1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need advice on renting a travel trailer

Discussion in 'Towing & Hauling' started by Netmonkey, Jul 2, 2020.

1. Jul 2, 2020 at 9:27 AM
    Netmonkey

Netmonkey [OP] Don't be a Dumbass

Member:
    Georgetown, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 Texas Edition, 5.7, CM, MGM
    Icon stage 2 lift, 295 60 20 nitto ridge grapplers, fuel kranks, TRD dual exhaust, TRD rear sway bar
    Hey guys,

My wife and I were thinking about renting a travel trailer to get away for a week or so, but I am a total noob when it comes to travel trailers and I could use some advice.

I definitely want to keep the total trailer weight under 7500 lbs so I was thinking something around a 20-26 foot trailer (does that sound reasonable?). I have towed trailers plenty of times before (boats, cars, uhauls, etc. (all under 6000 lbs total weight)), but on none of those did I use a weight distribution hitch and/or an anti-sway hitch. At what point with a travel trailer would you expect to use a WDH and/or an ASH? If I do need to use a WDH/ASH, would I expect the rental company to prove those? Also, my truck has a 3.5"/2.0" lift with 34" tires. Would I need to get a drop hitch to tow a travel trailer or would that be part of a WDH/ASH?