 15, 2018 at 2:12 PM
    #19
    B737

    B737 Throbbing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Member:
    #976
    Messages:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Jersey Shore
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab Limited
    what dash kit is that, metra or scosche?
     
  20. Aug 16, 2018 at 6:28 PM
    #20
    Tundra Fan

    Tundra Fan Not a New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Member:
    #4489
    Messages:
    1,924
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Toby
    Nor Cal (Placer Co.)
    Vehicle:
    2013 Platinum, Silver Sky Metallic
    No, to get AA to work, I have to plug in the phone, but the BT for music and using the phone works wirelessly.
     
  21. Aug 21, 2018 at 8:46 AM
    #21
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Sorry had to look it up on my receipt. It's a Metra.
     
  22. Feb 13, 2019 at 5:27 AM
    #22
    radon222

    radon222 13 Tundra/18 4Runner

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Member:
    #25417
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Virginia Beach
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior DC
    TRD Sway Bar, Bak Revolver X2, Westin Pro Trax Step Bars, DC rear seat mod.
    Just curious how you're still liking the 9905s? I'm comparing that and the Pioneer 4400NEX but the extra screen res has me leaning towards the Kenwood.
    (P.S. - I have a Pixel phone so I'm wireless compatible ;))
     
    ecm209 likes this.
  23. Feb 13, 2019 at 7:00 AM
    #23
    ecm209

    ecm209 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Member:
    #20301
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eddie
    Vehicle:
    2013 Magnetic Grey Tundra Rock Warrior
    8" FTS lift kit, Lift kit painted Racing Red, 22x12 American Force wheels, 35" Toyo Open Country R/T tires
    Have this same issue with my Pioneer and my Note 8. Wireless Android Auto does state that all you need is the 8.0 Oreo but after doing some research online Samsung dropped the ball on this and did not have Wireless Android Auto added to their latest software update and seems it might be the same with the new 9.0 Pie software. Still not much on Samsungs 9.0 Pie update as its currently rolling it out to their phones to say this is true. 9.0 Pie started just started rolling out for Note 8 this month so either you are already able to update your phone or should be soon. When Google released Wireless Android Auto they of course made sure their phones where compatible right from the beginning.
     
  24. Feb 13, 2019 at 7:16 AM
    #24
    radon222

    radon222 13 Tundra/18 4Runner

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Member:
    #25417
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ed
    Virginia Beach
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior DC
    TRD Sway Bar, Bak Revolver X2, Westin Pro Trax Step Bars, DC rear seat mod.
    They also did something to the bluetooth interface that broke some functionality. With Oreo on my Pixel 2, I had no problem using Google Assistant in my NonEntune HeadUnit. Streaming music is fine, but unless I'm actively streaming audio (ie Pandora or Audiobook) I don't get Assistant voice responses or voice directions from Maps/Waze. :mad:
     
    ecm209 likes this.
  25. Feb 13, 2019 at 7:27 AM
    #25
    ecm209

    ecm209 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2018
    Member:
    #20301
    Messages:
    41
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eddie
    Vehicle:
    2013 Magnetic Grey Tundra Rock Warrior
    8" FTS lift kit, Lift kit painted Racing Red, 22x12 American Force wheels, 35" Toyo Open Country R/T tires
    Honestly I'm having a lot of issues with mine. It's that and plenty of other things. Probably should have also gone with the 4400nex instead of 8400nex as built in GPS does not work with Android Auto or voice commands. Voice commands links straight to Maps/Waze. Starting to regret it and miss my OEM unit. Only reason I replaced it was for a bigger screen as I already had built in GPS and that worked perfectly fine with voice command. Never have I had or been a fan of Apple devices but with this Wireless Android Auto bs I'm starting to think of going to the dark side since Car Play seems to work better.
     
  26. Feb 13, 2019 at 7:43 AM
    #26
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    I really like my 9905s. I dont think I could go back to OEM at all. However I have yet to even try wireless android auto even with the latest update that seems to have activated it on my Samsung Note 8. Maybe I'll configure that today. As far as sound quality goes, I replaced the two main door speakers with Focals when I switched to the 9905s and the sound quality is night and day. Even my 11 year old was bragging to her friend about how good her Taylor Swift songs sound in there haha!
     
    ecm209 likes this.
  27. Feb 13, 2019 at 8:01 AM
    #27
    cptblackadder

    cptblackadder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2019
    Member:
    #25843
    Messages:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2015 Magnetic Grey Crewmax
    Does your backup camera still work with this unit and if it does how is the image quality?
     
  28. Feb 13, 2019 at 8:03 AM
    #28
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Stock camera still works and it looks great! Very much gets the job done.
     
    cptblackadder likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top