1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Output speed sensor location

Discussion in '2nd Gen Tundras (2007-2013)' started by VinceVan, Aug 16, 2019.

  1. Aug 16, 2019 at 4:29 AM
    #1
    VinceVan

    VinceVan [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Member:
    #34702
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Hi everyone! New to the forums here. I recently had an issue with my 2010 tundra. It has a little over 200K on it and has been a GREAT truck for many years for me. Recently, it decided to go into LIMP mode. I ran the code and it says its the output speed sensor that has no signal. My truck will not go into 5th gear either. I tried taking the negative terminal off battery and it will work sometimes and sometimes not. Also when I crank the first time it goes dead immediately then second go around it stays on.

    Apologies if this isn't the forum to ask for advice due to an issue with my truck. I'm desperate and figured what better place than somewhere like here! Anyways, I have looked up the sensor at auto zone and the problem I'm having is where is this output speed sensor? Is it on the end of the transmission? Looks like more than one sensor in that area... I thought about changing it myself but want to make sure I'm not pulling the wrong sensor.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Vince
     
  2. Aug 17, 2019 at 5:46 AM
    #2
    rebmo

    rebmo 2010 DC 4.6L 4wd

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Member:
    #827
    Messages:
    128
    Gender:
    Male
    Rural SE Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC SR5 4.6L V8 4WD Slate
    I don’t have the answer but try one of the online parts diagrams and see if it shows the location. Hopefully someone will chime in with experience. I’d buy the oem sensor if you do need to replace it. It could be compromised wiring critters? Who knows, but check the wiring and connection if you can locate it.
     
  3. Aug 19, 2019 at 4:25 AM
    #3
    VinceVan

    VinceVan [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Member:
    #34702
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    I found the sensor and replaced it. Working great so far. Thanks for replying, rebmo.
     
    rebmo likes this.
  4. Aug 19, 2019 at 4:29 AM
    #4
    marinakorp

    marinakorp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2018
    Member:
    #22577
    Messages:
    113
    Gender:
    Male
    19406
    Vehicle:
    2010 DC 5.7 SR5 TRD Mica Green
    Tow Mirrors, Tekonsha p3, 12 v Solutions remote Start,Weather Tech Mats, Truxedo Roll up Tonneau
    Care to elaborate - so if someone comes across this post - it is available to them?

    THANKS!
     
    osidepunker likes this.
  5. Aug 19, 2019 at 5:03 AM
    #5
    osidepunker

    osidepunker OsidePunker

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Member:
    #4918
    Messages:
    2,495
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    SoCal
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DC 4x4
    Full LT, full armor, fully self contained Speed Glamper
    When you pull the battery, typically the truck won't start on the first time. Thats normal

    yeah can we get some more details please? Otherwise this thread is useless. Which sensor did you replace and what was the exact code? I'm not familiar with "output speed sensor" code.
     
    Tundra234 likes this.
  6. Aug 22, 2019 at 3:35 PM
    #6
    Tundra234

    Tundra234 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Member:
    #22402
    Messages:
    1,026
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    George
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    2013 Tundra DC

Products Discussed in

To Top