1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

No check engine light

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by Boatbuilder, May 13, 2017.

1. May 13, 2017 at 10:33 AM
    Boatbuilder

Boatbuilder [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Brian
    Vehicle:
    2000 tundra sr5 4x4
    Hello.. I'm new here.. I bought a 2000 tundra sr5 6 months ago.. about 3 months ago I wasn't sure about when the timing belt was changed.. so I changed it myself along with the water pump... I am a certified marine mechanic since 86.. just not familiar with tundras very much.. about 3 weeks ago I was driving pretty hard and when I floored it.. it spit and popped and coasted to a stop... I had somebody hook 3 different obd 2 readers to it with no codes... No check engine light... Eventually a code came up from another scanner (4th scanner) and i can't recall the code specifically... But it was the cam position sensor.. it was replaced .. it ran about 15 minutes.. died... And no codes again.. no check engine light... . So I was told that sometimes the crank position sensor needs changing if I changed the cam position sensor... But no codes would come up.. I bought new crankshaft position sensor .. it cranked and ran .. ... Although it had a hesitation to it . I bought new plugs.. the proper iradium platinum plugs and replaced... .still run bad.. hesitation got worse.. I cleaned my throttle plate and it was Terri le... So I also cleaned my intake.. I took it off.. and split it in half and cleaned it .. reassembled everything .. and now my hesitation has got wors