1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Replaced JBL Entune Premium

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by Slick McFavorite, Aug 8, 2018.

  1. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:11 PM
    #1
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Hey guys, well I just replaced the Factory JBL Entune Premium HU from my 2014 Platinum. The new Kenwood 9905s that's in there now sounds pretty damn nice! Anyone have an idea what the factory HU is worth? Haven't seen a lot of the JBL Premiums for sale in the Marketplace section. Not a ton of them on eBay.
     
  2. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:23 PM
    #2
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Membrane

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    1,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 4x2
    Black TSS 20 Wheels with Dynapro tires
    Not very much, lol. You may want to keep to put back in some day, say your selling or trading in the Tundra and want to keep the Kenwood HU.
     
  3. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:26 PM
    #3
    GNTundra

    GNTundra The Notorious Troll Sniper

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Member:
    #4536
    Messages:
    19,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gino
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2013 CrewMax SR5 Louisiana Edition
    Procomp Stage 2 6" 20x12 Fuel Mavericks 35x12.50x20 Nittos
    Shes a keeper lol
     
    Sunnier likes this.
  4. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:27 PM
    #4
    GNTundra

    GNTundra The Notorious Troll Sniper

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Member:
    #4536
    Messages:
    19,743
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Gino
    New Mexico
    Vehicle:
    2013 CrewMax SR5 Louisiana Edition
    Procomp Stage 2 6" 20x12 Fuel Mavericks 35x12.50x20 Nittos
    Nice choice on the Kenwood! :thumbsup:
     
  5. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:30 PM
    #5
    Danimal86

    Danimal86 What's a Dickfir?

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    1,467
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tundra SR5
    yeah, just keep it.
     
  6. Aug 8, 2018 at 3:53 PM
    #6
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Cool that makes it easy, thanks guys.
     
  7. Aug 10, 2018 at 7:25 AM
    #7
    tinman10101

    tinman10101 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Member:
    #14760
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tin
    Santa Clarita CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM SR5 Crewmax TRD Offroad
    Hello Tyler

    Just wondering when you replaced the original HU, did you have to do a lot of modifications? I know you need to probably buy a new wire harness adapter and maybe a new DIN face plus the HU but just wondering? Sorry just starting to research this and just wanted the quick and dirty as to what I will need to purchase. Hopefully the HU is not proprietary and you have to replace a ton of crap just to accommodate. Thanks so much in advance.

    Cheers
     
  8. Aug 10, 2018 at 7:41 AM
    #8
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Membrane

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    1,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 4x2
    Black TSS 20 Wheels with Dynapro tires
    There are dash kits for the double din replacements. There are also wiring harnesses that are made to make them more plug and play. I have heard Crutchfield has an awesome customer support center that can help line you out on what will be needed to replace some or all of a stereo system in your truck.

    I recently utilized a local install shop, they had all the parts and had it done in under 2 hours. Well worth the $200ish IMHO.
     
    tinman10101 likes this.
  9. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:06 AM
    #9
    tinman10101

    tinman10101 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2018
    Member:
    #14760
    Messages:
    174
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tin
    Santa Clarita CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM SR5 Crewmax TRD Offroad
    Thanks so much Tyler. Were you able to retain a lot of the functionality. I know the Entune Radio had settings that controlled Door Auto Lock which I am assuming that would be lost but I am more interested in the ones we use everyday.

    I did look up on Crutchfield right now and do see they have a package for about $200 bucks that includes the DIN, wiring harness, and adapter kits that will save a lot of the functionality. Thanks again for the info.
     
  10. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:11 AM
    #10
    Trooper2

    Trooper2 Membrane

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Member:
    #12738
    Messages:
    1,046
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2007 Tundra 5.7 L Double Cab TRD 4x2
    Black TSS 20 Wheels with Dynapro tires
  11. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:12 AM
    #11
    Tsoot

    Tsoot New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Member:
    #17945
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    18 Plat White
    Do you have any pics off the new unit?
     
  12. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:12 AM
    #12
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    I had Car Toys do it here in the Seattle area (not sure if they are local or national). Had the HU replaced obviously, but the front tweeters and door speakers replaced as well. They had to put in a few other things like the Maestro idatalink unit to keep the integration with the trucks OEM monitoring sensors. Lots of harnesses and add on's to keep the steering wheel controls. I ended up spending a hell of a lot more money than I had originally intended but f*ck it LOLO SON! :rofl:


     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2018
    tinman10101 and Tsoot like this.
  13. Aug 10, 2018 at 8:49 AM
    #13
    MrAJ

    MrAJ New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2018
    Member:
    #15532
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    AJ
    Cathedral City, California
    Vehicle:
    2018 White Tundra TRD 4x4
    Looks good!
     
  14. Aug 10, 2018 at 4:34 PM
    #14
    13igtymer

    13igtymer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Member:
    #11773
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 toyota tundra crewmax limited
    Have you tried the wireless android auto feature yet? I was going to upgrade my 9903s but kenwood took away the hdmi input. I like having my Miracast feature.
     
  15. Aug 10, 2018 at 4:57 PM
    #15
    treihing

    treihing MAGA

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Member:
    #7865
    Messages:
    533
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    TR
    Washington State
    Vehicle:
    2018 Black Limited CrewMax
    Car-Toys? How did everything go? Those guys are joker's when it comes to installing anything.
     
    Jengel451 likes this.
  16. Aug 10, 2018 at 7:00 PM
    #16
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Actually I'm still trying to get my head wrapped around it. I've used bluetooth a lot and it works great. The android auto on the other hand I need to sit down and read about first. I've had some issues getting it initialized. I'll let ya know how it goes.
     
  17. Aug 10, 2018 at 7:02 PM
    #17
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    I got a lot of deals during their big tent sale so that was nice. The installation took a full day, they got it from me Sunday night, and I got it back right at 9pm Monday. Everything seems legit as long as I can get everything setup properly. I've never had a HU that could do so much damn stuff!
     
  18. Aug 12, 2018 at 6:51 PM
    #18
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Ok I spent a couple hours this morning trying to get my Samsung Note 8 to connect to the 9905s wirelessly. It's not happening. According to Kenwood, if you are using Android 8.0 Oreo, it should work but I guess Samsungs aren't there yet. It works fine when I plug it in though so I guess I'll be doing that until Samsung updates their shiz or I get a new phone.
     
  19. Aug 12, 2018 at 9:14 PM
    #19
    Tundra Fan

    Tundra Fan Paper Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Member:
    #4489
    Messages:
    1,818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Toby
    Nor Cal (Placer Co.)
    Vehicle:
    2013 Platinum, Silver Sky Metallic
    I've got the S7 running Oreo and the 9904s and they paired. I don't have that phone icon option in the lower right of your screen like you do though.
     
  20. Aug 12, 2018 at 11:26 PM
    #20
    Slick McFavorite

    Slick McFavorite [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2018
    Member:
    #17689
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tyler
    Vehicle:
    2014 White Tundra Platinum
    Well to be clear, I can pair my phone to the 9905s via bluetooth, to play music and all that. That works extremely well actually. Just cant get the Android Auto app to initiate without plugging it in. Are you actually getting the app to fire up wirelessly on your S7? Didn't think the 9904s even had the wireless feature.
     
  21. Aug 15, 2018 at 2:12 PM
    #21
    B737

    B737 Throbbing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Member:
    #976
    Messages:
    274
    Gender:
    Male
    Jersey Shore
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra Double Cab Limited
    what dash kit is that, metra or scosche?
     
  22. Aug 16, 2018 at 6:28 PM
    #22
    Tundra Fan

    Tundra Fan Paper Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Member:
    #4489
    Messages:
    1,818
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Toby
    Nor Cal (Placer Co.)
    Vehicle:
    2013 Platinum, Silver Sky Metallic
    No, to get AA to work, I have to plug in the phone, but the BT for music and using the phone works wirelessly.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top