1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Possible power issue with my 2006 Tundra

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by Ccwave, Oct 20, 2021.

1. Oct 20, 2021 at 11:21 AM
    Ccwave

Ccwave [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Casey
    Nevada
    Vehicle:
    2006 Toyota Tundra Limited Double Cab 4WD
    Frontier Grille guard, Tool Box
    So I'll preface this, Im a pipeline surveyor an I don't have a lot of extra time in the day, now the issue at hand. My 06 Tundra about a month ago while driving pretty much died while I was working out in the sticks initially I thought the battery was dead, luckily I had a jump starter so I could turn it back on and get moving again on the drive home I called a mechanic that had replaced my tensioner, in north Dakota now I'm in Oklahoma, he mentioned some tests for me to run particularly with accelerating with my headlights on and seeing if they change brightness which they did, and I determined that my problem is probably the alternator which I went ahead and replaced my 80 amp for an 100 amp that fit at O'Reilly's, I later figured out that they're remanufactured which I didn't really want, so I got back and replaced it still to no avail I could barely drive around my RV park without it dying again, then I decided to test and replace the battery which is at least 2 years old and they tried hooking up to the battery to test it and it wouldn't even register that it was connected so I replaced the battery and still no difference in performance, so I grabbed my voltmeter and tested it off,