1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Any way to upgrade just the JBL subs?

Discussion in 'Audio & Video' started by 2015Crewmax, Aug 10, 2018 at 4:49 AM.

  1. Aug 10, 2018 at 4:49 AM
    #1
    2015Crewmax

    2015Crewmax [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Member:
    #17369
    Messages:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Cory
    VERMONT
    Vehicle:
    15 Crewmax
    Rough Country 3" Leveling kit, TRD Swaybars, TRD dual exhaust,
    Everything else is great. I feel the OEM JBL subs aren't the highest quality.
     
  2. Aug 10, 2018 at 4:39 PM
    #2
    13igtymer

    13igtymer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Member:
    #11773
    Messages:
    31
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2016 toyota tundra crewmax limited
    Did you want to upgrade just the sub or both the sub and enclosure? If just the sub I recommend to change the amp also. When I changed out my entire jbl system the it looked like the sub was really shallow. You might need to take it out and get measurements.
     
  3. Aug 10, 2018 at 9:40 PM
    #3
    Toyotoholic

    Toyotoholic -4Life-

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Member:
    #7754
    Messages:
    273
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jmz
    Vehicle:
    17' MGM
    Pro susp, intake, dual ex, sway...
    The factory sub is ridiculously cheap plastic and is nothing but a joke. As I slowly built my system piece by piece, I put the JL audio stealth box in for my sub. It was the first thing I did and I hooked it up to the factory system so I still had bass, and it made a huge improvement none the less. The factory sub is 2ohms. Just make sure you match that if you don't end up having a dedicated sub amp (highly recommended!!!) My sub amp is 1000watts, where the factory sub output is around 100watts for a reference.
     
  4. Aug 10, 2018 at 9:56 PM
    #4
    Tundra Fan

    Tundra Fan Paper Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Member:
    #4489
    Messages:
    1,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Toby
    Nor Cal (Placer Co.)
    Vehicle:
    2013 Platinum, Silver Sky Metallic
    Before I changed out my whole system, I added an amp and sub enclosure. When you have a separate subwoofer in a stock system, the easiest way is to use one of these.
    http://davidnavone.com/product/ne-7v-2-channel-line-drive-adapter/
    [​IMG]
    It wires to your subwoofer speaker wire and gives you rca inputs to add an amp. Worked fine for me in my last car and I used it for a while in the Tundra. Just adding better bass made the stock system MUCH better in my 2nd Gen, however it still wasn't enough, which is why I started from scratch and replaced everything.
     
  5. Aug 10, 2018 at 10:10 PM
    #5
    Tundra Fan

    Tundra Fan Paper Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    Member:
    #4489
    Messages:
    1,798
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Toby
    Nor Cal (Placer Co.)
    Vehicle:
    2013 Platinum, Silver Sky Metallic
    Here is just a rough install I did to see if the line drive adapter I mentioned would work. You can see it at the end of the purple RCA's. It worked, so I had another box built for my subs so that the seat could stay in.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top