1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Issue with power to running lights

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by 2003Rick, Jul 24, 2016.

  1. Jul 24, 2016 at 12:20 PM
    #1
    2003Rick

    2003Rick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Member:
    #3980
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    2003 SR5 with tow package.

    Hooked up trailer and everything works fine except running lights. Headlights were on. Technician found the green wire coming out of fuse box, 'hot wired' it, and lights came on. Verified fuse and relays working. (Hot wired by applying power to wire just outside fuse box.)

    He thinks issue is inside fuse box. How hard to remove box and look at the bottom? May be the green wire came loose or something.
     
  2. Jul 24, 2016 at 12:42 PM
    #2
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    How is the trailer wired with a 4 pin, 7 pin plug ?
     
  3. Jul 24, 2016 at 1:11 PM
    #3
    2003Rick

    2003Rick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Member:
    #3980
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    7 pin.
     
  4. Jul 24, 2016 at 1:37 PM
    #4
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    Before he hooked up the green wire are you sure you had tail lights and licence plate lights working? Trailer connection feeds of that line why I'm asking.
     
  5. Jul 24, 2016 at 1:49 PM
    #5
    2003Rick

    2003Rick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Member:
    #3980
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    No, I'm not sure. I know we had stop and turn signals. If they feed off that line, I doubt we had tail and license. Will need to reconnect to check for sure.
     
  6. Jul 24, 2016 at 2:06 PM
    #6
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    I have the same truck you do.. mine is just 4x4..

    I'm willing to bet you didn't that's why you have no running lights..
     
  7. Jul 24, 2016 at 2:13 PM
    #7
    2003Rick

    2003Rick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Member:
    #3980
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Thanks for the help Mike!

    Just to make sure: I assume you were asking if I had R+T lights on the trailer? (The truck's lights are fine.)
     
  8. Jul 24, 2016 at 2:54 PM
    #8
    2003Rick

    2003Rick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Member:
    #3980
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Mike, verified you're correct. No tail or license lights either.
     
  9. Jul 24, 2016 at 3:16 PM
    #9
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    No problem you get it fixed?
     
  10. Jul 24, 2016 at 3:50 PM
    #10
    2003Rick

    2003Rick [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Member:
    #3980
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    No. Is there access to the inside of the fuse box? Can't tell and I don't want to go through the hassle of unbolting it from the truck only to find a solid box.

    Guess I could just hot wire it like the tech did temporarily. Bypass fuse box. Wire to battery with in-line 30 amp fuse.
     
  11. Jul 24, 2016 at 4:30 PM
    #11
    Mike

    Mike Tread lightly.

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Member:
    #87
    Messages:
    2,553
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    south carolina
    Vehicle:
    2003 tundra sr5 4x4 stepside....
    yep bank account is running low from it..
    To get to the fuse box is not really that bad maybe 25 min job..

    For the fuse no more than 15 amp..
     
To Top