1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Dash Light issue - Case Filed

Discussion in '3rd Gen Tundras (2014+)' started by GoHuskers, Sep 8, 2016.

  1. Sep 8, 2016 at 8:40 AM
    #1
    GoHuskers

    GoHuskers [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Member:
    #4402
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lam
    Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    '16 Limited CM 5.7L 4x4, '15 GX460 premium
    Hello all,

    FYI, I have filed a case with Toyota today about the issue we have with our Dash Light illumination. On Page 89 of the OM it said "The brightness of the instrument panel lights can be adjusted by turning the “ODO/TRIP” button". This action ONLY adjusts the brightness/dimness of the Multi-Info Display, NOT the Tachometer, Speedometer, or the gauges (these can only work by turning the headlight/parking lights on)

    CSR talked to the product specialist (while I'm on hold) and they are aware of the issue, however, we need the dealer techs to confirm that. Maybe they FORGOT to connect the wires that adjust the Tachometer, Speedometer, and the gauges LEDs.

    Please call Toyota @ 800-331-4331 and file your case as well since if they have more complains they will act faster.

    Thanks y'all.
     
    SuperSilverTundra likes this.
  2. Sep 8, 2016 at 9:32 AM
    #2
    ToyotaTundraMike

    ToyotaTundraMike Not A New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Member:
    #2256
    Messages:
    846
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mike
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra
    It actually does adjust the brightness of the instrument panel lights but I believe it only works when the headlights are turned on!

    Just curious when would you need the instrument panel lit up when the headlights aren't on anyway?
     
    bandit and Sean266 like this.
  3. Sep 8, 2016 at 1:21 PM
    #3
    GoHuskers

    GoHuskers [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Member:
    #4402
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lam
    Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    '16 Limited CM 5.7L 4x4, '15 GX460 premium
    Like this morning when it's about to rain...under treeline....dark but not dark enough for headlight to turn on....
     
  4. Sep 8, 2016 at 1:40 PM
    #4
    onsafari

    onsafari New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Member:
    #4408
    Messages:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Castle Rock, CO
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra CM TRD
    I agree it's annoying.....didn't realize that the dash didn't illuminate until the day after I bought the truck. 4Runners and Tacoma's dash light up all the time so why not the Tundra.
     
    GoHuskers likes this.
  5. Sep 8, 2016 at 6:51 PM
    #5
    GoHuskers

    GoHuskers [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Member:
    #4402
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lam
    Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    '16 Limited CM 5.7L 4x4, '15 GX460 premium
    If you have 20 minutes free, call and file a case with them....
     
  6. Sep 8, 2016 at 6:59 PM
    #6
    owslystnly

    owslystnly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Member:
    #3522
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    White 2016 SR5 Crewmax w/ SR5 upgrade+TRD Offroad
    Nothing yet
    Yup.

    What's the problem? If you want them on.....turn on your headlights? Or does that ruin your sneaking up on people in a long dark tunnel?
     
    Abrams65 and RowdyRon like this.
  7. Sep 8, 2016 at 8:07 PM
    #7
    GoHuskers

    GoHuskers [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Member:
    #4402
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lam
    Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    '16 Limited CM 5.7L 4x4, '15 GX460 premium
    Sound very closed minded..but whatever.
     
  8. Sep 9, 2016 at 1:10 AM
    #8
    owslystnly

    owslystnly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Member:
    #3522
    Messages:
    119
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    White 2016 SR5 Crewmax w/ SR5 upgrade+TRD Offroad
    Nothing yet
    Maybe. Or maybe just waiting for them to add the lines "With headlights on" to the manual. I don't think they will do anything about your issue. Not closed minded, just a pessimist (and somebody who works in engineering and manufacturing and realizes what a large and expensive fix you want for something that the vehicle does in fact do - when the headlights are switched on)
     
  9. Sep 9, 2016 at 2:15 AM
    #9
    Spvrtan

    Spvrtan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Member:
    #1140
    Messages:
    269
    I honestly didn't even know you could do this, haha.
     
    bandit likes this.
  10. Sep 9, 2016 at 4:48 AM
    #10
    tomsinamerica

    tomsinamerica New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Member:
    #3927
    Messages:
    49
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    Vehicle:
    White 2016 Tundra DC ltd

    I think this could be a road to nowhere... technically, the manual is correct. The ODO/TRIP does in fact change the brightness of the instrument panel lights. What it does not do, is turn them on - but the manual doesn't make that assertion... further, nowhere does it state that the lights would be on at all times.
     
  11. Sep 9, 2016 at 6:49 PM
    #11
    Retired Recruiter

    Retired Recruiter 2016 trd limited tundra

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4342
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Mackinaw City. MI
    Vehicle:
    2016 trd limited tundra
    while were on this subject, what is the little wheel swith for on the left of steering wheel ?looks like it should be a instrument light dimmer. nope havent read the manual,
     
  12. Sep 9, 2016 at 7:10 PM
    #12
    joonbug

    joonbug mmmm.....bacon...

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Member:
    #1948
    Messages:
    1,588
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Joon
    Dublin CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Tundra DC 5.7 TRD off-road
    Headlight level
     
    RowdyRon likes this.
  13. Sep 10, 2016 at 2:47 AM
    #13
    CMB

    CMB New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Member:
    #1352
    Messages:
    71
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2010 Tundra DC 4X4 SR5
    Not nearly enough room here!
    Well,call me a "closed minded relic from the past":D but I've always thought, when it's difficult to see the dashlights,it's dark,rainy,foggy,snowy enough to turn on some lights.Notice all the newer vehicles running around nowadays, with no lights on when they need to be.If the dash didn't light up with the switch,I believe we'd see less of these "unseen drivers".DRLs DON'T replace Headlights or even Parklamps,there are no tail lights or side markers availabe when using them. Further evidence of my "relic-ness", the very first thing I do, when bringing a vehicle home,is to READ the Owner's Manual:thumbsup:
     
    Abrams65 and RowdyRon like this.
  14. Sep 10, 2016 at 3:18 AM
    #14
    bandit

    bandit New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Member:
    #2855
    Messages:
    946
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2011 Supercharged Mazzulla Long Travel Rock Warrior
    Duh Tundra
    can you file a case regarding why the tundra didn't come with Long Travel from the factory while you're at it?
     
  15. Sep 12, 2016 at 12:35 PM
    #15
    RussellVaughan

    RussellVaughan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Member:
    #4010
    Messages:
    60
    Gender:
    Male
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    2015 Gray TSS 5.7 CM SR5 4x4
    I don't have auto headlights. I figured out how to turn on the dash lights and keep them on at all times. With the engine on, turn headlights to the parking lamp setting. This will turn on dash lights. You can turn engine off and the lights will turn off. In other words, you can set-it-and-forget-it. The only disadvantage - the dash computer screen dims. Appears the max brightness setting is lower than the max when headlights are turned to off. The entune display will dim as well, but you can change the brightness setting back to original brightness.
     
  16. Sep 12, 2016 at 12:57 PM
    #16
    GoHuskers

    GoHuskers [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Member:
    #4402
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lam
    Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    '16 Limited CM 5.7L 4x4, '15 GX460 premium
    From the engineering point of view this is a band-aid....Somehow, Toyota FORGOT to test this functionality.
     
  17. Sep 12, 2016 at 1:24 PM
    #17
    ldale

    ldale New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Member:
    #2800
    Messages:
    30
    Gender:
    Male
    Txk Tx
    Vehicle:
    16' Super White Tundra SR5 CrewMax 4X4
    Tonno Pro LowPro Led Int Lights......
    So essentially you are using All your outside lights, except for the Headlights to illuminate the dash lights in low light conditions. I understand the thought process of the engineers. Having the Dash lights on without using the (Light) switch you could inadvertently get into a situation where your running without your headlights on when they are needed because the Dash lights were already on. I've done that before on my old Tacoma because the Dash lights are always on with the ignition. That being said, I still am looking for a solution to the No-Dash lights auto on problem. To be continued.............
     
  18. Sep 15, 2016 at 9:21 AM
    #18
    TundraWes

    TundraWes New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Member:
    #3471
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    Key West, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR
    I would just like to say on all my Toyota and Lexus Vehicles. The dash was full bright and you adjusted it with the trip knob. With the headlights on or offf.

    With my new tundra the lights are very dim. If you throw the headlights on the computer displays also dims.

    Throw on a pair of sunglasses and you can't see the cruise control lights.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2016
  19. Sep 15, 2016 at 9:38 AM
    #19
    alalmcgrath

    alalmcgrath New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Member:
    #1646
    Messages:
    147
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Al
    Boulder Creek Ca
    Vehicle:
    2011 DC 4.6L
    It cracks me up some of the stuff you guys whine about. What would ever happen if you had to drive a car or truck 20 years old?
     
    AxelsHumanDad, bandit and Sean266 like this.
  20. Sep 15, 2016 at 12:52 PM
    #20
    ChucklesToy

    ChucklesToy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Member:
    #3129
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Round Rock, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra Platinum Edition, SIlver Sky Metallic
    Since I have followed this discussion, I noticed a scenario where this affected me where I would have otherwise ignored it. I have automatic headlights - there was a 5 minute period where it wasn't dark enough for the lights to kick on, but dark enough that the speedometer was hard to see. I was able to set the 'Light sensor sensitivity' in the multimedia system to basically turn the lights on earlier. This is referenced in the Owners Manual on page 546. My previous 'non Toyota brand' vehicle had the capability to turn the gauge illumination on without the headlights in this condition.

    I know this doesn't help the OP, but may help others.
     
  21. Sep 15, 2016 at 2:57 PM
    #21
    TundraWes

    TundraWes New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Member:
    #3471
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    Key West, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR
    The problem is the lights are not working. To the point where you cant read what's on the dash.

    That's not just something to whine about.
     
  22. Sep 15, 2016 at 3:14 PM
    #22
    GoHuskers

    GoHuskers [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Member:
    #4402
    Messages:
    245
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Lam
    Nebraska
    Vehicle:
    '16 Limited CM 5.7L 4x4, '15 GX460 premium
    ....this might help...adjust the auto headlights sensitivity...

    Haven't had the time to visit the dealer yet but I'll.

    Toyota loves us reporting problems to them.....think of it as Free beta products testers.
     
  23. Sep 16, 2016 at 10:17 AM
    #23
    TundraWes

    TundraWes New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2016
    Member:
    #3471
    Messages:
    61
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wes
    Key West, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra SR
    My SR only has the headlight level adjustment

    It doesn't have any other settings
     
  24. Sep 16, 2016 at 3:14 PM
    #24
    ChucklesToy

    ChucklesToy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Member:
    #3129
    Messages:
    243
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Round Rock, TX
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra Platinum Edition, SIlver Sky Metallic
    Wes, I found this setting in my Entune settings (Apps > Settings) under Vehicle Customization and lights. I specifically is for sensitivity of auto headlights. Its also where you can set the time elapsed for the headlights automatically turning off after the door is closed.
     
To Top