1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New Member with Tundra Questions

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by nrh1970, Apr 20, 2022.

1. Apr 20, 2022 at 3:01 PM
    nrh1970

nrh1970 [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2004 Tundra SR5 Access Cab 4x4
    Hello everyone, I just purchased a 2004 Tundra (4.7L SR5 4x4 Access Cab) and I have a few questions about it. The truck has just over 122K on it and I have no knowledge of the timing belt ever being done on it. I just ordered the AISIN kit (with tensioner) and I'm wondering if I need any specialty tools to hold the cams or crankshaft? If so, does someone have a link? I've read that you do and that you don't, so I'm becoming confused. Maybe there is a slight difference in the later 1st gens where you need one?

My next question has to do with the frame. The frame on my pickup is solid and I would like to do what I can to preserve it. I live in Iowa and would like to make it last as long as possible, so what is the best way to keep it solid and strong? Clean it really well and POR-15?

Thanks for the help, and I'll try to get some pictures posted later! I'm new to Toyota pickups and so far I'm really enjoying it, even though I'm parking it until the timing belt is replaced.

2. Apr 20, 2022 at 3:15 PM
    des2mtn

des2mtn Third Member

Member:
    Where my wheels stop rolling
    Vehicle:
    2004 Black DC Limited 4x4
    Tonto cover
    Welcome aboard!