1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Is a conversion from RWD to 4x4 possible?

Discussion in '1st Gen Tundras (2000-2006)' started by LoudEqualsFast, Jan 3, 2022.

1. Jan 3, 2022 at 10:58 AM
    LoudEqualsFast

LoudEqualsFast [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2004 Grey Tundra SR5 V6 Access Cab
    Hey y’all. I’m very new to working on my vehicles myself. I have an ‘04 Tundra left to me by my late father. I am wondering if a conversion to four-wheel drive is even possible? I know i have a lot to learn and a lot of equipment to buy in general. If any of you know how this would be done i would love to know. (I am also curious if swapping the V6 with a V8 is possible or advisable?)

Darkness likes this.
  2. Jan 3, 2022 at 11:06 AM
    Tundra2

Tundra2 Zoinked

Member:
    First Name:
    Noah
    Western Kentucky
    Vehicle:
    '00 Tundra V8 SR5 '03 Corolla Virus
    It's possible to convert to 4WD. See this thread by @MrDirtjumper for a good indepth look at the work you're about to embark on.

https://www.tundras.com/threads/06-dc-daily-driver-2wd-to-4wd-conversion.48447/#post-1259884

For the V6, it's a little more difficult if you want it all to work like OEM would work but it has been done with the 3.4L V6 on a Tacoma.

The frame perches for the engine mounts are in different locations on the frame for the V6 versus the V8. A conversion has also been done, but can't remember what thread that was so I don't have anything to link you to look at.