1. Welcome to Tundras.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tundra discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tundra owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2016 TRDPRO Power loss/Cut after tires and lift

Discussion in '3rd Gen TRD Pro (2014+)' started by jdm ctr '00, Feb 18, 2016.

  1. Feb 18, 2016 at 1:41 PM
    #1
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    So here is my issue after installing my 295/70/18s, CB +3 shackles and 4 shims. When at a full stop or slow roll I apply full throttle the engine will power through 1st then shift into 2nd gear. Once in 2nd gear the RPMs will hold at about 4K(sometimes the traction light will flash and sometimes it won't)for a few seconds then the power will come back. I am not losing traction between shifts.

    I have the hypertech speedo calibrator installed.

    Anyone have this issue? If so, what did you do to correct the issue?

    Zero Point Calibration?

    Thanks for any help.
     
  2. Feb 18, 2016 at 2:15 PM
    #2
    MotoTundra

    MotoTundra Adrenaline Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #8
    Messages:
    2,410
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    14' Black TRD CM
    TRS Mini D2S Retrofit on TRD Pro Headlights (Apollo 2.0 Shrouds, 35w XB Ballasts, 5500k Bulbs) TRD Pro Grill BakFlip VP Tonneau w/BakBox Dipped wheels & bumpers Undercover Swingcase SunTek Paint Protection film Yellow Lamin-X Fog Overlays Tint Bedmat
    No idea, but from what I have read, the zero point calibration sounds like a good place to start.
     
  3. Feb 18, 2016 at 2:35 PM
    #3
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    I was wondering that. The posts i read said they had the VSC/Trac lights on steady. Mine are not on steady
     
  4. Feb 18, 2016 at 4:51 PM
    #4
    dcsleeper408

    dcsleeper408 15' Tundra Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Member:
    #2081
    Messages:
    361
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    mark
    San Jose CA
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD PRO
    Have you tried turning off tc? holding down the button for about 5 sec will turn it off.. Maybe that might make a difference. I know s/c guys w/ 35's get squirlley even with all that rubber. Not so sure what other mods they had as far as the speedo calibrator.
     
  5. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:17 PM
    #5
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    I did stage 2 nannies and it still does it. I tried stage 3 full "traction off" and it didn't do it. I only tried once. I'll try stage 3 a few more times to make sure.

    Maybe the yaw control?
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2016
  6. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:23 PM
    #6
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,827
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    I know u installed the HT speedo calibrator as you posted, but here's a dumb question- did you plug in your new tire size and make sure it received it?
     
  7. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:25 PM
    #7
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    Yes I did, I checked my speedo with my gps lap timer and it was dead on. Before the hypertech I was about 3 mph off.

    I didn't go back in to the program to check if it was there but I figured if the speedo matched my lap timer I was good to go.
     
  8. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:28 PM
    #8
    dandailey

    dandailey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Member:
    #1030
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan D
    Newport News Va.
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD 4x4 DC Tundra 5.7 Blue Ribbon
    Bakflip Revolver X2 ,Nestahedition Firestalk antenna, TRD dual exhaust, WeatherTech liners, in channel deflectors, 20% tint front, Tundra bed mat.AFE pro dry s filter,SA XDM 3.8 compact 9mm., Wheel to wheel N-Fab 3 steps.Lamin-X yellow on fogs, Bilstein 6112's top setting, BFG KO2's 275/70-18.
  9. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:30 PM
    #9
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    Have you done it on your 2015? If so, did you do it yourself and how? The same PDF that's out there for the 2008?
     
  10. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:31 PM
    #10
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,827
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    I did it on my 2012. The dealer can also do it.
     
  11. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:33 PM
    #11
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    I was just wondering if it would be the same for all years? If so, I think the paper clip method is pretty easy.
     
  12. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:34 PM
    #12
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,827
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Should be as I believe it's all the same spot for the port plug in.
     
  13. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:35 PM
    #13
    dandailey

    dandailey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Member:
    #1030
    Messages:
    560
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan D
    Newport News Va.
    Vehicle:
    2015 TRD 4x4 DC Tundra 5.7 Blue Ribbon
    Bakflip Revolver X2 ,Nestahedition Firestalk antenna, TRD dual exhaust, WeatherTech liners, in channel deflectors, 20% tint front, Tundra bed mat.AFE pro dry s filter,SA XDM 3.8 compact 9mm., Wheel to wheel N-Fab 3 steps.Lamin-X yellow on fogs, Bilstein 6112's top setting, BFG KO2's 275/70-18.
    Dealer did mine when 6112's went on.
     
  14. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:38 PM
    #14
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    4 from right to left on the top and 4 from right to left on the bottom?

    You had the same cut of power?
     
  15. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:44 PM
    #15
    TNTundra08

    TNTundra08 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Member:
    #1027
    Messages:
    455
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Blake
    Vehicle:
    2008 DC 4x4
    3/1 lift. 20x9 Method standards, machine face. 305/55/20 nitto trail grapplers
    im running a 20X9 on a 305/55/20. they weight like almost 80lbs a piece(I think, its been a while since that research) . I noticed this except my trac light never comes on. I think its just the extra weight, it loses power in the lower range of the power band. it only does it if I floor it from a dead stop. any kind of roll it doesn't bother it as much.
     
  16. Feb 18, 2016 at 5:53 PM
    #16
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    Yea my light does not come on at times and other times it does. When I get on it from stop till 2nd is when it hits a wall at 4K in 2nd gear. Then it slowly gives power after a few seconds. It does not do it all the time though.

    I just called two dealers and they said about $130 to do a ZPC.
     
  17. Feb 18, 2016 at 6:29 PM
    #17
    Virgils12

    Virgils12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Member:
    #816
    Messages:
    928
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012
    Camburg Fox factory 2.5" lift Xd monsters with 295/70/18 nitto terra graplerrs Corsa cat back Weather tech liners Wet okole covers
    What is a zpc?
     
  18. Feb 18, 2016 at 6:31 PM
    #18
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,827
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Zero Point Calibration.
     
  19. Feb 18, 2016 at 6:39 PM
    #19
    Virgils12

    Virgils12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Member:
    #816
    Messages:
    928
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2012
    Camburg Fox factory 2.5" lift Xd monsters with 295/70/18 nitto terra graplerrs Corsa cat back Weather tech liners Wet okole covers
    So you can do this with a paper clip and not have to buy a hypertech??
     
  20. Feb 18, 2016 at 6:45 PM
    #20
    Sean266

    Sean266 #ThinBlueLine Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Member:
    #6
    Messages:
    10,827
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    ZPC is different than the HT speedo calibrator.
    ZPC resets the YAW sensor
     
  21. Feb 18, 2016 at 7:32 PM
    #21
    tat2ude39

    tat2ude39 MYota

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Member:
    #908
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Gilbert, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tundra TRD Pro Inferno
    I installed my Hypertech Speedo Calibrator this afternoon. I did disconnect the battery for about 15 minutes. Mine seems to be a little more responsive than prior. Try that too?
     
  22. Feb 18, 2016 at 7:46 PM
    #22
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    I haven't tried to reset the battery yet.
     
  23. Feb 18, 2016 at 7:59 PM
    #23
    tat2ude39

    tat2ude39 MYota

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Member:
    #908
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Gilbert, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tundra TRD Pro Inferno
    Hopefully that can help. I want to attempt that Zero Point Calibration also. If you try before me, share the experience. :)
     
  24. Feb 18, 2016 at 8:10 PM
    #24
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,787
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Yaw sensor it could be. ZPC first then look up the shining method for the yaw sensor.
     
  25. Feb 18, 2016 at 8:50 PM
    #25
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    I will...lol if you don't hear from me then i guess the damn thing exploded lol

    washers for the yaw?
     
  26. Feb 18, 2016 at 9:17 PM
    #26
    csuviper

    csuviper Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Member:
    #38
    Messages:
    8,787
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Brian
    Broomfield, CO
    Vehicle:
    2012 Rock Warrior 5.7L 4X4
    Some Mods :) See build thread for details
    Not sure where I heard that but see if you can google it.
     
  27. Feb 18, 2016 at 9:20 PM
    #27
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    I had found that post basically adding washers to the two rear bolts to tilt the back of the sensor up.
     
  28. Feb 18, 2016 at 10:19 PM
    #28
    tat2ude39

    tat2ude39 MYota

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Member:
    #908
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Gilbert, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tundra TRD Pro Inferno
    Here is an informative post on this subject taken from another Tundra forum...

    Yaw sensor Problems
    I tried to post this in the other thread but did not have permission to reply to the thread for some reason. I currently work on Bosch ESC systems with multiple brands and vehicles. I help a few race teams find optimal race settings. I understand that Toyota technically makes their own VSC system but I would almost bet my life that their system is very similar. Considering Toyota studies everyone's technology and then makes it better. Not a knock on them, just a fact. I'm a proud Tundra owner. Anyway, I read the entire thread and wanted to share my thoughts on it. First lets clear up what a Yaw sensor is. It basically measures lateral acceleration or the force you feel when you are cornering. With that being said, there is new technology in yaw sensors that also measures other factors such as pitch/inclination, linear acceleration and lateral acceleration. Basically it measures three different axis’s. Sorry if you already know this. So let's throw some theories out there based on what some people have commented about. READ THE QUOTE CAREFULLY!!! If the quoted problem is not "EXACTLY" what you are experiencing, then it is irrelevant. All theories are assuming your truck has been leveled out or the pitch has changed and you have not reset the VSC system. "My truck under hard acceleration turns on the VSC light" NOT THE TC LIGHT More than likely the VSC system realizes that you are under hard acceleration and there is above normal inclination/pitch in the front of the truck. The computer tells the injectors to decrease the amount of fuel flow to the injectors and to retard the ignition until the inclination has decreased to a normal level. Also could cut the power transfer in the torque converter or both. Depends on how they control it. If you want a exaggerated scenario; it thinks the truck is doing a wheelie. Now if Toyota is still using the single axis yaw sensor, it's not what is causing the VSC light to come on. There is probably an inclinometer sensor calculating the inclination. Solution: reset the VSC. "My truck under hard cornering turns on the VSC light" The system is working properly. "But my truck didn't do that before I had the lift" Now that you have raised the truck it is going to create more force in cornering situations. Think of it as more leverage, like when you have to get the breaker bar out to remove that seized bolt. At the same speed it is going to create more force. Solution: SLOW DOWN SPEED RACER "My truck is sluggish or lost power but the VSC light is off" Bare with me This is the tricky one. Like I said earlier in the post some of the newer yaw sensors have a three axis measurement. I'm not sure if Toyota is using this technology yet in production cars. This new sensor has been around for fair amount of time in the racing world but I believe Bosch didn't start using it in production cars until late 2010 or early 2011. Maybe Toyota has something similar that they have been using for a while now. Honestly, based off of some of your descriptions, I believe they do use this sensor. Let me dive into what the new sensor does. Since it now calculates data on a 3D axis it basically controls a ton of functions. Anything from fuel consumption, hill hold, airbag deployment, throttle control and so on. So let's say your truck was sitting at a 6 degree pitch before you leveled it out and now it is at 0 degrees. Now when you are driving, the one axis for inclination believes that you are under hard acceleration but the other axis for linear acceleration sees that you are under normal acceleration. Basically the computer says what the ****, am I just cruising or am I smoking that kid in the rice burner. The computer doesn't know what to do with the current data set collected and tries to make the best of what it has to work with, hence the reason for the truck being sluggish, losing power and MPG decreasing. The solution is to reset the VSC. As for sticking a shim under the sensor, it's probably not a good idea. There is really no need for it. The sensor is capable of reading up to at least 30 degree inclinations and some up to 90 degrees. Also, metal expands and contracts, as you all know, and could slightly alter the pitch of the sensor. Just a quarter of a degree off could make a difference. I know, it seems so minor, but electronics need for everything to be perfect in order for them to function properly. Bad things can happen, you know, like runaway cars and stuff like that. Just reset that sensor and all is well. Hope this clears up some concerns that you guys/gals may have. I'm probably not going to be able to reply to anybody since I can't post replies. If somebody could tell me why, that would be great. Oh ya, I started another thread about choosing a lift kit and tire sizes. If somebody could help me out I would appreciate it.

    Here is a video showing the rest of ZPC and VCS...
    https://youtu.be/UvtwFVT1Q10
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2016
    MotoTundra likes this.
  29. Feb 18, 2016 at 10:52 PM
    #29
    jdm ctr '00

    jdm ctr '00 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    Member:
    #2233
    Messages:
    142
    Gender:
    Male
    los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2016 Tundra TRD PRO
    Thanks for the great info. Gives me a better understanding of it all. Basically the end result is to do a ZPC.
     
  30. Feb 18, 2016 at 11:03 PM
    #30
    tat2ude39

    tat2ude39 MYota

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Member:
    #908
    Messages:
    617
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Robert
    Gilbert, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Toyota Tundra TRD Pro Inferno
    Sounds like something one might need to do whenever your changing tire sizes, suspension or lifting/lowering? I'm going to try tomorrow also.
     

Products Discussed in this Thread

To Top