1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

HyperTech Interceptor Issues

Discussion in 'Performance and Tuning' started by 650h1, Sep 18, 2016.

  1. Sep 18, 2016 at 6:26 AM
    #1
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    So I bought one of these interceptors, opened it, downloaded the software, plugged it in, hit update, and it gave me the error 0x040A - couldnt contact update server. Tried it on my surface pro running windows 10, and a shitty windows 7 laptop at work. I've tried a bunch of times, and I get the same error every time.

    I bought this on craigslist, the guy that had it never plugged it into the computer as he just ran it on his stock truck. So, fuck me right?
     
  2. Sep 18, 2016 at 6:35 AM
    #2
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Call hypertech and see if they can walk you through the update or confirm it is broken.
     
  3. Sep 18, 2016 at 6:37 AM
    #3
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    well my truck is stock, do I absolutely NEED it to be plugged in or can I just run it the way it is?
     
  4. Sep 18, 2016 at 6:40 AM
    #4
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Don't need to update then. Plug it in and see what happens. If it's working you will get a little added power. If not then you will prob see a CEL
     
  5. Sep 18, 2016 at 6:41 AM
    #5
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    Cool, I like surprises.
     
    Sean266 likes this.
  6. Sep 18, 2016 at 6:44 AM
    #6
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,832
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
  7. Sep 18, 2016 at 6:49 AM
    #7
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    I dont understand how failing to contact the update server would indicate an issue with the actual tuner. It gives me some error message about JIT debugging and an unhandled exception. Like I am supposed to know what either of those things are.
     
  8. Sep 19, 2016 at 9:50 AM
    #8
    dirtydeeds

    dirtydeeds New Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #2282
    Messages:
    181
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Keith
    Vehicle:
    2003 and 2013 tundra
    more than I can list here
    Plug that sicker into your truck and run it!!
     
    Sean266 and 650h1 like this.
  9. Sep 19, 2016 at 10:21 AM
    #9
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    I did! works great! So I noticed that the truck sounds a little different, I know you have a lot of experience with these, is that somewhat normal? It's subtly different. Also, the performance increase is subtle until you get into it - then you will pitch a pants tent almost immediately. I like it, wish it would work with the computer though...
     
  10. Sep 21, 2016 at 11:21 AM
    #10
    dirtydeeds

    dirtydeeds New Member Vendor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Member:
    #2282
    Messages:
    181
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Keith
    Vehicle:
    2003 and 2013 tundra
    more than I can list here
    our ecu has the ability to adjust cam phasing, ign. timing etc. very precisely.

    cam phasing and ignition timing are the 2 biggest changes that can be made which will change the way an engine sounds.

    you are literally hearing the hypertech work:)
     
    650h1 likes this.
  11. Sep 21, 2016 at 11:23 AM
    #11
    650h1

    650h1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Member:
    #51
    Messages:
    339
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2013 Rock Warrior C/M
    Cool, I did notice there doesn't seem to be the annoying clicking valve noise anymore either... thanks for the info @dirtydeeds!
     
  12. Sep 21, 2016 at 3:52 PM
    #12
    07tacoswb

    07tacoswb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Member:
    #2214
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 White Tundra Crewmax XSP-X
    Glad to hear your is working too.
     
    650h1 likes this.
  13. Nov 6, 2016 at 5:25 AM
    #13
    tommytran83

    tommytran83 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Member:
    #5106
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Did you noticed any changes on the gas pedal?
     
To Top