1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Rear seat belt sensor disconnect?

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014+)' started by Over the LINE, Jun 2, 2016.

  1. Jun 2, 2016 at 9:48 AM
    #1
    Over the LINE

    Over the LINE [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Member:
    #3273
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited CM 4 x 4
    Toytec -Duratrac -Expedition One-Fab Fours
    Rear seat belt sensors??? Really Toyota???

    I took my first road trip with my three labs in the back seat. They kept setting off the rear seat belt sensor and making me listen to the stupid warning chime. I can't just buckle the belts because it messes up my "dog sling". Anyone know if there is a way to bypass the rear seat belt sensors? I have dogs in the back seat often and this is going to drive me crazy.
     
  2. Jun 2, 2016 at 9:58 AM
    #2
    joonbug

    joonbug mmmm.....bacon...

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    1,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    Dublin CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra DC 5.7 TRD off-road
    I remember reading about a fellow who lived on a ranch. If I remember correctly, he had his dealership turn off the drivers seat. You would think there would be some liability issues though.
     
  3. Jun 2, 2016 at 10:19 AM
    #3
    mdavis

    mdavis Tiger Life

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Member:
    #966
    Messages:
    2,274
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Michael
    Rock Hill, SC
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra SR5, 5.7, 4X4
    Tow Mirrors, 275/60R20 Toyo AT2's
    I had no idea there were sensors in the back seat. But like Joonbug said, I remember someone on here complaining about this issue and he got the dealer to turn the chime off.
     
  4. Jun 2, 2016 at 11:33 AM
    #4
    joonbug

    joonbug mmmm.....bacon...

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    1,620
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    Dublin CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra DC 5.7 TRD off-road
    15whtrd likes this.
  5. Jun 2, 2016 at 12:00 PM
    #5
    AMRE2ME2

    AMRE2ME2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Member:
    #1609
    Messages:
    241
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2016 DC 4x4 Limited TRD
    My first fix was to use a piece of thick plastic and I traced out the buckle on it, then cut them out. Then just plug them into the buckle and they worked great to keep things quiet. On my first oil change, I had the dealer turn my chimes off. If you have to open a gate every day, you'd know why.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2016
  6. Jun 2, 2016 at 12:53 PM
    #6
    GQ 66

    GQ 66 (Input clever saying)

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Member:
    #607
    Messages:
    191
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    Lake Jackson, TX
    Vehicle:
    2014 CM Limited
    Tinted Tails, hard wired passport escort, Magnaflow 50 series,
    I took mine to the dealership and they turned off the seat belt chime for me.
     
  7. Jun 2, 2016 at 1:27 PM
    #7
    Over the LINE

    Over the LINE [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Member:
    #3273
    Messages:
    96
    Gender:
    Male
    New Orleans
    Vehicle:
    2016 Limited CM 4 x 4
    Toytec -Duratrac -Expedition One-Fab Fours
    Guess I will be talking to my dealer. Thanks guys.
     
  8. Jun 2, 2016 at 8:20 PM
    #8
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,879
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    I had my dealer turn my chimes off. Never knew the backseat had sensors though.
     
To Top