1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Noob on, 14WA Big Brake Conversion

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by Tundra Noob, Dec 29, 2022.

1. Dec 29, 2022 at 5:26 PM
    Tundra Noob

Tundra Noob [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Ryan
    Vehicle:
    2005 Toyota Tacoma DC
    Kenwood Radio, Morel Maximo 602 MKII Speakers, Ebay Backup Camera, More to come!
    Hey folks, I'm new to the Tundra life and am interested in fixing the Achilles heel of this fantastic truck. I have read several forums about the, "big brake" upgrade and I am going to attempt this upgrade and do my best to document the experience.

My son has shown interest in videoing the whole thing and putting it up on YouTube, so we will see how that goes.

I currently have an 05 Tundra SR5 DC 2WD. As it drives now, there is a slight shudder under mild braking. It also has what I can only describe as a grabby feel. It is difficult to apply steady braking as when it grabs, it can be abrupt. I know there is work that needs to be done, so rather than re-do what is commonly regarded as the weak link in this vehicle, I have opted to try out a larger 14WA setup.

I have purchased a set of used calipers from eBay. The ones I bought came from a parted out 2013 4 Runner with approximately 130,000 mi. I paid a little over $200 after shipping for the set.