1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

DSR1 With Toy3 Harness and 6.1 Amp I need some help with the wires.

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by _SP_, Feb 14, 2020.

  1. Feb 14, 2020 at 10:18 AM
    #1
    _SP_

    _SP_ [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17224
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Vehicle:
    2014 1794 Edition
    de-chromed
    Ok im not sure on a few things. Im waiting to hear back from James but I know hes a busy man. I have Some thing pre wired from the comfort of my kitchen (small house no Garage).


    My main concern is the toy3 harness has 8 inputs that goto your AMP outputs and I have 6.1 so I guess that's really 7 channels, 6 speakers and a Sub 6.1 right?. Right now I have it wired so my dash tweeters are are on Left Door and Right door. Of I dont have enough outputs on my amp to hook them up. Will they blow? Im not sure if I ran run 80hz and up thew them?

    looks like this
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    With the Toy3 harness do I still need to Run RCAs to the AMP? I would think I do but im not 100% I did not get any instructions with anything. Im just reading and watching YouTube videos that get general and vehicle specific. The amp I have im able to assign Via Bluetooth or USB what channel I want to do what. I dont know where I want to do my tweaking from the DS1 or the AUdioControl amp with its DSP they both do bluetooth and have a nice mobile interface. My plan was to set my EQ to flat and set the DSR1 to use the TOY3 harness and run some pink nose threw the system to get a nice flat response. They tweak from there.

    But my main concern is the dash speaker L+R I plan on setting all the door Factory JBL speakers to 80hz cut off so they dont get too much bass. James did say my Amp was fine since it was 6.1 but I just want to wire it correctly.


    I already have 0 gauge to the back seat I just have to run it up to the passenger seat and I was planning on using a seat bolt (cleaning all pain off and cleaning the threads well) using that for the ground). Im just unclear on this plug and play harness with no instructions. Do I use RCAs or not? Im thinking YES.
     
  2. Feb 14, 2020 at 10:29 AM
    #2
    Cfincke

    Cfincke Mall Crawler but capable

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3797
    Messages:
    1,698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 1794 CM 5.7 4x4 sunset bronze
    2002 Tundra SR5 with Fabtech adjustable coil-overs to level the truck
    Yes, you need RCA's from the DSR-1 to the amp. The DSR1 is receiving the signal from the head-unit, so you need to output the signal to the amp thru the RCA outputs of the DSR1.
     
  3. Feb 14, 2020 at 10:35 AM
    #3
    purplenova

    purplenova Not a new member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Member:
    #21513
    Messages:
    561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra Crewmax SR5
    Pillar Tape, Bullet Liner, 20% Tint, Ionic 41 Boards Kenwood amp & AudioControl LC7i Tech12volts JL Tweeters
    you have to keep use informed on how that monster sounds...
     
    _SP_ [OP] likes this.
  4. Feb 14, 2020 at 10:54 AM
    #4
    _SP_

    _SP_ [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17224
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Vehicle:
    2014 1794 Edition
    de-chromed

    Uhh I did more reading the AMP I have has 8 high level input and 8 outputs but just 6 RCA inputs 1 set front 1 set rear and 1 set sub I think the sub can be set to full range.. and 2 Sub outputs. I just have no idea how to hell to wire the RCAs from the DSR1 there is 8 outputs. Im guessing there programable. this is confusing as hell. I wish I didn't have this JBL crap!!! I can wire almost anything 12volts but with no instructions im kinda mad and confused. The old days you had door speakers and a sub and that was that... lol Now there a center and Nav and Bluetooth can Can bus.. WTF
     
  5. Feb 14, 2020 at 11:22 AM
    #5
    Johnsonman

    Johnsonman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2019
    Member:
    #39132
    Messages:
    646
    Gender:
    Male
    Austin
    Vehicle:
    Sequoia
    LED headlamps/fogs; interior footlamps.
    Many amps have 2 types of inputs and outputs. One is speaker level (sometimes called High level) when there are no RCAs to use as inputs. This method is generally as not 'good' as RCAs.

    The other type is 'Low level' which are the RCAs. Only one type is used in a setup, not both.

    Does that help?
     
  6. Feb 14, 2020 at 11:41 AM
    #6
    Cfincke

    Cfincke Mall Crawler but capable

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3797
    Messages:
    1,698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 1794 CM 5.7 4x4 sunset bronze
    2002 Tundra SR5 with Fabtech adjustable coil-overs to level the truck
    I replaced my dash speakers with JL tweeters from James, one in each corner and 1 in the center (not the 2 tweeter piece that he has for non JBL). I have the corners wired to the corresponding front output of the amp with the door speaker. Essentially having 2 tweeters for each door. Then i have the center tweeter bridged off the front, using signal from both sides. I have the sound on the HU set 1 click to rear from center to not be as bright
    One day i may get a small amp to just power the dash speakers so i can lower them a little and bring the setting back to center.
     
    _SP_ [OP] likes this.
  7. Feb 14, 2020 at 11:45 AM
    #7
    Cfincke

    Cfincke Mall Crawler but capable

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3797
    Messages:
    1,698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 1794 CM 5.7 4x4 sunset bronze
    2002 Tundra SR5 with Fabtech adjustable coil-overs to level the truck
    Here are some screen shots of a few of the 6 configurations in the DSR1 app that are more than the standard 4.1 system
    Screenshot_20200214-133508_PerfectTune.jpg Screenshot_20200214-133340_PerfectTune.jpg
     
    _SP_ [OP] likes this.
  8. Feb 14, 2020 at 12:27 PM
    #8
    _SP_

    _SP_ [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17224
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Vehicle:
    2014 1794 Edition
    de-chromed
    Ok ill have to play with the DSR1 settings once its powered up. I have it pretty much wired up. My amp has assignable channels so I had to use a center as Channel 5 on my amp. I have to just double check the DRR1 is also on the same channel. And wire colors. My eyes were going crazy. lol

    thanks for the heads up on with pics Cfincke Looks like I can assign the DSR1 what's what as well. I was confused as hell when I did not see a RCA marked center anywhere. Yet there are many marked spare. or something else I forget now.


    [​IMG]
     
    LogCabins and purplenova like this.
  9. Feb 15, 2020 at 4:51 AM
    #9
    _SP_

    _SP_ [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17224
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Vehicle:
    2014 1794 Edition
    de-chromed
    Sucks I want to put this in today and I waited sooooo Long but its 8* outside .. Sunday is supposed to be 40* plus I need more power wire. I have some now but im anal and I had to solder splice it with a butt connector and would rathe not use it even though I now its a Solid Connection and 100% solder filled connected but the fact one wire is red and one is blue will bother me. I also dont have any more ends and I need just one to Solder on. Yes I solder almost everytihg that's perminate or in the weather and shrink wrap. I hate crimp connections unless there the good ones you crimp then heat gun.
     
  10. Feb 15, 2020 at 8:53 AM
    #10
    Alexstundra

    Alexstundra Not a new member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Member:
    #13746
    Messages:
    1,166
    Gender:
    Male
    Northeast PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 MGM DC Trd
    3-1 level kit with add a leaf. 295/70/18r cooper max. Spider head light tail light and third brake light, tint, badges off, ladder racks, trd pro grill, color matched hood bulge, grab handle,coach builder +2, dv8 front bumper with winch, fender flares, bed cover....
    This picture gives me anxiety and my head hurt
     
    _SP_ [OP] and purplenova like this.
  11. Feb 16, 2020 at 5:15 AM
    #11
    _SP_

    _SP_ [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17224
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Vehicle:
    2014 1794 Edition
    de-chromed

    Me too brother. Im thinking about Just getting an 8 Channel AMP without DSP. That way I have control over all the speakers in the truck. I have the JBL so there are more than 6 channels. I want my amp under the passenger seat.


    this one fits the bill. Im going to see if James at tech12 volts sells an 8 channel amp first. Before I buy Amazon.
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00GKV52B0/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A2TGMCZ4O2P52Z&psc=1
     
    Luckydog likes this.
  12. Feb 16, 2020 at 5:37 AM
    #12
    Cfincke

    Cfincke Mall Crawler but capable

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Member:
    #3797
    Messages:
    1,698
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chris
    San Antonio
    Vehicle:
    2014 Tundra 1794 CM 5.7 4x4 sunset bronze
    2002 Tundra SR5 with Fabtech adjustable coil-overs to level the truck
    How about using the 6 channel amp for everything but the Subs and get a dedicated mono amp to power the subs, then you can get more than 400 watt to the subs. That is what I did - doors/dask speakers amp under passenger seat and sub amp under the driver seat.
     
    _SP_ [OP] likes this.
  13. Feb 16, 2020 at 3:41 PM
    #13
    _SP_

    _SP_ [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17224
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Vehicle:
    2014 1794 Edition
    de-chromed
    Ok I just have to finish up a few things and do some tuning to the AudioControl. Its more complicated than the DSR1 to tune. Both can be tuned from iPhone or iPad. I updated the Firmware on both the Amp and DSR1. Its really nice to be able to do this VIA an app and not have to pull the seat or reach in places I could not 20 years ago. For now I replaced the Factory junk Sub with a 4 OHM single voice coil Sub from Amazon until I have the funds to change out all the speakers and I mean ALL! lol. Its sound pretty freaking good. All the speakers work and Im able to use a Sub channel for my center and use the EQ on my AudioControl app to cut the bass from it. You can really customize every output individually in anyway you want. Like more bass treble. I think its a 24 band EQ inside. I have allot to play with.. For now the Factory JBLs dont sound that bad. I may disconnect the dash L+R and keep the center on for now. The little dash speakers are overpowering. If I had an 8 channel amp that's really what's needed with the JBL systems with all the speakers in there. Here are some pics and a quick video. I had my iPad tuning the DSR1 and my MacBook tuning the AudioControl 6.1200 (there software would not load on windows 10!

    https://youtu.be/V66ERzzJOfY

    Current setup
    [​IMG]

    Good rid-dens little fella

    [​IMG]

    JBL sub VS the Sound Storm Labs SS Series Car Subwoofer Model SS8 8 Inch 400 Watts Single 4 Ohm Voice Coi (20$ amazon)
    [​IMG]


    Drops right in then sealed with 30 minute silicone

    [​IMG]

    Dont mind the wires. I have since relocated them. I have the ABS plastic box from ESP truck with a Pure 800 watt sine wave inverter mounted in the center bin.




    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    my mess I have to clean up and mount. I work in a sign shop and have to just bend up my brackets to mount it so it clears the rails and airbag wires and all that good stuff. Tomorrow is another day.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2020
    Luckydog, Cfincke and purplenova like this.
  14. Feb 18, 2020 at 3:13 AM
    #14
    _SP_

    _SP_ [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17224
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Vehicle:
    2014 1794 Edition
    de-chromed
    got it done! Get Errrr Done! as they say.l. Came out nice im happy it looks clean. I Fabbed up some 1" square stock under the amp tray made a small try to hold that down. but I put it in the way of the RCA inputs a little bit. But it made a nice spot to tuck all the OEM audio harnesses away under and have enough to mount the DSR1 to. Used a few small strips of 3m VHB double sticky tape. (super strong better than anything box stores sell). I work in a sign shop so these were all scraps that came off 4x8' sheets of aluminum. I gave it a quick coat of fast dy back until the can ran dry.. lol just in time to get one coat on it.


    DSR1 settings as of now with t harness and using the radio EQ

    [​IMG]

    aluminum bracket. Raised enough to let the rear feet heat out. I used Rivets that actually split out 4 ways not just mushroom. These are made to hold street signs in hurricanes so there not going anywhere.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    It came out cleaner than I thought! ay first im like where to hide all these wires. I bought wire loom but only really used it on the power and ground cables.

    [​IMG]

    I was able to use all 3 10mm bolts to reSecure the amp tray to the floor.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    rear view
    My OCD is kicking in I can see wires here!! OMG. Wire loom to the rescue.

    [​IMG]

    Front view, Looks like its leaning to the left. I guess the floor goes that way. The amp bracket is square and flat.

    [​IMG]


    Enjoy. I just purchased some Kenwood Excelon KFC-XP6903C for the front doors, There 6x9 componits with cross overs for the tweeters. Also comes with door brackets. They were pricy at over 200$ but I figured Its the main listening area for me. Now just have to ditch the Subwoofer setup. The OEM box is actually flexing with that crappy 20$ sub in there. Just muddy bass so far from it, Dont get me wrong it sounds allot better than the stock sub did, Heck you never knew the stock sub was there. You know you have a Sub now. The problem is it sounds like poo poo. I have a Definitive technology I 10" Long trow 1500 watt home sub that also has 2 10" passive subs on the side and goes down to 13hz so im spoiled in that aspect.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2020
    purplenova likes this.
  15. Feb 18, 2020 at 5:49 AM
    #15
    purplenova

    purplenova Not a new member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2018
    Member:
    #21513
    Messages:
    561
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra Crewmax SR5
    Pillar Tape, Bullet Liner, 20% Tint, Ionic 41 Boards Kenwood amp & AudioControl LC7i Tech12volts JL Tweeters
    @_SP_ - Nice work man...
     
    _SP_ [OP] likes this.
  16. Feb 18, 2020 at 11:36 AM
    #16
    _SP_

    _SP_ [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Member:
    #17224
    Messages:
    125
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Shawn
    Vehicle:
    2014 1794 Edition
    de-chromed
    Thanks I like to take pride in what I do. Im this truck a while. Its paid off and wanted to do this since pretty much the first week of owership in 2014
     
    purplenova likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top