1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Glass breakage sensor install and setup

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014+)' started by Sting Ray, Dec 30, 2017.

  1. Dec 30, 2017 at 2:24 PM
    #1
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    I have a 2017 SR5 Crewmax. It has the factory alarm installed and I activated it with techstream (since the dealer wanted like $500 to do it). I pulled off this panel when I installed my NSV lightbar and found this wiring harness not plugged into anything. A few people have told me it goes to the glass breakage sensor (which I don't have installed on my truck) I'm told it acts as some sort of microphone of sorts so if someone smashes a window it sets off the alarm?

    My question is can I just install the glass breakage sensor, set it up with techstream?, and call it a day? Or is there more to it then that?

    Thanks for the help!IMG_5909.jpgIMG_5910.jpg
     
    Mountun Goat likes this.
  2. Dec 30, 2017 at 2:44 PM
    #2
    BlueBottle

    BlueBottle not a PRO

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Member:
    #4572
    Messages:
    4,987
    Vehicle:
    '16 Platinum 4x4
    See fine print
    I believe that’s all you need to do.
     
    Skippy and Sting Ray [OP] like this.
  3. Dec 31, 2017 at 6:56 PM
    #3
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    Bump...nobody has done this?
     
  4. Dec 31, 2017 at 7:14 PM
    #4
    SoCalDave

    SoCalDave New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Member:
    #10055
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Vehicle:
    2016 DC 4x4
    If I remember correctly, you install the sensor, module and hood sensor bypass(unless you're installing it).
     
    Sting Ray [OP] likes this.
  5. Dec 31, 2017 at 7:17 PM
    #5
    trainracer

    trainracer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Member:
    #1127
    Messages:
    150
    Skippy and Sting Ray [OP] like this.
  6. Dec 31, 2017 at 8:17 PM
    #6
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
  7. Dec 31, 2017 at 8:18 PM
    #7
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    Have you done it?
     
  8. Dec 31, 2017 at 9:23 PM
    #8
    trainracer

    trainracer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Member:
    #1127
    Messages:
    150
    the gbs came with the gbs ecu
     
    Sting Ray [OP] likes this.
  9. Dec 31, 2017 at 9:42 PM
    #9
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    Awesome! Curious when you tap on the window with the key for the ops check, it really sets it off just by doing that?
     
  10. Dec 31, 2017 at 9:45 PM
    #10
    trainracer

    trainracer New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Member:
    #1127
    Messages:
    150
    yes I have mine set to 9 and dirt bikes next to my truck will set off the alarm
     
    Sting Ray [OP] likes this.
  11. Dec 31, 2017 at 9:47 PM
    #11
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    lol I'm
    In the Air Force so having it set that high would mean my battery would die every day from all the jets taking off lol.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2018
    BamaMan44 and NewImprovedRon like this.
  12. Dec 31, 2017 at 10:57 PM
    #12
    SoCalDave

    SoCalDave New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Member:
    #10055
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dave
    Vehicle:
    2016 DC 4x4
    Yeah, about a year ago so not too fresh. Think the module goes under the driver side dash.

    Keys tapping on the glass will set it off.
     
    Sting Ray [OP] likes this.
  13. Dec 31, 2017 at 11:33 PM
    #13
    Danimal86

    Danimal86 What's a Dickfir?

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    2,433
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tundra SR5
    what is the factory alarm? didn't know that was even a option.
     
    Sting Ray [OP] likes this.
  14. Jan 1, 2018 at 7:20 AM
    #14
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    Your truck probably has it installed but usually the dealer charger to activate it. If you have techstream and an obd cable you can do it yourself.
     
  15. Jan 1, 2018 at 7:23 AM
    #15
    NewImprovedRon

    NewImprovedRon Hey! Get off my grass!

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    11,312
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    If the door is opened after the doors are locked and the system armed, horns and lights go off. If you want to see if you have it armed on your truck, just sit in your truck, lock the doors, and wait about 30 seconds. Then open the door.....you can activate it on your truck with TechStream if it isn't set up already. Sorry, @Sting Ray , you beat me to the punch...
     
    Les7311 likes this.
  16. Jan 1, 2018 at 8:33 AM
    #16
    Les7311

    Les7311 Look up, what do you see

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Member:
    #5738
    Messages:
    1,207
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2008 Blue Tundra TRD 4x4
    Scribed to this.....
     
  17. Jan 1, 2018 at 8:38 AM
    #17
    Stulloh

    Stulloh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Member:
    #11232
    Messages:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    18 Tundra TSS
    So ....you are saying it’s already there ...I just need to activate?
     
  18. Jan 1, 2018 at 10:34 AM
    #18
    NewImprovedRon

    NewImprovedRon Hey! Get off my grass!

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    11,312
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    Have you tested it to see if it is already activated? My truck is garage-kept and it took me 2 years to figure out how to test if it was activated or not. Found out it was! Your MSRP window sticker (my dealership gave me mine laminated) should show "Anti-theft System with Alarm" on it under Optional Equipment section. Post #15..... I believe they come with the feature, it just may not be activated so that the dealer can charge you to activate it. TechStream allows you to activate it if it isn't already..
     
  19. Jan 1, 2018 at 10:39 AM
    #19
    Stulloh

    Stulloh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Member:
    #11232
    Messages:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Steve
    Dallas
    Vehicle:
    18 Tundra TSS

    So I ran outside ...jumped in, locked it , sat there for a minute , got a red / lock icon on gauges, opened door.....nada
     
  20. Jan 1, 2018 at 10:43 AM
    #20
    NewImprovedRon

    NewImprovedRon Hey! Get off my grass!

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Member:
    #1501
    Messages:
    11,312
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ron
    Bentonville, AR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Radiant Red TSS Doublecab 4X4 Off Road
    Deck rail system, Bed divider, door sill protectors, LED reverse light bars, Aries Bull Bar with 28" 180 watt LED light bar, LED step lights, LED bed lights, driver-side grab handle, TRD Rear Sway Bar, BedRug bed mat and tailgate mat, Morimoto Fog Lights, more to come.....
    Ok, you sounds like you just need to get it activated then. Some folks have had success asking their dealership to do it for free so I would try that first.
     
  21. Jan 1, 2018 at 10:47 AM
    #21
    classic17

    classic17 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Member:
    #9832
    Messages:
    79
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 4X4
    If the Tundra is like other Toyota models, the Toyota RS3200 plus and Glass Breakage Sensor kit (PT398-34142) will install both the alarm and the gbs on your truck. But you will need a techstream or have the dealer to turn the alarm on.

    This kit will also install the gbs on trucks that already have the alarm. You do not need to turn anything on, just plug-n-play. Again, if it's like other models. And I would be surprised if it's different.

    The reason I'm saying other models is because I've installed these kits in the Highlander and Sienna.
     
  22. Jan 1, 2018 at 3:31 PM
    #22
    tacomawv

    tacomawv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Member:
    #4369
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Richard
    So a 2014 SR has an alarm and it just needs to be activated. I am going to have to look into this.
     
  23. Jan 1, 2018 at 5:28 PM
    #23
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
  24. Jan 1, 2018 at 7:56 PM
    #24
    Danimal86

    Danimal86 What's a Dickfir?

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Member:
    #9321
    Messages:
    2,433
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Sacramento, CA
    Vehicle:
    2017 White Tundra SR5
    Thanks guys! I had no idea there was even an option for one. I think i have an old obdII to usb cable sitting around somewhere. Where can i get a copy of techstream? Last time i tried to use techstream was trying to program a key on a toyota matrix. It was a pain in the ass. Stupid software would only run on 32bit OS. Still the same?
     
  25. Jan 1, 2018 at 8:53 PM
    #25
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    You can find pirated copies online for free. I didn't want to deal with viruses and all that crap. I bought the latest version off eBay with a cable for $50. Works like a champ.
     
    619Tundra likes this.
  26. Jan 2, 2018 at 8:06 AM
    #26
    Al92toyo

    Al92toyo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Member:
    #11416
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Vehicle:
    2018 White Tundra Crew Max Platinum 4x4
    I just ordered an '18 CM Platinum. Do you know if there is an updated Techstream version out there for the 18s yet that I can pick up? I'd like to do this same mod to mine.
     
  27. Jan 2, 2018 at 4:01 PM
    #27
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    Just pick up the latest version. 12.30.017 this is the one I bought. IMG_6025.jpg
     
  28. Jan 2, 2018 at 4:06 PM
    #28
    Al92toyo

    Al92toyo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Member:
    #11416
    Messages:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Alex
    Vehicle:
    2018 White Tundra Crew Max Platinum 4x4
    Sweet, I'll have to pick one up. You have an '18?
     
    Sting Ray [OP] likes this.
  29. Jan 2, 2018 at 5:01 PM
    #29
    Sting Ray

    Sting Ray [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2017
    Member:
    #10766
    Messages:
    965
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ray
    Vegas
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5 Crewmax
    Not enough space here...
    17, but it's all the same.
     
  30. Jan 2, 2018 at 5:11 PM
    #30
    ldale

    ldale New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Member:
    #2800
    Messages:
    289
    Gender:
    Male
    Txk Tx
    Vehicle:
    17' Limited Silver Sky Metalic
    Tonno Pro LowPro , TRD Sway Bar, Helwig Leaf Pack
    Just bought one also......side note offered $40 and it was accepted.
     
    Sting Ray [OP] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top